1986 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 4 of 12

1986 Honda Accord Lxi 2.0 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired154000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

It's a low profile fast and comfortable car

Faults:

When I first got the car, I noticed the car would slightly chug I higher speeds or going up hill. And after that happened the PGM-FI light would come on. So I instantly thought something was wrong with the PGM Fuel Injection right? Well, turns out my Oxygen 2 sensor was all worn out and was reading a bad fuel backup reading. So, I installed a new O2 sensor and it ran like a beauty all over again.

Another thing, when I bought the car, the guy told me It was in perfect running condition. Well, as we all know, people lie to sell their stuff. I noticed the clutch would slip every so often, so I dreaded the fact I would have to replace the clutch. I took it in to a local repair shop, and they noticed that my tire ends and rods were also giving out, and that would explain the terrible shake it had while driving 75 mph or faster. So, a week and a half later, they put in a new clutch and tire rods and ends, ROBBING me of 850 bucks. That may not seem a lot to some of you older folks, but for me, I'm only 17 and the trees around my house only grow leaves... not 100 dollar bills.

After a couple of months, I figured I would have some fun on the pavement, and I stupidly decided to whip a rockford on the highway. Word of advice 86-89 Honda owners... Don't do that! The joint will bust clean off on what ever side your coming around on.

General Comments:

This car is one of the most comfortable rides I have ever taken.

I love the fact that it's and older five speed manual. It just seems the older manuals seem to have a more smoother shift than the new ones, like it doesn't have plastic brackets in it.

The small stock size tires, don't handle well on wet gravel or ice. Even though it does go through the snow nicely, it just catches all the time when your on the wet gravel. So pay attention when you drive!

Always wear your seat belt and never drink and drive folks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

25th Jan 2006, 10:32

This has a great detail in what was happening. My PGM-FI light came on just recently. I now I actually have a clue on what it might be. Thanks man, it'll help me out.

21st Apr 2008, 19:58

My PGM light has been going on for over ten years, never causing any problems. The previous owner told me that it would happen to him and wasn't anything to worry about, so I never have. Now I have an idea why!! Thanks!

1986 Honda Accord lxi 2.0 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

BUY ONE!

Faults:

Had to replace the fuel filter, fuel injectors, drain the gas tank (it was sitting for a while) fix the right headlight, and some body work.

General Comments:

Awsome car, fast, reliable, good on gas.

Highly recommended!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2005

1986 Honda Accord Lxi 2.0 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 miles
Most recent distance260000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Great car for cheap price

Faults:

A/c is out

Factory stereo did not work

Needed rear shocks.

General Comments:

I bought this car 5 months ago with a damage front end for $150, I was looking for a "beater" car, something that would get better gas mileage than my mustang gt. I fixed the front end with junk yard parts for about $100. The engine has about 260k on it and it still runs strong, not one bit of smoke. The transmission still shifts great. The a/c did not work when I got it so I just took it out. But other than that there are not any other problems, this car was well maintained.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2005

1986 Honda Accord LXI 2.0, 4 cylinder gas from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0, 4 cylinder gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles

Summary:

Honda renown proves true

Faults:

All things considered, my Honda ran excellently. The only "problem" was that it needed an A/C charge. I do not consider that to be a major issue in terms of reliability; that is merely a nice convenience.

Major issues? The car did not have any. The transmission slightly jerked when I put it gear, but it shifted smoothly.

General Comments:

This car was my first car. I bought it because it was cheap ($1,200 cash, 6/2004), it had good reviews, and because of the renown this car gets for reliability and economy.

I did not own the car very long, but I do think that I got to know it fairly well. I drove it from southern Indiana to Chicago several times in the dead of summer, and it ran great. It always started. It can keep up with ease at highway speeds of 70mph+. They are very peppy too.

It consistently got 30+ MPG. All it really needed was a wheel alignment! I am a Mercedes diesel enthusiast, but as far as gasoline cars are concerned, I firmly believe that old Honda's (not sure about new yet) are GREAT cars. You may hear a horror story here and there, but the VAST MAJORITY, say upwards of 90%+, of all Honda's are very reliable and economical. Also, they are very cheap and easy to repair. If you are considering buying one, I would highly recommend it. I am an automotive enthusiast and self taught mechanic, and would pick this car over many out there, especially over an American brand auto.

If you have any questions, post it and I will try to respond ASAP,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2005

23rd Oct 2005, 22:36

I drove an 87 Accord DX (2.0L, carburetor) with 98hp and a 5-manual. Just wondering about the fuel-injected version's horsepower advantage. Thanks.

22nd Jan 2008, 19:16

My 1986 Honda Accord LXI has a light that keeps coming on: pgm fi. What causes that to come on? It's as if it is a warning light letting me know that it is going to go dead. By the way, I love that car. It still keeps up with any car on the highway.

5th Dec 2013, 13:27

I know this reply is a little late, but seeing as how no one answered it, I will. I have a 1986 LXi, (fuel injected), and it has about 120 BHP, that is what it was rated it from the factory. Now, with today's fuel (better quality), it is probably shooting out around 130 BHP.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 53 reviews