1994 Honda Accord Reviews

1994 Honda Accord LX 2.2 gasoline from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.2 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

There's no other car quite like a Honda Accord!

Faults:

Last year, I was having issues with the rotor and coil; finally replaced both, and have had no issues.

Replaced manual transmission slave cylinder.

CV joints/axles need to be replaced.

Currently, the car sits really low. Don't know if it's because of the CV joint issue, or if the car needs shocks/struts or what, but it sits almost as low as a sports car.

Need tires.

General Comments:

Honda makes exceptional cars, and this one is no exception. I've had this Honda for about four years, and besides a few maintenance issues, I've had absolutely no problems. I love Honda Accords; before this one I had a 92 Accord, which I loved just as well, and would buy either one again.

The car handles well, accelerates quickly, stops on a dime, and is pretty comfortable in the meantime. The interior is nice and comfy, the A/C still works fabulously. I would buy this car again in a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2012

4th May 2012, 13:51

I agree 100% with you! I currently own a 2002 Accord, and previously had a 1995 Accord with 406,000km, which was running perfectly until it got rear ended and written off. My wife also has a 1992 Accord with 322,000km. All of these cars have been absolutely brilliant!!

Cheers, and enjoy your Accord!!

1994 Honda Accord LX 2.2 VTEC from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.2 VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired205000 miles
Most recent distance318000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Reliable, inexpensive awesomeness!!!

Faults:

Ignition switch replaced 256k.

New battery in 2005 and 2009.

Speedometer quit working 299k.

General Comments:

Problems? I think NOT! I bought this "old beater car" over 7 years ago, for $500 when times were tough for me and I couldn't afford anything more.

After driving it for three years with no problems whatsoever, I was back on my feet and getting a new car never crossed my mind.

Routine maintenance was all I did to this wonderful car, from 205k when I bought it until 256k, when I went out in the morning to start it, and click, click.

I had heard that these cars had a few problems with the ignition. First replacement part I had to buy for this, $75 off ebay, installed myself, and back on the road I was.

This has been the most reliable car I have ever owned. Definitely will keep driving it until the day it dies, which I'm pretty sure will be NEVER!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2011

1994 Honda Accord EX 2.2 VTEC from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.2 VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Great daily driver; maintain it and it will be good to you

Faults:

At 125,000 miles I wrecked into a curb and decided it was time to replace the front end components. The only thing that was actually bad were the tie rod ends, but I went ahead and did the ball joints at this time to get it out of the way. If you don't replace these parts around this mileage, *ON ANY CAR*, they will fail eventually.

Front upper ball joints (and control arms)

Front lower ball joints.

Tie rod ends.

2 wheel bearings.

New brake rotors all the way around.

Starting around 130,000 miles, trying to start the car, occasionally it would not start and it would flash the D4 light. After pulling the codes, it would tell me that solenoid valve A or B malfunctioned. Not a big problem because it would start back up and be fine in few seconds.

Around 140,000, it started having fuel delivery problems; my fuel pump would not run and would not hot start. Both of these problems ended up being as simple as the PGM-FI relay. The transmission control unit and the fuel pump both get power from this relay. They are notorious for going bad in these cars, getting cracked solder joints from the heat over time. The board on mine was burnt brown a bit and had a few cracked solder joints. Literally all I had to do was apply some new solder over the joints on the relay, and both my transmission problems and no start problems were fixed 100% from then on.

At 150,000 the fuel pump became weak. If the gasoline is below a quarter of tank, when approaching a stop it will sometimes lose fuel pressure and either sputter or stall. Neither my girlfriend's Accord (identical to mine with close mileage) or my 2 of friend's Accords have ever had this problem. I replaced the fuel filter with no luck. It's still kicking though, and I just keep enough gas in it to where it doesn't lose fuel pressure.

It has always leaked a little oil since I've owned it. I make sure to check it every couple of weeks, and put a little in between oil changes. I don't know of any of these cars that don't leak oil like this though. Personally I think that's part of the reason these engines can last for 300,000 miles with no rebuild; they're always getting fresh oil.

Either I'm on the original timing belt and water pump at 170,000 miles, or the previous owner changed it 90,000 like you're supposed to. I bought it off a dealer, it was a trade in vehicle so I don't know. I was really worried about it when I got the car, but I forgot about it after a Honda certified mechanic told me he has his own Accord sitting in his driveway at 150,000 on the original timing belt. It will probably break after writing this review with my luck. That's OK; most of the time it won't even do any damage to the engine. If anything, you'll just need to straighten out a valve or two. :)

General Comments:

It really bothers me going through this site and seeing some of the negative reviews on this car. If you seriously think you can buy any 15 year old high mileage car, get in it and drive it another 100,000 miles with complete disregard for worn out components, and then complain about it when they fail, that is your problem.

Ball joints wear out, tie rod ends wear out, they will fail on any vehicle, and you will lose control of the vehicle. Those are some of the most important safety components you need to check on a used vehicle. The Honda factory components have always been higher quality than American auto makers. I can't even count on one hand how many American cars I've seen bust a ball joint or tie rod end on the side of the road. Pure neglect.

This is a fine automobile. If you give it the regular maintenance it needs, it will be good to you. The engines are immortal. My automatic transmission has given me no problems itself. I have changed the fluid in it, which I'm sure it appreciates.

The car drives 100x better than any sedans American car manufacturers were putting out at the time and years afterwards. I would take this car over any Chevrolet, Ford, Dodge, Chrysler, Buick made before 2006, since they're almost getting things together now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2010

21st Aug 2010, 20:36

Good concise review. I agree, maintain these Hondas and they'll run a long time!!! The domestics can't match that, and over 150k miles, many parts wear out. Otherwise, bulletproof... great review though!

22nd Aug 2010, 12:20

I wouldn't worry to much about the timing belt and water pump. My Toyota still has the original timing belt and water pump at 183,000 miles, and still no problems.

14th Oct 2010, 14:41

Thanks for this review. I just bought a 94 Accord EX at a very good price and have exactly the problem you describe (sometimes just won't start for no apparent reason). There are 175,000 miles on the car so I expected it would need some work.

You say that "solenoid valve A or B malfunctioned", and that it wasn't a big problem because the car would start after a few seconds. It is annoying, though. Just wondered if you ever fixed it, and how?

15th Jul 2012, 09:51

I agree with you 100%. I currently own a 1994 Honda Accord LX, and have owned various Accords, Civics and even an Odyssey minivan. To me, Honda is the most reliable car company in the world, better than BMW, better than Mercedes-Benz, better than Toyota and Lexus, and a million times better than any traditional "American" car manufacturer. My current Accord has 207,000 miles on it and still runs and drives awesome. Even with that many miles, I wouldn't be afraid to drive anywhere in the country.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 46 reviews