1994 Honda Accord ex 2.2 vtech from North America


Cheap junk


Brake replacement (2 times) - very, very expensive.

Muffler replacement (3 times) - expensive.

CV boot replacement (2 times).

Front axel replacement.

Front sway bar replacement.

Timing belt ($700 - outrageous).

Power windows stuck.

Car won't start.

Muffler noisy.

Front end shakes when braking.

Low power.

Transmission shifts at wrong rpms.

Glare on windshield.

Uncomfortable on long drive.

Thin sheet metal.

Crappy sounding radio.

Power antenna broken.

Bad clock.

General Comments:

This car is a piece of junk. Very disappointed in the poor quality of parts. Repairs are overly expensive and can cost 3 times as much as domestic parts. Very boring. Hate this car more than any other vehicle I have ever owned. Will not buy another Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th April, 2006

12th Jun 2006, 09:57

Funny how I am approaching 250,000 with my 94 Accord LX and have no trouble like you say. I have power everything; except sunroof, power seat lifter, and no automatic. Sorry pal the Tempo was a disgrace to the FoMOCo and they are still feeling the pains that car brought them today.

15th Jan 2007, 18:35

Perhaps, you just ended up with a bad Accord. It is always good to do a VIN check and get a good look at the car before purchasing it. Honda and Toyota are the top 2 of JD Power. Its hard to believe that a Honda fails you. Maybe you ended with a bad Honda, maybe someone felt like wrecking the life out of the car and just unfortunately you got stuck with it. Sorry, tough break. I've had a 1992 Honda Accord and it never bothered me at all. Honda and Toyota are the way to go.

21st Jan 2007, 21:13

I agree to what most of you are saying, however... Every car has it's flaws, even at 13 years old. I have owned my Honda Accord since 1997, and the car itself is a '93. The only major issues I've had with it is the drive axles had to be replaced, and the oil cooler, other than oil changes every 3K miles, new brakes, tune-ups, and updating the fluids. This car is at 154,000 miles and is still running strong. I have owned three Honda's in my life, and I plan to sell this one and get a Brand New '07 Accord.

1994 Honda Accord EX 2.2 VTEC from North America


Imported junk buy a chevy


The driver side ball joint broke shortly after we got it almost causing my wife and kids to wreck $225.00.

The starter went out and needed replaced $120.00.

The water pump leaked at 90,000 miles had it replaced with the timing belt $440.00.

Air Conditioning failed in the middle of July 94,000 miles $357.00.

Driver side power window stopped working 110,100 miles never got it fixed.

The brakes do not seem to last long, rotors are expensive because they are pressed on $475.00.

Fuel pump went out $330.00 repair cost.

General Comments:

I bought this car because my friend only buys Honda, he claims they never brake down. It has let me down one too many times. He has an Acura Integra on its fourth transmission, and a 1999 civic that over heats often leaving him on the side of the road.

The car has a nice stance and looks sporty for a family sedan.

It lacks power on the take off, and really the VTEC engine is way over rated.

The dealerships I have taken this car to love it, it helps put their kids through college funded by my repair cost.

It gets really good miles per gallon when it runs!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2006

13th Feb 2006, 22:31

The way you described your car is the same way I descibe my aunts chevy cavalier. I wouldn't buy a chevy if my life depended on it.

14th Apr 2007, 00:37

Dude what do you mean you wouldn't buy a chevy if your life depended on it.. OK fine the cavalier and the small models suck, but any of the big V8 will beat a honda any day, they just last forever. Your talking about a chevy engine here!!

22nd Jul 2007, 16:24

Your complaint about replacing the timing belt and water pump at 90K is unfounded.. that is regular maintenance, and not a breakdown issue. If the belt and/or water pump fails, it is your fault for not replacing it on time.

18th Nov 2007, 15:18

Honda's have been known to last long, but only if complete maintenance is followed through. Just like any car, nothing lasts forever, especially if you don't take care of it. You can't expect it to not fall apart if you don't put anything in it besides oil and tire changes. Parts will inevitably need to be changed if you want it to stay rolling.