2000 Honda Accord EX 4 cylinder from North America


A great dependable sedan


No malfunctions have occurred as of this date.

General Comments:

I like the fuel economy of the four cylinder. If I had it to do over again, I would have bought the six cylinder because it is smoother and has less vibration than the 4 cylinder.

Fit and finish as always is excellent.

Reliability and high resale values are important issues for me as a buyer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

9th Dec 2004, 12:59

Horrible review. I'm looking at one and this review does me no good nor justice for the car.

2000 Honda Accord EX from North America


Love Hondas


I love my Accord and always have. This is the fourth Honda I have owned, however I had a problem with my car and it was out of warranty.

The front brakes on the car went out fairly early.

General Comments:

I had taken the car to the dealer but the prices were outrageous! They had quoted me $98.88 per rotor for the front and $65.66 for the front brakes. I was shocked, in talking to my wife we found a dealer in VA that sold and shipped me the parts. I then took them to the dealer and they put them on. I only paid $63.16 per rotor and $32.73 for the front brakes. These parts were still under the Honda warranty. Shipping was only $7.00 bucks. I now order all my parts through them, even accessories. Everyone should try them, 1-800-531-2756 you will love these guys,... so will your wallet!!!

I saved $105.00 dollars!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2001

2000 Honda Accord SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland


The near-perfect all-rounder


Nothing, although 2 rattles in the dash that the dealer seems uninterested in fixing.

General Comments:

VTEC took 5,000 miles to loosen up, but now it is seriously quick over 4,000 rpm.

Torquey around town, spacious (hatchback), refined and a cut above the Vectra/Mondeo on image.

Radio controls tiny and fiddly, but a good sound.

Fuel consumption can be in the low 20's if pushed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2001

2000 Honda Accord LX V-6 from North America


Nice, but I am worried


The car rolls backwards even on slight inclines. Honda says that they have had many complaints but this is the way the car is designed. They are not concerned with our safety. It is a shame, the car is great looking and runs well, but in the end don't you want a company that will take care of your concerns.

General Comments:

The back seats are uncomfortable for my passengers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

29th Mar 2001, 10:08

The majority of automatics have a strong hold over the clutch, one of the reasons that when you put the car on the flat and release the brake it will "creep" forward.

I've noticed that the Honda has far better control over the clutch, so that the car doesn't creep so much, meaning less wear & tear on the clutch.

The flipside of this is that the car won't hold itself on an incline, but then, surely on an incline, you should either be putting your foot on the brake or the gas.

I don't think it's a fault on the Honda, rather that Honda's auto box is far superior to most auto's. I believe that this is why the Honda's auto change is so fast and smooth compared to every other auto I've driven (particularly the Rover 800 - it takes *ages* to change gear).

29th Jan 2002, 11:02

Honda transmissions are not smooth or reliable. American ones are far superior.

12th Dec 2003, 09:48

Responding to the comment above:

Yeah, I agree... but everything else falls apart on American made cars now a days.

25th Apr 2004, 20:24

I've gotta disagree with the smooth-shifting transmissions... most Hondas (especially older models) do shift pretty rough. However, they're built to last-just ask any Honda owner.

2nd Apr 2005, 11:45

I'd rather have a smooth transmission that will last only 130,000-miles or so rather than put up with a ruff bash shifting tranmission that last 200,000-miles.

I don't want to keep a new car more than 7 or 8 years anyway.