2002 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 9 of 13

2002 Honda Accord ex from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

If you want a car that looks cool, drives fast and is reliable this car is the car for you

Faults:

There is a slight hesitation when you accelerate.

The gas mileage is horrible! (then again I used to have a 4 cylinder)

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and corners like its on rails. (I really mean it)

Its very roomy for a two door.

The six disk CD changer is the best because its right there in the front with you as opposed to beining the trunk.

Its so fun to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2006

2002 Honda Accord EXL 2.4 liter from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great car for the money

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong is having to have the front brake rotors turned, to me this is odd, and from what I have read, not a rare thing to have happen.

My dealer said it is not covered by warranty, but did the job for free anyway.

I also find a problem with the brightness of the head lights, they seem to not cast a good beam down the road at night.

Other than that, I love the car so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2006

2002 Honda Accord value package VTEC from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance66798 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

5 star car

Faults:

Replaced Brake pads at 30K miles.

General Comments:

The car is great. It is very good with no problems except for a brake pad being replaced. It is one of the best cars we have ever owned and we plan to drive the car forever. Honda is the best automaker and we will continue to buy Honda cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2006

2002 Honda Accord LX 4.7 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired91 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Honda has changed for the worse

Faults:

The transmission went out at 74000 miles due to a manufacturing defect that Honda acknowledges, but make the consumer pay for.

General Comments:

The car is uncomfortable with poor acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd January, 2006

4th Jan 2008, 19:53

I couldn't agree with you more. However, the newly redesigned model is simply fantastic to drive.

2002 Honda Accord LX V 6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

It is a nice, roomy car that fits 5 comfortably

Faults:

At 46000 miles the transmission has gone out and needs replacing.

General Comments:

Up until this point I was satisfied with the car's performance. It has a smooth ride and handles well in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th December, 2005

2002 Honda Accord LX (special edition 2.3 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance66350 miles
Previous carLexus LS400

Summary:

Most reliably car on the road today

Faults:

Nothing has happened.

General Comments:

This car starts everyday had great handling. it sticks to the road. the vtec really makes you feel like you have some power behind you. the design of the car even with the sedan gives you a little bit of an edger look. the inside with leather and the sunroof make you feel like your in a car withs 5-10 thousand more. trust me my next car will be a accord I love them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

22nd Apr 2005, 07:16

Why don't you report back when you have put a few more miles on the car?

Not having any problems in only 350 miles is no big deal.

22nd Apr 2005, 09:55

Right on Bro! 300 miles not enough.

2002 Honda Accord EX sedan 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carAudi S4

Summary:

Accords are not assembled in Japan. I won't buy another automobile assembled in North America

Faults:

A leased piece of junk.

Front end problems since new. Alignment has been done three times by different shops and it still pulls and burns up outside left front tires. Clunking noise in front end since new - struts, control arms etc... replaced by dealer two different visits - less clunk, but still there.

Drivers door panel moves in and out when drivers window goes up or down. Female service writer at Pottstown Honda says "they all do that". My Mother-in-law and neighbor have the same Accord and their's don't. Remember it's a lease. Pottstown Honda will get it back just as they gave it to me.

Asked Pottstown Honda to check a noise that sounded like a dust shield scraping on left turns. Rotated just the front two tires and returned car and "found nothing wrong". Returned car to dealer after Honda Motors Area Rep gave OK and then they found problem with dust shield and fixed it.

In cold weather: instrument cluster rattles and buzz's, windshield creaks, gas pedal sticks, idles high and low until warm.

General Comments:

If you come accros a silver 5 speed EX Accord four door, think twice my lease is up in June '05. I can't wait to get rid of this car. I know that I have a lemon, but my dealer experience compounded the bad car with less than favorable service results.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th November, 2004

2nd Dec 2005, 17:39

Some Accords are made in Japan, some are made in Ohio. Your logic and facts are flat out wrong.

5th Mar 2007, 16:53

It's a rather big assumption to assume that the reason your vehicle had some issues was because it was assembled in the USA.

I guess it's just politically correct to put down your own country.

18th Dec 2007, 08:32

I don't think blaming your car's problems on your country is a good idea. Try finding exactly where it was manufactured. Like the above statements, it's manufactured either in Ohio or Japan.. so if it was made in Japan and not in the U.S.A you have just added to the stereo type that american made is bad when in fact it is not.

My father ran a massive company, had all Dodge trucks, we ran those vehicles into the ground and beat them up. Every Dodge he had was excellent.

Now I have friends that own Hondas and Toyotas, and they are great most of the time, but there are some cons to every pro that can be mentioned as well as any car.. so please don't add to this stereotype that American made is bad when in fact each car has its problems. Not every car off of any assembly line, regardless of where it is from, is going to be 100% perfect. It should be for the price we pay for new or even used Hondas (it's outrageous how they hold their value so well, but they have so many problems) but sadly not every car is going to be manufactured tight.

15th Apr 2009, 21:13

I agree with the original poster. I have owned Japanese made Honda's and American made ones. The American assembled cars are junk in comparison to their Japanese counterparts. When you shop for a Honda make sure the VIN starts with a J.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 48 reviews