2002 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 7 of 13

2002 Honda Accord EX 2.3L VTEC from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3L VTEC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance102500 miles

Summary:

I recommend this car and plan on keeping for a looong while

Faults:

Not a thing.

General Comments:

This car is the best. Its all I can say for it. It's a 5 speed and has power, I'm surprised. Love the Vtec engine. Comfort is outstanding. Gets complimented for looks too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2006

8th Feb 2011, 12:53

Do you live in an area where there is snow? How did it get around if you did?

rkbliss78@gmail.com.

2002 Honda Accord EX v6 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carHonda Legend

Faults:

Minor problems, squeak in dash and radio controls only work half of the time. Recently I had a serious problem, the air bad deployed while driving causing a serious accident. I should have known something was going to happen; the dealer had tried to fix the "srs" problem 8 times with no success. I contacted Honda many times with no luck. I’m lucky no children were in my car and that I wasn’t on the highway. Honda makes good cars, but when they have a lemon they do nothing. I’m really sorry this happened. I'm usually the first on to defend in a car debate, not any more. This will be the last Honda I ever purchase.

General Comments:

Best car for the money in 2002, when compared to Nissan Altima, Camry and any others in the price range.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th May, 2006

14th Aug 2006, 13:32

Which airbag did your car deployed? And also, which light was ON in your dash, the SRS or the SIDE AIRBAG?

My car momentarily (after driving a while with passenger) lights up the SIDE AIRBAG light for a second or two. I didn't pay attention to it, but since I read your comment I am kind of worried. Please give me more information about your incident and how to deal with Honda about it.

15th Apr 2009, 21:19

That is scary. I had an 02 Accord Coupe that the airbag light would illuminate on from time to time. Glad I did not get an explosive surprise in the face. Hopefully you did not get injured in the accident.

I would recommend doing an NTSB report on your car. With an accident involved due to sudden deployment of the airbag, the NTSB might be quite interested.

2002 Honda Accord EX-VL 3.0 SOHC V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 SOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Wouldn't put my family in anything else!

Faults:

Brakes have been changed at least twice in 60,000 miles. I think this is maintenance.

Wheel bearing was worn in the rear.

New tires. Another maintenance item. My brother's 1999 Accord amazingly, yet very stupidly has its original tires at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car was built in Marysville, Ohio as were all V6 Accords.

Change the transmission fluid often because there is no filter that is in it to filter out particles. This might be the reason why this car has a high failure rate with its transmissions.

Car is very well built and very safe. For its class it is very good. I would recommend the newer models with curtain airbags for more protection 03-06.

Very quick the car is very fast and can travel well with the crazy Illinois drivers and those crazy Detroit hot rodders.

Car died last week when a car crossed over a median going over 65 miles an hour and crashed head on into my car. The car was a complete loss, but the passenger compartment was unharmed and very intact. I walked out of the crash without any injuries.

I will buy another Honda Accord knowing that I am in a safe mid-sized car.

There is a bias out on this site and a lot of truth, but in my "1" 2002 American Accord, "2" 1999 American Accords, and "1" 1994 Japan Accord, I have been greatly pleased and would only compare these cars to Toyota. No American manuafacturer comes close to Honda or Toyota at quality and reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2006

2002 Honda Accord EX V6 3.0L SOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0L SOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

It's another Fine Automobile made by Honda

Faults:

Everything is working wonderfully on my 2002 Accord. I have owned it for one year.

General Comments:

For All The Comments Below, Please Read:

The SRS Side Airbag Light will come on in your car when you or someone else leans on or hits the door panel where the airbag is located. The light indicates that the side airbag is turned off, so that the airbag will not deploy in the event of a collision, injuring the passenger, who is too close to the airbag. I hope this clears things up. It's a great car and Honda is very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2006

9th Mar 2006, 14:28

Oh really.. My SRS light has come on numerous times. With and without passengers in their seat. Read the owners manual. Its states if the light comes on, you could have a problem with your SAFETY RESTRAIN SYSTEM. SRS DOES NOT mean someone is in the passenger seat. IF the dealer told you this, they are yanking your chain. I have been told by two Honda dealerships and an independent ASE certified technician that my airbags may not work in the event of an accident. They do not know what to do anymore. Your right Honda does make great cars; however, they do have lemons, like ever manufacturer, but they do not fess up to their mistakes, while putting people’s lives in danger. There is also a class action law suit going on for this problem..

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 48 reviews