2005 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 10 of 11

2005 Honda Accord EX 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Poor reliability keeps me from enjoying my new Accord

Faults:

Interior rattles and shakes badly.

Passenger seat broke.

Air conditioner compressor replaced twice.

General Comments:

I bought the Accord new in February 2005 hoping to have the same reliability that others have had with older Hondas, however this car has been a nightmare from day one.

There is an annoying popping noise from the base of the windshield every time I hit the slightest bump or the body flexes a little. There are several service bulletins about it, but my dealership cannot seem to fix it.

The door panels buzz and rattle. So does the sunroof. The recliner broke on the passenger seat, and my passengers had to ride laying down until I could get it to the dealer for repair.

The interior seems to be the most shoddy part of this car, but also, the dealer had to replace the air conditioner compressor twice, because it started to sound like someone had dropped their keys down into the motor when I had the air on.

I have an arbitration hearing in December to find out what Honda is going to do. I have requested that they buy the car back, since the number of times it has been in for repairs qualifies it for lemon laws.

The new Hondas are not built reliably like the older ones were. I won't buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2005

21st Dec 2005, 11:26

Sounds like a lemon. However, the interior rattles, such as the annoying window rattle on the driver's side, are common problems.

31st Dec 2005, 11:13

May be you did drop your keys into the AC compressor. Twice! Maybe a little child got into the car and played with the recliner. sounds like a good way to break any seat recliner.

2005 Honda Accord EX from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carSaturn L200

Summary:

Fabulous, very comfortable

Faults:

It's running well.

General Comments:

Good car for the money. This is my second Honda and I don't regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

2005 Honda Accord DX Base 2.4L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

Not Sure- Hope for a turn around

Faults:

Child seat tether on the left side was missing. Dealer put on for free.

The engine overheated in city traffic. It was a faulty control box. Car just shut down in city traffic. No damage done to engine. Dealer fixed for free.

Driver's door seems to be out of alignment a bit. The door is much harder to open and close than the other doors. Dealer says this is because this door gets used more than all the others, but this car is brand new ? It is like the door gets caught on the door hook thing.

General Comments:

This car lets too much road sound into the car while driving.

The car doesn't seem to get the MPG that the dealer said that it would.

This car should have never been sold with such a small engine. This car seems too heavy for such a small engine. Can't pass unless the road is wide open for as far as I can see.

The trunk seems too small.

This car has good room in it, but no front leg room at all.

I like the looks of my Accord.

Kind of let down. This car is a base car, but I still paid more for it than I could have got other cars fully loaded new.

This car buying ordeal has got me not feeling too good.

I hope things will turn around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2005

2nd Mar 2005, 15:02

They are way over priced.

The best Accords were the 1990's, like 92-93.

We switched to Mazda cars because they feel as if they are made of better cloth and parts.

Honda is moving in the wrong direction. The cars are getting bigger, but thinner.

3rd Mar 2005, 07:23

I agree Honda is relying too much on reputation while there quality standards have decreased considerably. I will definitely be looking at another manufacturer the next time around. Paid extra for perceived quality and didn't get it.

It's not always true what the say about, "you get what you pay for" sometimes you don't,

5th May 2005, 18:30

IMO, the best overall Accords were the 1990-1997 models (which were all essentially the same) Can't beat the dependability and longevity of that F-series 2.2 4-cylinder engine. I think the later models are built more solidly, but aren't as reliable. I own a 1996 Accord. 155,000 miles and she still purrs along like a newer car. No rattles or squeaks and the car has NEVER had any problems. Routine maintenance and upkeep has been all this car has required to give me good reliable service. Unfortunately, it will be my last Honda.

27th Jun 2005, 12:43

I agree with all of you. I have a 1995 Accord with 270,000km. It is solid, no squeaks, rattles, and most importantly, problems. Ultra reliable car, that I'll drive until it dies, if it dies, and then it's off to the Toyota Matrix, which are very similar in size to this Accord. The new Accords (and Camry's) are bulky, ugly cows. Even the new Civics (compact sedans) are bigger than my Accord.

Why oh why is everything growing? Have you seen the new Jetta? Are we getting more fat? Is bigger always better? I think not.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 35 reviews