2005 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 4 of 11

2005 Honda Accord EX-L 2.4 VTEC from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.4 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance202000 miles

Summary:

Awesome... Wish they made a 2010 EX model with leather and 5 speed manual!

Faults:

Minor issues with the car.

Sunroof gasket came loose.

Parked against a fence, and now a little rust in the rear.

Just added new tires, wipers, and changed oil.

I did do dealer service maintenance for the first 120k miles - but now my mechanic takes care of these things.

I have never changed the clutch in this 5 speed manual car... Can I make it to 300,000 mile on 1 clutch?

General Comments:

The car runs great. I drive about 80 miles an hour on most days. Never an issue.

Leather seats are comfortable.

I have XM Radio and 6 disc CD player.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2010

19th Jul 2010, 21:52

Well, 300,000 on one clutch is a bit of a stretch. However, if you know how to drive it right, you may be able to make it to 200,000 on a single clutch. This would mean using the clutch as little as possible. That doesn't mean don't shift, it just means you need to learn exactly where your cars engine RPM's meets your vehicle speed, so you can shift without the clutch at all. There is no set RPM to vehicle speed for any car, they all vary.

Keep taking care of that Honda though, and you can definitely expect to see 300,000 miles whether or not you're on the original clutch. All my Honda's made it to at least 300,000. Most went more, and the others would have if I hadn't sold them!

2005 Honda Accord EX 3.0L V6 VTEC from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Wiper linkage broke.

Fog lights remain on if the switch is off.

General Comments:

I recently had 2004 Accord, which I bought off my dad. It made it all the way to 170000km with no problems, except for calipers seizing from a salty winter, so when I totaled it, I bought another one.

I got a good deal on the 05 because of the high kilometers. It was a company car and serviced regularly by the dealership. Going by their schedule can be a bit pricey, but as far as I can tell, it kept the car problem free.

This car is powerful, handles well, and isn't too bad in snow if you have good all season tires. The interior is very comfortable, and I know because I've taken a few naps in there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2010

2005 Honda Accord Hybrid 3.0 V6 Hybrid from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Hybrid Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carToyota Prius

Summary:

Fastest hybrid ever owned

Faults:

Nothing, just had to change the awful Michelins.

General Comments:

Fast, gets 35-40 mpg consistently, handles amazing for a heavy vehicle. For a highway cruiser this is the vehicle you want.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2009

2005 Honda Accord EX 2.2 i-cdti turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 i-cdti turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance33500 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Another reliable Japanese car

Faults:

No problems at all.

General Comments:

This is my first diesel sedan, and I am positively surprised with its performance. Great cruiser for European motorways.

Just don't know why the American Accord looks completely different, but the Acura TSX looks the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2009

2005 Honda Accord EX-L V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance92500 miles

Summary:

Amazing car, god I miss it!

Faults:

Not all switches light up at night.

A few times, the radio wouldn't work, and I had to restart the car.

Speakers started scratching.

General Comments:

Well, this was originally my grandfathers car, and was given to me for my 16th birthday. Gold, 4-door, leather, CD changer, everything good! Sadly, on April 5, I totaled it, after 1.5 months of owning it. I was extremely attached to it, as I had many good memories in it.

Shopping for a new car once my insurance check comes in, thinking about an '04 Acura TL? Don't know if it's a good car, comments?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2009

14th Apr 2009, 21:48

When I visited the US almost three years ago (May 2006), every day I would be in my aunt's car which is an Acura TL. It's a fast one and a very good one.I t's a 2003 model so I would say the 2004 model is a good one too. Try it and see for yourself.

7th May 2009, 00:44

Infiniti's G35/37 is not in the same class as Accord, Milan/Fusion. There is really no comparison between those in the low-end, family, budget-oriented midsize cars, and the world-class luxury G Series Infiniti.

8th May 2009, 00:07

"Infiniti's G35/37 is not in the same class as Accord, Milan/Fusion...world-class luxury G Series"

I agree it doesn't make much sense to compare an Infiniti G37 to Milan/Fusion/Accord. But as I understand it, the G37 achieves its great handling at the expense of a pretty rough ride. So it also is not a luxury car in the same sense like an Infiniti M45, BMW 5 series or Mercedes S class. But then again it is not priced liked those either.

20th Oct 2009, 00:03

Update:

I now have a 2006 Ford Fusion SEL V6. Still would rather have my Honda back though...

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 35 reviews