1998 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 3 of 19

1998 Honda Civic EX 1.6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired56 miles
Most recent distance280000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Most reliable car in the world

Faults:

The only thing that went wrong with this car was the ignition coil. That happened at 125K miles.

Other than that, all regular maintenance and 2 batteries.

General Comments:

I think the 98 Civic was the most reliable Civic ever made. I was a little disappointed when my 2004 Civic EX blew a head gasket at 214K. Had the engine swapped out for an engine with about 50K on it. Got about 260K on the transmission now. I just bought a 2010 Civic LX-S. These are the most reliable, let me repeat, the most reliable cars on the road today. I frikin love these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2010

5th Jul 2010, 18:51

You know, I totally agree with you on Hondas period. I've had many Hondas; Preludes, Civics, Accords... I loved them all!!! They were all used though, and the best cars I've ever had. In 2005, my mom talked me into a Suzuki Forenza because she thought they had a great warranty!!! Huge mistake!! They make a fine motorcycle, but cars just aren't their forte!!! Do they have a web site where I can swap my 2004 for a 1998 Honda Civic?? LOL! For an even trade?

6th Jul 2010, 09:45

I agree with you 100%. All of my Hondas have been excellent vehicles. All of them made at least 250,000 miles without any serious issues. My own personal record for the most miles on a Honda (and on any car I've ever owned) is just over 500,000 miles. It was a '76 Honda Civic that was completely original. For the last 50,000 miles or so of its life (with me that is, I sold it soon after I hit the 500K mark, and it was still running), it had a cracked engine block from a friend of mine who attempted to wash the engine with cold water when it was still steaming hot. It still ran fine. Only problem it caused was it finally started to burn some oil after that.

1998 Honda Civic L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance186000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Peace of mind motoring

Faults:

Nothing wrong ever. Drove 180000 km or 112000 miles and only did maintenance. Only sold because of company supplied vehicle.

General Comments:

This was my seventh Honda. First was a 77 Civic. They just keep getting better. I'm currently looking for a used Honda for my teenage daughter. It will be #9.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2010

1998 Honda Civic LX 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance377000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Just an amazing car

Faults:

My exhaust manifold was replaced at 170,000 km.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable. Everything is original (even the headlights and tail lights) except for the muffler (replaced at 320,000 km), timing belt/water pump, brakes, spark plugs, and battery (which lasted 8 years).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2009

1998 Honda Civic LX 1.6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance154000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Reliability, economical, low maintenance

Faults:

Nothing gone wrong.

Changed tires, normal wear and use.

Two new batteries since buying the car brand new in 1998.

General Comments:

Live in Canada. Winter can be harsh. The Civic has been absolutely reliable and economical. No problems at all.

Seat hard on your bum on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2009

1998 Honda Civic EX from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles

Summary:

Honda Civics are the best cars on the road; Reliable, inexpensive, and handles great!

Faults:

Rotors replaced three times.

The gas pedal has a quirk I had to get used to at first, it was not smooth, but I got used to it in just a couple weeks and it was probably due to the car's age.

General Comments:

This is a very responsive and zippy car, handles great.

I have found that it is the only car which I can be at the utmost comfort as a driver and a passenger.

There are virtually no vision obstructions, no matter what your height is (I am 5').

I will likely purchase the newer Civic when this one has died. It is a very low maintenance vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2009

25th Aug 2009, 14:20

I have owned two 1998 Civics <4-doors>, and one 2002 Civic-EX <2-door>. The 1998's <4-doors> have been my preference, as they feel a little roomier and the visibility feels better. I bought the 2002 EX brand-new off the lot (silver). The first 1998 Civic I bought brand-new off the Dealer Lot (sky-blue), and it was an LX. The LX was lost in a traffic accident (got creamed on the passenger front hub, and there was too much mechanical + body work repair to justify rebuilding). The second, I bought used and it is an EX. The EX I still own (light-green). In fact, I replaced the engine in this 1998 Civic EX with 176,000 miles on the car (the engine is a Jasper engine with a 100,000mi warranty). I simply love the secure feeling of Civic (s), and I'll keep this car until the new engine quits (when the transmission quits, I'll probably replace it with a used Tranny - which is an automatic). Everything is still fully functional on this vehicle, and it really purrs when you need to get up to speed entering the highway! ;-)

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 68 reviews