1999 Honda Civic DX from North America

Summary:

Reliable, affordable car for a good price

Faults:

I haven't really had any problems with the car for the year and a half I've owned it. The only time I've had to do any maintenance/repairs on it (besides fluid top-ups and changes) was 6 months ago when I got a hole in the upper rad hose. Cost a whole $12 to fix and I did it myself with no problem.

The heat shield rattled around 1500 RPM, but I was told by a mechanic this is a normal and harmless thing that these cars usually do... got it fixed quickly and with little expense.

General Comments:

It's a small, cute, very economical car. Costs me very little to maintain and fuel up.

The steering is a little less responsive than I think I would like... And it definately doesn't have much power/acceleration, but it's probably a good thing since it keeps me in line. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2007

1999 Honda Civic Si 1.6L from North America

Summary:

Insanely awesome Honda Ride!!!

Faults:

The only complaints I would have on this car was the road noise was prominent, the premium gas hurt with only 25 mpg or so (if you could keep your lead foot off the pedal so much!), and the CD player gets real hot after an hour or so.

General Comments:

Without being more than nit picky about it, this car is near flawless. I love this car a LOT! I wish I didn't have to get rid of it, because this was my favorite car!

It's a Honda, so you know it lasts forever, and this puppy HAULS! Redline at 8200 RPMs, so you know it cooks. The VTEC is great to kick in. Stinks on the highway going 70 MPH and at 4000rpms. Hahaha.

Other than that, this car was a great investment and well worth it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2007

9th Nov 2011, 17:04

It only requires 91 octane, and I have got as high as 41 mpg driving without using much throttle. I have only had one other car that cornered as well, a Lancer. The Honda b16a2 engine in the 99 and 00 Civic Si is one of the smoothest ever, since the crankshaft is fully counter weighted. It also has a better intake and stronger rods than other b16a2 engines.

1999 Honda Civic LX 1.6 SOHC from North America

Summary:

Great car and would buy another one!

Faults:

Had to change the front brake rotors and pads at 90,000 km and replace the oxygen sensor.

General Comments:

This car is excellent on gas and handles good on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2007

1999 Honda Civic Coupe VTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The best car I have owned

Faults:

55,000 miles and nothing has gone wrong. Nothing coming loose, nothing rattling, and no creaks. I suspect it may well live on long after me.

General Comments:

The seats don't have as much side support as a 160bhp coupe should have.

The indicator stocks are at the quarter to three position, instead of the ten to two position, which I find annoying.

The headlight height adjustment is in the centre console, where it's easy to move without realising.

In six years of owning two of these cars, these are the best design faults I could come up with.

The car is fantastic in a straight line, and while the handling won't set the world on fire, cornering is well balanced and fright free.

This is probably the best car I've ever owned. So indestructible that I'm worried about buying anything new in case it's not as good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2006

1999 Honda Civic LX from North America

Summary:

Very unreliable

Faults:

Needed alignment after half year of buying it, and it requires constant alignments ever since.

Replaced all tires at 30,000 miles with alignment.

Replaced front lower ball joints and all tires again with alignment at 46,000 miles for $500.

Replaced front brake rotors, lower front wheel bearing, left front wheel bearing and left front axle shaft at 55,000 miles for $800.

Replaced rear struts with front alignment at 58,600 miles.

Replaced right front axle, left and right lower ball joints with 4 tires replaced, alignment again at 90,000 miles for $1000.

Replaced rear wheel bearing at 92,000 miles for $500.

And it needs a front wheel alignment again.

General Comments:

I guess we just do not have any luck on this car. After 40,000 miles, it gives us trouble every year as you can see roughly above.

One of the main reason we suspect is that this car was born defected -- it requires the alignment right after a few months we bought it, but we were not alert on that. Then the tires were worn out, and it seems it needs alignment periodically, and all the later problems are related to that defect.

Now at 94,000 miles, after an alignment at 92,000 miles, the mechanics told us it requires a front alignment again. Another reason is maybe because of New England's severe winter snow storms and pit holes on the ground. This car is just too vulnerable. At 90,000 miles, it totally collapsed right after I got off the highway -- the left front wheel fell off.

Every brand has some lemons I guess. I just hope our next car won't give us so much trouble and cost us so much. And I wish other people learn some lessons from this one and won't be as unlucky as us.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2006

2nd Jul 2006, 20:03

You have only problems with your suspension and you call your car unreliable. At least it still runs! As far as alignments go, it is easy to knock a car out of alignment. Any imperfection you hit in the road can knock it out and you must live by pot holes and train tracks and stuff in that nature. As far as wheel bearings go, I have had them go out on my 99 Accord with 120,000 miles right after I was traveling on highway 96 in Detroit Michigan in the right lane... Big Mistake!!! The worst road I have ever seen in my life! You write your review like you are conspiring to take down a great auto manufacturer. Examine your driving habits before you come on here with a big horn and complain about bald tires.