2001 Honda Civic EX from North America


It's a great little car!


I replaced my original tires about a year ago. About three-four months ago it began to vibrate when it reached the speed of 53-58 mph. The tire place rotated the tires and balanced them so that I don't feel the vibration. However, after my recent 40,000 mileage checkup the dealership found a leaking strut. I guess I'll be replacing both front struts soon.

The paint of the car is cracking. It went out of warranty a month before I realized how bad the paint was. The dealership charged me for repainting some areas of the car. Now I am noticing cracking and chipping again. This was just fixed just barely six months ago. :-(

General Comments:

I really have enjoyed my Civic. It's a little small when you have kids. But with the ever rising prices of gas, it has been awesome with low gas consumption. The vibrating problem that I am currently having, I look at it as cost of maintaining it. Just as you change the oil, there are things that just wear out and must be replaced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2005

2001 Honda Civic from North America


A fun little car, may be more problematic than expected.


Tires have had to be replaced twice.

Brakes wore out at about 20,000 miles.

Shocks were repaired twice.

Electrical problem- occasionally the digital odometer stops functioning as well as all the dash gages. Also, the dash lights sometimes cut out at night.

General Comments:

This is a fun car. I just expected more in terms of reliability from Honda. My family has been driving Honda's and Toyota's since the late 1970's and we've neer had a problem car like this one. If it wasnt so unreliable, it would have been a great first car. It has a great, sporty drive even with the automatic transmission. This car is very good on gas, and it also feels safe for such a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

2001 Honda Civic LX from North America


It is still a good car


Both front struts need replaced.

General Comments:

I have always been very happy with the reliability of Honda vehicles. But now they are testing my patience. My car is now in the shop having the front struts replaced. Now that I see that this has been a problem for some years now, I feel betrayed.

I love my Honda Civics. Please Honda, don't screw up a good thing. Make this right before you lose valuable repeat customers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

20th Apr 2005, 05:01

I believe that what you are saying is wrong, I drive a honda civic myself and it drives like it's on clouds. this car is has never had a single problem when I bought it and now it's running 205,024 kms.

25th Apr 2007, 21:14

Hm.. kind of ridiculous. You have a suspension problem with a car and all the sudden, the whole brand is junk? Get real. No car is perfect. Honda / Toyota have high reliability ratings, but cars will break regardless of brand. If struts are the only problem you've had in 65k miles, you're in pretty good shape.

These words are from an american car owner who dumps at least $700/yr. to fix his vehicle's ailments.. and that's at a meager 80kmi..

2001 Honda Civic LX from North America


I will NEVER buy Honda as long as I live and I will certainly recommend that no one else does


Horrible gas mileage.

Struts went out at 30,000 and 75,000 miles and are starting to wear out again.

Brake pads have to be changed constantly.

Alignment always needs to be adjusted.

Transmission finally went completely out last weekend.

Interior material is very cheap and does not hold up well.

General Comments:

This car is a serious piece of junk!

I always heard from people how reliable Honda is, so I jumped to buy one as soon as I was ready for a new car. The first few months were great, after that, all hell broke loose. I pride myself on taking good care of my vehicles, so I expected this car to last forever.

The few times I have called the dealership, I was treated so rudely, that I just gave up and had the work done myself.

The final straw was when the transmission went out the other day! The car is only 4 years old - this is ridiculous!!! I plan on having a tow truck come get it and tow it to the nearest Honda dealership and they can have it back. It's not even worth putting the money out to fix it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2005

2nd Mar 2005, 15:05

Same thing with my civic 2001 the alternator failed its cost 900 usd, with only 20,000 miles.

19th Mar 2005, 16:20

You guys must have gotten ones that somebody sprinkled lemon juice on, I've had one for a year now, put 75000 km on it (mostly city, by the way), and the only things that need doing are oil changes and brakes. Oh, well, they can't all be perfect, I guess.

21st Apr 2005, 10:19

Lemon juice? Whether the car was put through hell or not is immaterial, if I bought a brand new car for $15,000 and it fell apart in 5 years I'm going to be irate. If a car wears out like that in that short of a time frame it is not only a lemon, it just goes to show that the manufacturer is also cheap at making the car. Honda makes cheap cars. What kills me is the people who take these things and soup them up and they blow up in a few weeks.

24th Feb 2008, 08:32


I simply don't believe that review.

As a honda owner, and with many friends owning hondas, none of us have had ANY of those problems.

30th Jun 2009, 21:25

I have no idea what you're talking about. I've had my 2001 Civic for 4 years and it just hit 125000 miles. It's still running GREAT. No problems whatsoever. I'll assume you bought a salvage.

1st Dec 2010, 20:11

I have had the same problem with my 2001 Honda Civic coupe. It is on it's 3rd transmission. So frustrating. Going to trade it in this weekend for a car with a better warranty.

2nd Dec 2010, 18:28

Our Civic was the absolute WORST vehicle ever. Nothing but reliable domestics for us!!