2001 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 5 of 34

2001 Honda Civic LX 1.7 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Dependable 9 year old Civic!

Faults:

I had to REALLY think back of what was wrong with my car. I haven't had much complaints about the car. It has been VERY reliable for me for the last 5 years!

Minor problems:

The window track was wearing out shortly after I bought the car, got it replaced.

Fabric on the headliner starting to come off, I had to keep them up and avoid rolling down the windows.

Other than that, nothing, really!

General Comments:

For the last 5 years, there hasn't been anything wrong with the car except for getting rearended 4 times! I have drove from Arkansas to Washington, DC for over 25 times in 4 years (Yes I'm a college student) and it has achieved to hit 536 miles on a tank from Tennessee to Washington, DC.

Not the fastest car, but I'm satisfied with it.

I plan on keeping this car for 20 more years! :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2010

2001 Honda Civic LX 1.7 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.7 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Honda's worst effort ever

Faults:

Cracked exhaust manifold.

Warped brake rotors.

All four struts.

Cracked air cleaner box.

Wobbly/loose driver's seat.

General Comments:

I bought a used Honda, expecting classic used Honda reliability. Boy was I in for a surprise. Compared to my previous BMW and Toyota, this car was HORRIBLE to work on. Soon after my purchase, I realized the exhaust manifold was cracked (a very common problem, and very expensive as it contains the catalyst as well), the struts needed replacing, the driver seat wobbled front to back and couldn't be repaired, etc, etc.

It handled like a canoe, bounced like a bullride over bumps, and was generally very uncomfortable.

The ONLY good this about this car was the great fuel economy: 6.4L/100km (37 mpg) mixed driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2010

2nd Mar 2010, 19:57

You really can't complain when you buy used... Even if it is a Honda (all my used Honda's have been great.) You have NO IDEA how the previous owner (or owners) treated it. It could have been horribly abused. This can be said for any used car you buy. Any make, any model, any year.

3rd Mar 2010, 09:15

I wouldn't blame Honda, as it was a used car.

Many of the problems could have been discovered prior to purchase with a thorough test drive & mechanical inspection.

3rd Mar 2010, 14:50

Blame Honda for what? This person doesn't state where they bought the car. Had it been at a certified Honda Dealer, then the car would have gotten an inspection. For all we know, this guy could've bought this Honda off somebody's front lawn.

3rd Mar 2010, 16:36

Sorry, I meant to write "I wouldn't blame Honda"...

2001 Honda Civic EX 1.7 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles

Summary:

Very reliable tin can

Faults:

Catalytic converter rusted through at around 50,000 miles.

Alternator died at 75,000 miles.

Shocks were virtually non existent after 80,000 miles.

Sometimes the CD player will reject a CD, so you have to take it out and put it back in a few times before it will play.

Manual transmission pops out of third gear, and has trouble going into reverse.

General Comments:

PROS:

I have started this car on many sub zero days without problem.

Engine always stays cool.

Incredible gas mileage.

Never any major mechanical issues.

Very little maintenance needed.

CONS:

Will get stuck in any snow at all, DO NOT DRIVE A CIVIC IN THE SNOW, IT'S HORRIBLE AND DANGEROUS. THEY HAVE NO CONTROL.

The brakes are a joke! They are very weak.

And slow, very slow. This car really does need a bigger motor; it only has 124hp. Honda really should have given these more like 160hp for some decent power getting on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2010

2001 Honda Civic EX Stock from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Stock Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance96500 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Extremely reliable

Faults:

Mechanically - Nothing went wrong at all except for when I put in the aftermarket, the steering was about 1" off.

Had to get it fixed. Cost me like $500. That was a total rip off cause the guy said he will have to take the steering column apart to fix it. But not a damn trace of the bolt being unscrewed.

But it was fixed and aligned correctly.

Windshield cracked on me this winter, 'cause I've moved to Wyoming and it's freaking cold here.

Installed an alarm system with remote starter. The problem was I had a chip and didn't even know about it. The remote starter gets the heat into the window at sub-degree below freezing Wyoming temp. The crack almost went from side to side, but at the very bottom of the windshield.

General Comments:

First thing I did when I got it brand-new was tore off the bulky intake and put in some aftermarket one.

At 45000m, I replaced all the tires/rims with aftermarket tires/rims.

It got into a major accident that damaged the driver's side. Statefarm fixed and like new again.

It got rear ended on a rainy day. Statefarm replaced bumper and looked like new again.

It got hit on the right pass/side and damage the door+broken windows. Statefarm fixed it like new again.

I've been changing my oil regularly at 3-5k (depends on where I drive/terrain, etc).

Around 90000m, I changed all suspension and shocks.

I just installed an aftermarket remote starter + alarm system this 2009 fall.

At 95000m, I changed the automatic transmission oil for the first time. Then put in some engine restore can. It drives like freaking new again.

For higher mileage vehicle, I highly recommend spending an extra $10, or less, on one of those engine restore fluids at every oil change /4-5k.

I just maintain my own car, doing regular check ups and oil changes. It's going to last a while on this one.

Driving anywhere with this car gives me a peace of mind that it will drive and drive until I get there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2009

27th Dec 2009, 15:16

A lot of those engine additives, Slick 50 and such are like snake oil, they promise things they simply cannot do. However I've found one product that seems to help my worn-out Accord and that's the Lucas engine oil additive and their tranny additive helps too. Someone told me also that something called Hyperlube or Duralube is good too but I've never tried it.

Maybe tell us all what it is you put in your Civic? I gotta know :P

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 115 reviews