2003 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 13 of 13

2003 Honda Civic Type - S 2.0 i-VTEC DOHC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 i-VTEC DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Miles better than Focus 2.0 Zetec, 307 XSi, Megane Sport, or any other similar rival

Faults:

Nothing, but then I have only had it for a week! (Just couldn't wait to tell the world!)

However...

I don't like:

- CD player is absolute rubbish, compared to the cassette player in my old Ford, distorting bass, flat mid range and tinny treble.

- Turning circle is huge, and a bit embarrassing when parking in tight spaces.

General Comments:

Wow this car is so quick!

What I like:

- Superb acceleration, handling and comfort.

- Great looking, in Vivid Blue Pearl, with the mesh grille and unique Type-S alloys.

- Automatic climate control, Part leather seats, chrome detailing (but not too much).

- Discreet looks, the total opposite of the boy racer Type-R, but with a lot of the performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2003

5th Mar 2007, 02:48

The only reason people buy type-s is because you can't afford a type-r.

9th May 2007, 04:12

Or because you want a diesel...

16th Jun 2007, 15:03

The type S is not a "cheap alternative" to the type R. It's a different animal, 2 more doors, a spruced-up CRV engine (not a tamed type-R engine), cruise control, vehicle stability assist, etc.

It is significantly cheaper to insure (as a 35-yr old male certainly).

It's quick once it's revving above about 3500 rpm, very comfortable and handles like a dream in wet and dry.

Don't expect 40+ mpg; you won't get it.

22nd May 2010, 16:21

A Type S is a watered down Type R. You only buy a Type S because you can't afford a Type R, as it says above. Put it this way; if you had a choice, Type R or Type S, taking cost out of it, who would take the Type S? No one, that's who.

25th Aug 2010, 12:37

I'm sorry, but the above post is a joke. The Type S originally retailed for a similar price to the Type R, and the design brief was for a moderately quick hot hatch designed for the family man who needs a bigger boot, softer suspension and more low down torque. I personally don't like the Type S, as I regularly drive one and I find the lack of low down torque irritating, and it struggles to hide its weight.

2003 Honda Civic Type-R 2.0 VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance5300 miles
Previous carNissan Almera

Faults:

Nothing at all, although I've only had it for 2 months.

General Comments:

High Reving, High Performance, High Reliability Bargain, which will apparently go on for ever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

12th Dec 2003, 05:14

I have a civic and can categorically tell you that it will not last forever, mine is on its last legs at three years old. It smokes like an old foundry.

2003 Honda Civic LX 1.7 Non-VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 Non-VTEC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

A balanced buy for the balanced person

Faults:

So far, the only thing to date that has been faulty is the driver side map light. It actually is a very trivial fault as it would only get stuck sometimes and not all the time.

General Comments:

Ownership of this car has been top notch since day one.

Gas mileage is excellent, especially in comparison to the car I used to have (1998 VW Beetle). I average no less than 30 mpg overall and hit a high of about 506 miles on one tank with 1.8 gallons of fuel still remaining in the tank.

Handling is okay, considering Honda is probably one of the few car manufactuers equipping their cars with 185/70/14 tires!

Tire pressure is very important with this car I've noticed. Even being a few pounds over-inflated can cause very noticeable adverse effects to the car. Like upon purchasing there was roughly 35psi front and rear, but the factory recommended setting is 30psi front and rear. Upon lowering the tire pressure to the factory setting, the car handled much, much better - much more Honda-like to say.

The updated gauges in the 03 Civic are so nice that I feel bad for anyone who purchased a Civic prior to the 03 model year. It gives the interior a much more fresh and upscale look in comparison to the 2001-2002 model years.

One minor gripe I have is why did they totally omit the ashtray? Okay, I can understand the lighter being that after a few years it gets pretty trashed if not non-operable or may usually just use their own lighter to light their cigarettes. Also, to get an ashtray, it's the cup holder style, which I find totally lame because it occupies one of only two cup holders in the front of the car. If they removed it because they felt it would save money in production costs or perhaps to discourage smoking while driving, they should at least put another cubby or tray where the astray normally would be if it came straight from the manufacturers in Japan - where of course an ashtray in the car is without a question a must!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

3rd Sep 2003, 06:25

No, he's right... there's no ashtray or cigarette lighter in these cars (at least not in the 03 Civic LX I just got two weeks ago anyway). Whatever sliding compartment you're talking about is either an option on the '03s or in an older model. There's a covered cigarette lighter socket with no element in it, and a spot that looks like where an ashtray would go right next to it. You either use the world for an ashtray or keep an empty Pepsi can in one of the cupholders.

He is also correct in that tire pressure is very important in these cars. Mine was handling a bit strange for the first week, in that the most minor movement of the steering wheel had an INSTANT effect. Even given that it was a nice, tight new car, it was a bit unnerving. On a whim I checked the air pressure in the tires, and right off the showroom floor, all four Firestones on the car had a whopping 42 pounds of pressure in them! I dropped all four tires down to the recommended 30 psi, and received an instant improvement in handling.

I'll reserve further comments until I've had the car a good long while. It is impossible to comment objectively on a car with only 1100 miles on it.

18th Dec 2003, 17:46

On most new cars now the ash tray and lighter are options.

I have a Civic LX Sport (which is/was only available in the 03 model year in Canada)

I have just under 17,000kms on it and haven't put a cent into it, other than gas. Even the dealer has done all my oil changes for free so far.

I'll of had it for a year in Feb.

Only complaint I could make is lack of power. I think Honda should start putting more than 127hp in the Civics.

You look at the new Mazda's, or Neons or even the Sentras... they have a min of 150 hp all the way up to 230hp.

2003 Honda Civic Type-R 2.0 I-VTEC petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 I-VTEC petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1850 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

It's a real sports car, with added practicality

Faults:

Ill-fitting radio/CD needed 3 visits to fix.

Poor and unhelpful dealer service.

Inconsistent paint color on the bumpers and spoiler.

Generally the paint is of poor quality, easily suffering stone chipping.

Various rattles.

General Comments:

Sensational straight line performance.

Fantastic 200BHP engine married to possibly the best 6 - speed gearbox of any car in the world.

Great driving position with the wheel, seats and pedals all in line.

The dash mounted gearshift is a joy to use and is very addictive - you often change gears more often than needed for the sake of it.

Stylish 'winged' seats offer great support around corners and comfort over long journey's.

Sporty yet safe chassis encourages performance driving.

It looks fast even when standing still!

Solid mechanicals.

It's a great combination of civilised motoring with outright aggression which gives the car an addictive character.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

12th Dec 2003, 01:33

I have to agree fully the quality of my Honda is also shockingly bad, I traded from a Volkswagen on the basis of media reports about both Honda and Volkswagen respectively and am now ruing the day, the immobiliser prevents me from starting most mornings and the rip-off air conditioning never works and as you say the paint is aweful.

2003 Honda Civic Imagine 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Excellent value for money

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This car is comfortable for my vertically challenged wife and for my six foot frame.

Its performance and road handling are very good.

The controls are well designed and accessible.

Heating and demisting are excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

2003 Honda Civic EX D17a Motor from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission D17a Motor Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles

Summary:

Great Car For a Great Deal!

Faults:

Nothing Wrong With The Car So Far..

Looking for nothing to ever go wrong.

General Comments:

This car is a def. buy!! Nice comfortable clean ride and able to add many performance mods down the road!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2003

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 44 reviews