2003 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 9 of 13

2003 Honda Civic EX 1.8 VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance10780 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

A no-brainer if you want good wheels and economy!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

My wife and I are both 70 and retired.

We downsized our cars from Acura and Honda Accord EX to the Civic 2003 we now share.

We are very happy. The Civic has plenty of pep (thanks to the VTEC, I am sure), it is reasonably comfortable (ample space inside fore and aft, and in the trunk), and the high mileage is a God-send these days.

The a/c and the sound system are the only areas where we have had to compromise a bit, but no big deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2004

5th Dec 2006, 16:50

Oh wow, the gas mileage is AWESOME!! I do all city driving and get about 29 mpg!! Nice little 13 gallon tank.

2003 Honda Civic VTi 1.6 VTEC+PGM FI from Pakistan

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC+PGM FI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance5895 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

High Cost, Irritating noises

Faults:

The engine produces a not so friendly growling noise at and after 2000 RPM. Honda doesn't care for my problems.

General Comments:

The engine is over powered for the size, length and dimensions of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

2003 Honda Civic VTI 1.6 from Pakistan

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance17650 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Cuore

Summary:

Excellent choice for the money

Faults:

AC makes a cranking noise sometimes.

General Comments:

Excellent car, good buy for the money spent.

Excellent running, just took the car from Khi to Pesh and Kalam over 5K KM on a 10 day, trip did excellently without any problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2004

2003 Honda Civic Type-S 2.0 vtech from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 vtech Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good performance utilitarian

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Fairly quick for this class of car. Performs better than the Focus ST170 I tested against it. You need to keep the revs up high as with any vtec. Nowhere near as quick off the mark as the Corrolla 1.8 VVTiL T-Sport I had before.

Build quality is lightweight. The doors feel like polystyrene. Again the Toyota was solid and heavy.

The paintwork is pretty much paper-thin and I'm sometimes worried that washing it might take a huge flake off.

The glove compartment door sticks a lot and looks very insubstantial.

Handling at higher speeds and on tight corners isn't the best. Feels like an old Range Rover when hitting a roundabout at speed, pitching and rolling.

Equipment is good with half leather interior, climate control and decent legroom in the back. Lacks a sunroof.

Inconspicuous looks say "old man" but the engine can surprise boy racers.

Fuel consumption is on the heavy side even on long steady journeys.

5 doors are a must with a family!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

6th Oct 2004, 04:34

A superb car, however I too am not very impressed with the fuel economy. When one dealer did a test they got 57mpg, which is totally stupid. Another dealer got 40mpg on a 60 mile route.

I average 33mpg after ~6,000 miles on various roads (car had done 6,000 when I got it), I expected better than my 2litre Mondeo which averaged ~35mpg over similar journeys.

There is also some hesitation at low revs, especially in 2nd gear, which Honda do not seem to be able to sort out.

Terry.

2003 Honda Civic DX-G 1.7L 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7L 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Excellent economy car with good gas mileage, but weak engine

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Everything you need to know about a Civic.

Pros:

Average priced economy car with well thought out equipment options. My model DX-G is the base model, with the G option package. AC, CD player, body coloured door handles.

Excellent gas mileage, but only if you don't drive at more that 110 km/h. At around 120 km/h the mileage goes way down.

In my opinion, it is tied with the Mazda Protege for Second in terms of interior looks and quality. I think the Corolla has unmatched interior quality.

Has many nice security features that you don't find in other models.

Somehow the engineers eliminated that large hump in the middle of the floor in front of the back seat. Nice touch for your passengers.

Has a good mix of tight suspension for corning and loosness for bumps and potholes. I've notice some people complaining about the rough suspension over bumps. But they've all owned gigantic cars in the past, I noticed one guy complain how terrible the suspension was, but then in the next breath say his last 5 cars were Cadillacs, Olds and big Fords... It's a small economy car, the suspension is fine.

Transmission is by far the smoothest and smartest in its class. Absolutely brilliant feat of engineering if you ask me.

Has a nice punch from 0 - 40Km/h, fun to drive around town.

Cons:

Nice punch from 0 - 40 but after that the engine really shows its tiny size.

Engine is very very noisy under hard acceleration and you'll notice it a lot because you need to floor it just to get decent speed. Noise is still better than other small cars.

Service department is well run... but you pay through the nose to own a civic. Recommended maintenance is very pricey at Honda dealerships and I hear parts are expensive too.

Car is much lighter than other models, which helps the small engine and gas mileage, but causes the car to swerve a lot in high winds.

Big complaint: Tires. The wheel covers and the tires themselves are surprisingly cheap looking. The tires also have poor traction I find. This car does not handle well under icy conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

21st Mar 2004, 14:30

You are right!

It is a small econobox, priced like a mid-size car!

2nd Sep 2004, 11:20

You are making a mistake here. A car is not comfortable or uncomfortable based on what cars you drove in the past. This is car salesman's logic, they always ask me "what cars did you drive before" (it is so annoying!). A car is uncomfortable when after driving it for an hour or so you feel achy and stiff all over your muscles, when you dread the long trips or when you cannot find a position that lets you drive somehow relaxed. I think Hondas are not comfortable cars at all based on the quality of their ride and not on what type of cars I had in the past!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 44 reviews