2003 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 5 of 13

2003 Honda Civic Type-R 2.0 VTEC from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Summary:

Buy one!

Faults:

Nothing mechanical.

Engine hasn't missed a beat.

Floor mats are showing signs of wear, but the car is 3 years old.

Just spent £500 on 3 year service, but this included 2 new front tires and new front brake linings, so can't complain. Service done by Honda dealer - brilliant.

General Comments:

Car is very quick (0-60 in 6.7 seconds).

6 gears are great.

The engine note above 6200 rpm is intoxicating and the 'kick' it gives is wonderful.

Rev limiter is brilliant (comes in at 8600 rpm on mine and is set by the dealer). After the engine cuts out and you lift your foot off the pedal, the revs drop and the engine comes alive again. It's so forgiving and the power comes straight back.

Handling is fantastic. Ride a bit harsh, but can't have comfort and sports car handling at this price.

Can be driven slowly, but it's not easy - it's that engine note again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2006

16th Aug 2007, 15:30

"Rev limiter is brilliant (comes in at 8600 rpm on mine and is set by the dealer). After the engine cuts out and you lift your foot off the pedal, the revs drop and the engine comes alive again. It's so forgiving and the power comes straight back."

Well, isn't that what a rev limiter is supposed to do?!

2nd Jan 2008, 06:12

Yup, same as on pretty much every other car built in the last 20 years or so...

2003 Honda Civic DX-G from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60200 kilometres
Most recent distance60600 kilometres
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

I'll be taking it back and getting a new one if my problem isn't fixed

Faults:

The alternator died after only two weeks of owning the car. The dealer replaced it under manufacturers warranty, but I still question why, with only 60k on the car, would the alternator be shot.

The gas mileage is horrible on this car. I'm getting 20 mpg in the city, which is about 15 mpg lower than it should be. The dealer checked it out and said they couldn't find any leaks or problems. Why didn't I just get an SUV if I'm getting this kind of mileage?

General Comments:

I enjoy driving this car as it handles pretty good.

The seats are fairly uncomfortable, but they are manageable.

Pickup on this car is slow, but you can't expect much from a 4 cyclinder engine.

Due to the horrible gas mileage on my particular car, if the dealer can't fix the problem, I'll plan on trading it in for a different civic.

I know Honda has a good reputation for reliable cars, but it looks like I've picked up a lemon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2006

2003 Honda Civic type r 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Quick if you drive like you've stolen it

Faults:

Getting very uneven tyre wear on back tyres.

Very noisy.

General Comments:

The car is only quick if you keep it in the 6-8000 rev range, Not much torque otherwise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2006

19th May 2010, 17:08

Vtec is like having 2 engines. Rev it and it's a racing engine that can shift, and keep out of the vtec zone, and it's economical, happy days.

2003 Honda Civic LX 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Automatic
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Excellent buy for student or practical-minded individuals

Faults:

After 3 years - Driver's side power window motor was replaced - It was going up slower than the passenger side. This was covered under my extended warranty.

After 3 years - Front marker light (not the headlight or signal light) went out.

General Comments:

This has been a great car for remedial city life: Driving to and from work, odd weekend road trips etc etc. This car was not meant for speed or aggressive driving, but can be pushed from time to time.

Great gas mileage.

No major headaches and is very economic.

There is very much something to the reasoning behind Honda selling so many of these cars year in and year out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2006

2003 Honda Civic DX 1.7 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.7 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

Cheap built quality

Faults:

Interior door trim separated from door panel.

Dashboard is substandard quality.

Paint peeled of from front grille while using high pressure washer.

Rust appeared in first year on the door hinges, roof and trunk.

Honda repainted trunk deck-lid and front grille.

General Comments:

I really tried to like this car, after all it's a Honda.

This car is no fun to drive for any extended period of time.

The seats are uncomfortable, road noise intrudes into the cabin and passing a Truck on a two-lane country road is putting ones live a risk.

This car is underpowered with an automatic transmission.

I regret having bought this car, built quality is not what I expected from a Honda.

The only good thing I have to say about this car, is that I was always treated fairly by the dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2006

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 44 reviews