2005 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 2 of 13

2005 Honda Civic D from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

You must be kidding me!

Faults:

1. Battery 1 month after being bought...

2. No sound is made if the lights are left on with the car off.

General Comments:

Overpriced raw car. This was given as a replacement birthday gift, due to my grandmother driving after her run away cat in my Blazer, and flipping it. However, be prepared to rock the steering wheel. It's not stable at all on the highway. Constantly tilts to the left, which is a NIGHTMARE.

An absolute disappointment! Gas mileage is not as advertised. Mileage is terrible after 70. No ABS, no automatic windows, automatic doors, no automatic interior light, cruise control; just unreal! Very uncomfortable on long trips.

The dealership guys just fooled my poor grandma by telling her "It's a DEAL OF A LIFETIME. DON'T MISS THIS ONE, BECAUSE THIS CAR IS LOADED". At 80 years old, and ignorant about what's needed in a modern car, my grandma became prey. How can you sell a car without ABS in a 2005 car!?!?!? This should be standard in this day and age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2012

1st Feb 2012, 23:27

The car probably needs suspension work and an alignment.

2nd Feb 2012, 15:56

I've had the pulling/leaning to the left issue in my Mazda. It is a condition my tire shop refers to as "Japanese Flimsies", where the suspension literally sags from the weight of the car after a couple of years. My friend has this with his 3-year-old Toyota. Japanese car companies use very flimsy material throughout, and even in such vital areas as the suspension.

Our Civic never had the sagging suspension, but just about everything else you can think of went wrong with it. It was junked at 99,000 miles. After the equally disastrous Mazda, we are now a total domestic-only family. We got tired of constantly having to repair our Japanese cars. I'd highly recommend a good used Ford or GM.

2005 Honda Civic EX Special Edition D17A from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission D17A Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance51800 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

A quick-enough comfortable economy car; perfect for someone who hates fixing things

Faults:

New brakes at 45k miles.

General Comments:

This was my first (and to date, only) new car purchase. I paid roughly $1500 under sticker for the top of the line non-Si Civic, and at no point did I regret it.

My first few tanks of gas, I was babying it and seeing upwards of 40-45MPG. Then my lead foot kicked in about 10k miles in, so overall average was roughly 32MPG over the five years I owned it.

The seats were comfortable enough to sleep in - I did so many times, actually. Never having to rent a hotel room when on the road because your car is comfortable is a huge plus.

Safety. A major concern. My car was rear-ended roughly five times in those five years. The first major accident caused over $9k in body damage. The entire rear end crumple zone was toast. No injuries... on our end. The driver who caused the accident went to the hospital. Then it happened again a few years later. Another $9k in damage, but this time with the cost of rental car and other various expenses, my insurance totaled it. Another no-injury accident.

I would recommend this car to anyone who doesn't require a monster drag car, and just wants something with an enormous trunk, comfortable seats, and excellent economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2010

2005 Honda Civic Si (EX) 1.7 VTEC from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.7 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Good car, but not a good car

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 120,000km.

Trunk release button stopped working.

Seats fading in color.

General Comments:

The seats are comfortable pretty decent ride.

Not the fastest car in the world, but picks up OK.

Lots of road noise.

Very good on gas.

These cars are becoming more and more known for head gasket failure at around 80,000km. This really really disappointments me that Honda has done this to themselves.

This really changed my opinion of Honda, and I honestly don't know I would ever buy another one again; maybe a older one, but not a newer one; they have gotten cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st July, 2010

22nd Jul 2010, 11:37

Please don't forget to do a timing belt replacement. Most places garages suggest replacing your water pump at the same time. Price with labour and parts is around $500-700.

23rd Jul 2010, 09:55

What is a Civic Si (EX)? I thought the two trim levels were separate from each other.

23rd Jul 2010, 19:04

The Civic Si and EX are completely separate models.

31st Jul 2010, 19:10

In 2005, and in Canada, we had the Civic Si in coupe and sedan form, and we had the SiR in hatchback form. In the U.S. you guys have the EX in coupe and sedan form, and the Si in hatchback form. Therefore the Canadian Si is equivalent to U.S. EX. Also the Canadian SiR is equivalent to the U.S. Si.

12th Jul 2011, 17:22

Well guys, I have a 2005 Canadian Civic Coupe SI, and I have a blown head gasket... and it's a 140000 km. Yes, this is not like Honda to do that, but they are selling them so cheap now, they have to cut somewhere, but it is too bad, since their engines used to be so trouble free; not anymore..!!

16th Feb 2012, 19:52

I am a 2004 Civic owner, and my Civic had 2 head gaskets replaced around 80 000km. The first time the dealership did it wrong. Very disappointing.

8th Jun 2012, 12:32

I have a 2005 Honda Civic EX, and at around 82,000 miles, I had to replace the head gasket. Luckily my extended warranty covered it, and it's been the only significant repair in seven years. I love my Civic!

8th Jun 2012, 16:35

Our experience with the Honda Civic was very disappointing. No domestic car we have ever owned had half the problems of the Civic. We've driven cars from all three domestic makers over 200,000 miles, with no repairs beyond basic maintenance Certainly can't say that for the Honda.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 34 reviews