2006 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 15 of 16

2006 Honda Civic ex 1.8 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles

Summary:

You cannot go wrong with a Civic

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, still very new.

General Comments:

Great car, back seat has lots of room for my four year old twins. I do notice that the car is somewhat unstable on those bridge grates, but rides well in all other respects.

Called the dealership on the repair schedule. In a nutshell, change all fluids every 30,000, no timing belt service as in the past.

Have yet to run the car hard, still too new. Mileage has been in the mid 30s and expect this to get a little better.

Love the look of the rear of the car, looks like a BMW.

Car is black with ivory interior. I worry about keeping the inside clean with the kids, but what the heck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2006

16th Feb 2007, 21:01

I can't believe you said it looks like a BMW... obviously you have no idea what a bmw is never-mind what one looks like. And as an owner of an 06 LX coupe I can confidently say that yes you CAN go wrong with a civic.

17th Feb 2007, 00:29

As an owner of an Accord I can tell you that you can't go wrong with an Accord.

17th Feb 2007, 19:16

First of all, nothing Honda makes looks remotely like a BMW (which is not all that great-looking anyway) and YES, you MOST DEFINITELY can go wrong with a Civic. Hopefully you'll have better luck with yours than my experience has been. The one Civic in our household started self-destructing at 40,000 miles (CV joints went out) and TOTALLY disintegrated at 90,000 and was sold as scrap.

18th Feb 2007, 16:06

"Love the look of the rear of the car, looks like a BMW."

Yes, that is exactly why I am no longer impressed by BMW. It is precisely because they look like just another Honda econobox! Apparently the style and luxury are gone, and are no longer something to aspire to.

19th Feb 2007, 09:00

Why I dislike the current BMW designs, to say they are looking like econoboxes is simply wrong. BMW design chief Chris Bangle has set a design language that virtually EVERY car maker is following one way or another. Even the mass market Camry has a trunk similar to the BMW 5 and 7 series.

26th Jan 2008, 04:12

Even the Land Rovers are owned by Ford!

2006 Honda Civic CTD 2.2TD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2TD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Really good car, couple of small bugs, but superb

General Comments:

This is my 2nd hire car until I get my Company Fiesta, I was also driving round a hired Toyota Corolla which was dreadful.

I was given this yesterday and I must say its fantastic with a couple of bugs though. Its quite a high spec model (CD player, leather interior, A/C, heated seats etc). The 2.2TD engine really shifts you and at 120 it doesn't seem to care, no wobble like to Corolla and plenty more life in her. Of course I can't really comment on the car in terms of any length of ownership, but am happy to mention its problems.

It doesn't come with a spare wheel just a foam filler canister which I thinks a bit cheap, but provides a lot more of storage. The front door handles are awfully tinny with a very flimsy feel (So I would expect problems with them in time). The rear spoiler is right across the middle of the rear view middle which is a pain at times (like unmarked police cars trying to get past so don't mistaken them for boy racers). In terms of visibilty around the whole of the car it scores poorly, I'm only 20 but I like to get my head round while reversing to say everything which this car certainly restricts.

I love the styling of the car and the rear end looks pretty fancy though some disagree, the engine is amazing which plenty of power and torque and it grips the road superbly. Theres a few two many buttons at times and I have gotten use to the very futuristic dash, but it's a pleasure to drive (since its free) unlike that dreadful Corolla (Can't believe people spend money on them new)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2006

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 46 reviews