2006 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 14 of 16

2006 Honda Civic Type R 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Excellent eye catching, head turning, high performance car

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Still running the car in for the first 1000 miles.

Car is great looking and gets admiring looks whenever I am out in it. It is a last of the line Type R with the tinted windows and red recaro seats. Well done Honda.

Only negatives I would say that I have noticed in my short time of owning this car are:-

1) The seatbelts are hard to reach when putting on.

2) Everyone wants to race you from the boy racers in their Corsas to the old guys in their BMW's. I encounter this everytime I'm out in the car, and it gets annoying when they are sitting inches off the bumper of your new pride and joy.

As I have not yet run the car in fully, I am not aware of and cannot comment on its performance yet, but have been told various figures 146mph flat out and 6.6 seconds 0-60mph. Although I was also told by someone who has had a few of these cars, that it would hit 155mph no problem and that 60mph comes up quicker than 6.6 seconds and would have been in the fives if the limiter had not kicked in at 58mph in second, requiring a gear change into third. How much of this is true I do not know.

Comments, figures achieved and experiences by other Type R owners would be appreciated. I bought the car for its looks, street cred and the attention it gets first of all, but curious as to the true performance of this car. I love going out posing in it when it's all polished up - it really looks the part. But I also bought the car partly for a bit of performance and acceleration when needed for overtaking, but certainly not taking it to its limits.

So far very impressed with the Type R, and know I made the right decision buying this car. The new Type R is out in January 2007, and looks smart and does 60mph in 6 seconds and 150mph, but what I am waiting for is the Type RR whenever that comes out. Not sure exactly when, but heard it could have 240bhp. That will be some machine!!! Looking forward to reading about that.

Overall, very impressed with my new Type R, it puts a smile on my face everytime I drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2006

4th Jul 2006, 12:49

You can tune your civic engine to 240 for around 1500. Guaranteed the newer models will be heavier because of new safety regulations, so yours would be quicker.

19th Jul 2006, 09:27

Glad to hear that you like your Type R! I have owned mine for around 6 months now, and can honestly say that I love it. I have read a few comments on other threads about people with problems, but to be honest I cannot fault my.

When you’ve worn in the engine (and make sure you do), let us know what you think. I know that for the first week of ownership, I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face when the v-tec cuts in.

Only downside is that it drinks petrol. I very rarely get over 300 miles to a full tank (except on long journeys), but on average probably around £260ish miles. Having said that, I don’t use the car for work, just a play thing at weekends, so I guess more often then not I have a heavy right foot!

I must say that it's very bumpy on the twisty stuff, certainly more so then my previous cars (306 GTI-6 and Clio Williams), but will undoubtedly out pace/handle many other more expensive cars. My friend has a 330ci and cannot keep up with me on our regular B roads, but I know this may also be down to the driver.

I have only made one modification and that’s the fitting of a induction kit, not for the extra bhp (claimed at 10-12bhp…Hmmm…) but because of the sounds that it makes, it's truly awesome! A real must for any Type R owner! K&N Typhoon cost around £140 and takes 15 minutes to fit. I’m also eating through front tyres, but to be honest couldn't care less, only do around 7K a year so if they need replacing once a year, then so be it!

I have had to adjust my driving style in order to get the best out of the car. For example a work colleague has a new Golf GTI (2.0t), and although on paper they are fairly similar in performance (CTR marginally quicker), I do need to drop it a couple (or few!) gears in order to keep up on say a motorway. It's very easy to get “caught out” when some boy racer comes flying up behind, you need to be on the ball. Having said that, when you do get used to the car, it's very rewarding.

Anyway hope you enjoy it as I have done. I would certainly buy another and am waiting for next year to see what the new Type R brings, or RR for that matter.

2006 Honda Civic Sport CDTi 2.2 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance3900 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Cracking, individual small hatch with real flair

Faults:

No faults, as you would expect from a Honda.

General Comments:

Fabulous car. Replaced a Focus 1.8 TDCi Zetec which I was well pleased with, but this is a step on in every way.

The most impressive aspect is the engine. It's the smoothest, quietest four cylinder diesel engine I've ever experienced, and makes rivals from Ford, VW and Vauxhall (all of which I tried) feel agricultural. It pulls from nothing, revs keenly (for a diesel) and is returning 47 mpg average so far.

The dash design is gorgeous with a big central blue backlit rev counter flanked by smaller fuel and temperature gauges, and a central blue LCD speedometer in a separate pod above. Minor controls are grouped in circular "pods" around the main cluster, and the effect is both futuristic and striking. Unlike most cars which have interiors trying to copy the rather bland designs of German cars, Honda have designed something radical, yet ergonomically excellent. Assembly quality and materials are beyond reasonable criticism.

Handling is very good. It lacks that final n'th of involvement and feel of my old mk1 Focus with lighter steering and slightly overassisted brakes. However, the dual wishbone suspension gives precise handling, and grip levels are strong.

I tried a VW Golf TDI, a Focus TDCi 136 and an Astra CDTi and this stood out just for being different, yet as well if not better put together than any of its rivals. Shutlines are tight and even, trim fits perfectly, and there's a sense of almost surgical precision about the way the car is assembled that even the mk5 Golf can't match.

Well pleased with my choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2006

22nd May 2006, 21:02

Sure about the "double wishbone suspension"?

I think they (the accountants) got rid of that bit of engineering with the last of the seventh generation Civics.

29th May 2006, 16:38

I agree with the above post. Brochure makes tenuous links between motor sport and its suspension – sorry nothing motor sport about a torsion beam! However granted that chassis is very stiff - as stiff as the last Type R which will make it handle well.

22nd Feb 2007, 09:11

I had one of these on hire for 2 months awaiting a new car. At first I thought it was brilliant and eye catching, but it didn't take too long for me to find things that would really annoy me if I had one.

The hire car had about 2000 miles on it, but already had several rattles mainly from the rear interior panels, the left hand speakers were faulty, constantly buzzing on higher volumes. I found the engine quiet on the outside, but inside quite gruff and always audible. It was very easy to scrape the front valance if you were not concentrating on ramps etc... and when a stone hit the bonnet not only did it chip, but it made a small dent in the panel too.

Most diesels aren't really run in until about 15000 miles, but even so I didn't like the linear acceleration of the engine, it lacked the immediate punch of say one of the VW diesels, although it's arguably more refined.

I also felt the dash was too gimmicky and very easily marked. Its all horses for courses though, but if it were my money there are plenty of other diesels in that bracket I would consider first.

22nd Feb 2007, 13:35

The double wishbone suspension would not fit in the 06 Civics.

10th Jul 2007, 15:03

I hope to buy a New Civic when I finish my university course. I like the fact that the diesel engine is so quiet and refined. Also, there is the Honda reliability and futuristic looks. In my opinion it's the nicest looking medium sized car out there.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 46 reviews