2006 Honda CR-V Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2006 Honda CR-V SE Sport 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carHonda S2000

Summary:

Another brilliant car from Honda

Faults:

Nothing major.

Drivers door wouldn't close easily.

Car pulled left slightly.

All sorted without fuss under warranty and a free laser wheel alignment to boot.

General Comments:

The interior is a little bland, but all the switchgear is easy to use and the climate controlled air/con a dream.

The car although an auto is rapid enough, but if you drive it like an S2000 expect it to drink the gas.

I get between 27 mpg around town to 32 mpg on a run driving steadily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2006

12th Jan 2007, 11:34

It's not designed to be driven like an S2000!!!

I have a 2004 example of the same car and haven't had one problem in 3 years - I am sure it won't give you an problems.

Come May I will be getting my hands on a all new 2007 CR-v

ES auto - can hardly wait.

18th Jan 2007, 21:19

You may want to re-check your mileage figures old chap. You opine that you've achieved 27/32 mpg. Is it mpg or kpg (kilometers per gallon). Just wondering because your figures sound a bit optimistic. I own a 2006 CR-V with the 2.4 litre 4 cyl. I drive quite conservatively and couldn't get your mileage driving down hill with a tailwind. What's your secret? Are you having your kids get out and push to get you going? Inquiring minds what to know!!

My CR-V is broken-in with over 7k on the odometer. I consistently see 20 mpg city/28 highway. That's it, nothing to get excited about.

22nd Jan 2007, 10:59

The review is based on UK spec vehicle not a US Spec.

The UK does not get the 2.4l engine instead we have the

2.0l petrol or 2.2 diesel.

I get approx 30 - 32 MPG from my 2.0 auto.

22nd Jan 2007, 14:34

Also keep in mind the difference between Imperial gallons and U.S. gallons. It always appears as though you get more miles per gallon when quoting Imperial gallons, because Imperial gallons are a little larger.

29th Jan 2007, 13:40

I have a 2 year old SE sport and get identical MPG to that of the reviewer 27 MPG around town (London suburbs - so quite stop/start) and around 32MPG on motorway or fast A roads. Best I've ever achieved is approx 35mpg, but it was really boring, and involved very slow progress!

I find my CRV is a great practical workhorse, and has proven totally reliable.

2006 Honda CR-V LX Gasoline 2.4 litres i-vtec from Venezuela

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Gasoline 2.4 litres i-vtec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance17400 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Grand Vitara

Summary:

The CR-V is a comfortable, reliable and fun to drive mid-size SUV

Faults:

The car has a noise in the rear axle when turning, I do not trust the dealer to repair it.

The steering wheel vibrates at high speeds.

General Comments:

The car has a great handling and enough power.

It is very roomy and comfortable.

Good gas mileage thank to the five speed automatic transmission.

Excellent stereo system.

Air conditioner could be better, It is hard to set a comfortable temperature.

It is easy to make mistakes when shifting from second gear to the drive position.

Convenient location of park break lever, adds space between front seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2006

23rd Aug 2010, 19:21

Noise in the rear differential is probably just old fluid. I had the same problem, changed the fluid and the noise went away. That was 2 years ago...

2006 Honda CR-V EX i-CTDI DPF 2.2 turbo diesel from Austria

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz A-Class

Summary:

A little conservative, but awesome high-quality SUV

Faults:

Nothing until now.

General Comments:

Not to use as an off road-vehicle. It's a spacious and very comfortable SUV for your every day life, of course also for long distance trips. The extensive equipment will fulfill all desires.

Acceleration is remarkable for a car of this weight and size, depending on an immense torque.

The CR-V will change into a 4-wheel-driven car if necessary and you will not notice it.

Unfortunately some parts of the interior are not very resistant against scratches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2006

2006 Honda CR-V EX 156-hp, 2.4-liter, 16-valve i-VTEC engine from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 156-hp, 2.4-liter, 16-valve i-VTEC engine Manual
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Not the worst car I've owned, but somewhat disappointed so far

Faults:

Check engine light at 2,000 miles. Dealer's computer not updated yet to include 2006 models, so they were unable to pull the code. Reset check engine light, and it's remained off.

General Comments:

I previously owned a Subaru Forester which I was happy with, except for the room in the back seat. The Forester was in an accident and totalled, so my qualifications for looking at a new car were: more room in back seat, good gas mileage, manual transmission, AWD, among other things.

According to the data, the CR-V had a slightly larger back seat for my three kids, so this was my reason for buying it in the end, even though my gut told me to go with another Forester.

The more I drive it, the more I dislike the CR-V. The gas mileage on the highway isn't as bad as some of the larger SUV's, but not nearly as good as the Forest. I'm averaging about 24 MPG on the highway with the CR-V, compared to about 30 MPG with the Forester.

The AWD doesn't seem to help much either, at least with regular driving. It handles and feels more like a Front Wheel drive, which I dislike.

Acceleration with the manual transmission, especially going into 1st & 2nd gears is choppy. I could understand if I was a beginner driver, but I've been driving manual for almost 30 yrs now. Car seems to hesitate when accelerating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th January, 2006

5th Jan 2011, 18:25

"The AWD doesn't seem to help much either, at least with regular driving. It handles and feels more like a Front Wheel drive.."

Yes, the AWD is very disappointing compared to my previous CR-V.

Plus: Larger than previous CRV.

Negative: Weak gas mileage and not a good snow car.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews