2004 Honda Element Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2004 Honda Element LX 160 hp gas from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 160 hp gas Automatic
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Great car faulty windshields

Faults:

My windshield cracked at 4700 miles.

General Comments:

This car developed a two foot crack in the bottom center of the windshield.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

14th Jul 2005, 08:32

1700 Miles - Windshield cracked from small rock. Drove a 2001 Celica for 4 years and was hit all the time by flying debris... Never cracked! Don't know what to do other than write Honda.

2004 Honda Element EXS 160hp 2.4 Liter from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 160hp 2.4 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired71 miles
Most recent distance330 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Pure perfection

Faults:

We have owned our 2004 Element now for a week and so far so good!

The only down fall is that the AM stations do not come in very well.

Called the dealership this morning to get some kind of an idea why this is happening and was informed that it is a problem with the Element and Pilot.

General Comments:

Very well designed SUV. I love the fact that there are no carpets to keep clean and that the seats are waterproof.

I would love the Element more if it came in Yellow.

Very nice SUV, handles well and is good on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2004

2004 Honda Element EX from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Faults:

Within the first 3 months of owning the car, I had a cracked windshield. I don't remember a rock hitting it, but the dealer tried to show me the tiniest spot which they claimed cause the crack.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2004

2004 Honda Element EX 2.4 liter 160-hp i-VTEC from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter 160-hp i-VTEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

I'm very satisfied

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

The car is everything it's supposed to be, especially with the manual transmission. Handles beautifully. Instrument panel somewhat difficult to see in bright sunlight when the driver is wearing sunglasses. The EX model lacks storage in the front, but the sub-woofer is worth the inconvenience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2004

2004 Honda Element EX AWD 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carSubaru Forester

Faults:

As of this posting my Element is only two weeks old.

General Comments:

Although this is a new car it is one of about 30 Honda's that I have purchased over the last 20 years.

My only non Honda purchase was in 1999 for a Subaru Forester... which I drove for almost 6 years and ended with 95,000.

The Element for my driving needs (I am 72 years old) is most suitable for the following reasons:

1. I have a 2 year old Golden Retriever the flat back floor is a wonder for him;

2. The interior is very easy to keep clean;

3. The Element is larger and heavier than the 2005 Forester;

4. The Element rides car-like;

5. The instrument panel is excellent;

6. The radio and 7 speakers produces an enjoyable sound.

The Element is an excellent buy for the money it cost me $19,600 minus $5,000 for my Forester.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2004

2004 Honda Element EX-S, AWD 2.4L i-VTEC II from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L i-VTEC II Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

WORTH EVERY PENNY...and then some!

Faults:

Driver and front passenger seats rocking back and forth due to worn plastic bushings!

General Comments:

Awesome XUV! Love it. Great fuel mileage, awesome view for the driverm nothing you can't do in this baby. Tough interior, super quality inside and out, everything works great but the seats (comfort is there and quality) but they rock back and forth just enough to be noticeable during breaking and acceleration.

It handles great on corners and high-speed, same goes for city driving. Good stereo, and overall a 99% wonder!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2004

23rd Aug 2004, 09:04

If the seats are already loose at 6,000 miles, what will they be like at 60,000?

2004 Honda Element Y AWD 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Most recent distance6000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Summary:

Better than a gas guzzling american model, but could be better

Faults:

The strut bearing on the front wheel was defective from the start. every time I turned at low speeds there was a rumbling kind of noise.

General Comments:

This is a good vehicle if you want to do some light camping or haul stuff around town. the gas mileage is so-so and the performance is okay, but not stellar. the mechanical problems I've had are discouraging since this is a new car. I deliberatly waited for the second year to try and avoid this kind of problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2004

17th Jan 2008, 21:04

I have the same rumbling noise in my 2004 element as well, the mechanic said it happens with every Element and also the Pilot. Annoying!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 21 reviews