2004 Honda Element LX from North America

Summary:

The perfect all in on city car-truck-thing, that looks like boot.

Faults:

The Windshield is not very durable. It also eats blades.

Its noisy at high speed.

General Comments:

Very fun car to own. I can carry a washing machine, mulch, Giants TV's, Kayaks, or kids. Its vomit proof too. The optional washable seats are great for the unexpected projectile barf from a child. Or if you have no children your drunk friend in the back seat. Plus when he spills his beer (again), cleanup is a snap.

It handles well, and it fast enough to hold its ground when merging onto the interstate. Its not a race-car, but given the way it handles at high speed, you would not want to race one of these anyways. This car is great for common chores. It can tow a trailor and did okay in the mountains.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2006

7th May 2006, 10:20

Hi,

We have a 17 foot Mad River canoe that is very heavy. We are thinking of getting an Element, has anyone carried a canoe on it or had any experiences carrying something heavy on top of it? Please share.

Thanks,

:)

2004 Honda Element from North America

Summary:

Good even though class action suit

Faults:

Windshield cracked.

General Comments:

NOTE: A class action suit was filed August 4, 2004, in California Superior Court, Los Angeles County, alleging a design defect in 2003-2004 Honda Element windshields that leads to cracking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2006

4th Jan 2018, 22:53

Safety glass has saved hundreds of thousands of lives since it was adopted long ago. In the process of installing windshield safety glass at the factory, a small amount of stress is typical.

All windshields are under a little stress. It's normal. The rubber holding the glass puts a bit of stress on the glass of every car made. Since the first safety glass was adopted, this has been the case.

This case is only being filed to allow a group of technically wet behind the ears lawyers to start throwing mud at the wall... to see if any of it sticks.

On technical grounds... this case has no merit.

2004 Honda Element from North America

Faults:

We are also having problems with the tires. We are on our third set of tires and have 50,000 miles on the car.

We love the Element, it's a great car and fits our active lifestyle (I once put five kayaks in the back) but this tire issue is an expensive annoyance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd January, 2006

2004 Honda Element EX from North America

Summary:

The Element is fun and suited for adventure, but so far has not held up to its namesake

Faults:

Front struts were faulty.

Computer malfunction causing the engine light to go on.

Ball bearings in the transmission are still being worked on.

General Comments:

I've had three problems with my Element. The engine light was a because the idle was set too high and fell out of parameters of what the "brain" felt acceptable.

The strut in the front was loose. The mechanic at Honda said he has seen that issue before on Pilots and Elements.

The ball bearing in the transmission is a much more complicated. I've had the front axles replaced, the drive shaft and currently the transmission. There is a sound at about 50 miles an hour that occurs only when you ease up on the gas. It's a maddening thing because it's not always there. Thank god the mechanic heard it. My car has been in the shop for two weeks now...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

2004 Honda Element from North America

Summary:

Great utility vehicle. Decent mileage and can get big stuff from Home depot

Faults:

Like many I have had to get one new windshield due to a rock. I had the window replaced by my insurance company preferred show (big mistake I think). following the replacement of the windshield I have had the side molding around the windshield come off. I was wondering if anyone else has had that problem following replacement of windshield.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2005

24th Apr 2006, 11:55

Yes I had a similar problem after My Insurance selected windshield guy fixed it. There was a funny whistle coming from what I thought was the tweeter speaker on the drivers side when I drove fast. It bugged me and so I traced the noise back to the loose mounting of the windshield frame exterior plastic cover. I took it back and they mounted it better the next time, problem solved. It has those white injection molded clips to hold it on and sometime they break instead of grab, one had broken loose.

18th Dec 2009, 10:41

Yeah I have to take mine to the dealer... I had the drivers side plastic molding fly off while driving... They replaced it, but it started rattling, so I'm taking it back again today.