2002 Honda Odyssey EX from North America


Save yourself the headache


Brakes at 15k. Lower intake gasket at 17k, Steering column repair at 18k, Power steering pump 20k. Van has numerous bad connections in the electrical system.

General Comments:

Van has had numerous problems. Save yourself the headache.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2003

2002 Honda Odyssey LX 3.5 24valve VTEC from North America


One of the best cars I have ever driven


I bought the car new (2003 model) and went over it with a fine tooth comb. I waxed it the day after I bought it (suggested in the owners manual) checked all fluids, tires (including the spare), checked all buttons and motors and the only thing that was wrong was the parking brake light didn't light up on the dash. I took it to the dealer who found that the plug at the parking brake switch had come undone. The service manager showed me where it was in case it happened again. Otherwise the car is absolutely perfect.

General Comments:

The engine is exceptionally smooth and powerful. I usually push a car hard (after the break in period is over) but on the Oddyssey, I barely have to press the accelerator to get the the power I want. This is the opposite of the Fords I have had in the recent past (4 Taurus's in the last 5 years, plus a '93 Mercury Tracer, and a '91 Dodge Caravan).

The Transmission shifts very smoothly and has the grade logic feature which means it holds the car back when braking down a hill. This means that the transmission downshifts to create compression braking rather than making me use the regular brakes. If I don't wan the downshift, I simply let off the brake for a few seconds. It is hilly in my area and this is a great feature to have. I believe it will save on brakes and lessen the chances of warped brake rotors (which is a common problem for Taurus and Caravans).

The seats are very comfortable for my family and I. The kids love taking the Honda out on long drives. There is a tremendous amount of storage room behind the third row seat.

Honda has put a lot of thought in this car and the many comfort features stand out and make this a car that is a joy to drive and a joy to ride in. It is powerful, quiet, smooth, very roomy, has a strong heater system and powerful fans, and drives like a car costing much, much more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2003

2002 Honda Odyssey from North America


Overpriced and overrated


The paint is cracked on the roof of the van.

We had it in the shop for warranty work 12 times in 11 months. Two times for a brake situation, tailpipe, power windows, power locks, power sliding door etc...

General Comments:

Poor customer relations by Honda

Enough minor and major headaches to keep you in and out of the repair shop on fairly regular basis.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2003

2002 Honda Odyssey LX 3.5L from North America


Seriously overrated


Pull to right. Tire rotation did not correct this.

Severe torque steer. Steering wheel would sometimes turn 50 degrees right or more upon acceleration. Any acceleration, even moderate, would induce enough torque steer to require diver correction to avoid changing lanes.

Horrible paint quality. Silver paint excessively blotchy in one area, appearing to have been repainted at factory.

Incompetent dealer service and arrogant attitude by American Honda. Unwilling to admit to any of above problems until forced by the BBB, and even then they only admitted to torque steer problem. Honda field engineer "fixed" by setting alignment outside factory specs!!

VTEC mechanism has started making loud noise at 4200rpm and higher.

Drivers seat does not latch in fore/aft adjustment position on both sides unless driver forces seat forward or back to get both sides to click in. Dealer says its normal!

Sliding doors (non-electric) stick shut, the gasket must be occasionally greased.

General Comments:

Bought van due to past experience with Honda cars. Pulled to right when new, but I trusted a repair would be simple and bought it anyway. A year later, and now Honda has been forced to buy it back, but only after being cornered by my pointing out to the Better Business Bureau that their "fix" was to misalign the vehicle. I am stilled completely stunned by their attitude toward a loyal Honda customer.

Engine provides unmatched combination of power, fuel efficiency and low emissions.

Logical, useful interior layout, especially the fold-flat third row seat.

Cheap, hard plastic dashboard. It's molded in black plastic and painted to match interior color. Paint is easily scratched, showing black in scratched area. Very very cheap, especially for purchase price.

Paint on the silver is unacceptably uneven and blotchy. It is easily visible in direct sunlight where the color coat had been touched up before the clear coat was applied, just behind the sliding doors. Paint is also easily permanently damaged by bird droppings. Orange peel is a bit excessive on mine, but I've seen much worse on other Odysseys in the showroom.

Transmission on mine has been perfect, but the reputation is growing for transmission problems, and this will hurt resale value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

18th Mar 2003, 17:31

I have also had a problem with the paint on the dashboard flaking off in spots. I bought my 2002 Odyssey slightly used from the dealer and the dash had horrible looking black areas where the paint was missing. They said the previous owner probably used some chemicals to clean the dash and this caused the problem. So they installed a new dash and now its happening again. I don't know how they get started, but once an area begins to flake it just keeps growing if you rub up against it. This appears to be a defect in the binding of the paint to the plastic.

12th Sep 2003, 21:25

We purchased a 2002 Honda Odyssey in October 2001. With a two year old and expecting twins we were told it would be a great reliable family car. We have been very unpleasantly surprised.

To date our service invoices are many including failure and replacement of both the radio and the in-vehicle entertainment system, a bent rim (manufacturer defect), but most importantly we are currently awaiting it's FOURTH transmission! The Odyssey has 25,000 miles on it and we have owned it for less than 24 months!

I contacted the American Honda Motor Corporation approx. 1 month ago with little assistance and considerable negative attitude by the "customer service" representative in this matter and now have pursued legal action with regards to the lemon law.

Apparently Hondas are fine when they work, but if there's a problem... customer satisfaction is not a priority!

11th Nov 2003, 22:04

Honda so called quality is not what it used to be. Mine clunks, torque steers, and groans to a stop. The power doors often fail to close. Splotchy paint too. Dealers unhelpful and rude. Another brand for the next car.