1992 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1992 Honda Prelude vtec 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Brilliant and under-rated performance car

Faults:

Very little.

New battery at 65000, and a new radiator at 75000.

General Comments:

On paper, our 3 year old BMW 3 litre sport with M suspension is faster.

Forget it. The Honda Prelude may be 14 years old, but on Hampshire lanes and old Roman roads, it's untouchable. The handling and overall performance is incredible. Honda have never made a better car, and it still looks sexy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2007

1992 Honda Prelude Si 2.2 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance166600 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

James Bonds weekend car

Faults:

Previous tinting starting to bubble.

Replacement horn plastic buttons way too expensive $125 for four bits of plastic.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever bought replacing '84 model. And I'm old 45.

Very, very quick in high revs.

Got beaten by some turbo/nitrous rice the other day.

Best shaped car in it's time and present for the price.

And I got it cheap A$4000 in Perth Australia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2006

1992 Honda Prelude Si 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Fun, reliable, and spirited little car!

Faults:

Main Relay pooped out

Passenger side CV boot was replaced

Vent controller rod detached

Interior light was flaky

Don't know the mileage when these things happened because the odometer didn't work.

General Comments:

Although I had a lot of little things go wrong with this car, it was the love of my life. It was very fun, especially cornering with the 4WS.

It was very reliable apart from the main relay incident. If you are not familiar with that, it's when your car won't start when it's hot in the cabin area. After that was replaced I had no starting problems. It would idle rough, I think, due to a stuck EGR valve.

The gas mileage is pretty good (26 hwy, 22 city) for the 160 hp you get out of it.

I have a few suggestions if you are planning to buy a Prelude. 1st, go with the manual tranny. The automatic is a manual wannabe. It shifts kind of rough to give you a more sporty feel. But if you want the sporty feel, get the manual! 2nd, Get a 'lude with a Vtec. You get 30 more horsies and the same fuel economy.

Overall, I would buy another Prelude in a heartbeat!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2006

7th Nov 2006, 16:13

Good review! I am looking to buy me a Honda Prelude, but I still don't know too much about it. Is it reliable? Is it fast? I want a sporty type of car that is fast (at least pretty decent fast) but can carry more than 3 people, is good on gas and looks good. Do you think this can be the car for me?

26th Sep 2009, 18:58

A Prelude is only a 4 person car.

1992 Honda Prelude petrol 2.2 DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission petrol 2.2 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Great working mans sport car sorry to see them not made anymore

Faults:

FUEL Pump would stop pumping. Pricey to remove and replace.

Newtiming belt 140000k

Dist cap 170000k

Rear brake pads 160000k

Ignition switch burnt out 150000k.

General Comments:

The prelude is a quick reliable car

Likes 96/98 octane petrol

4w/s great and good for tight parking

This car has a factory fitted traction control unit and has a BB 2.2 engine.

Fuel injection, DOHC

Front seats good fit and hold you firm

Small amount of steering drift on straight road.

Changed headlights to new type.

Fun to drive nice lines and well put togethur.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

1992 Honda Prelude Si from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles

Summary:

Runs flawlessly when started, however trouble starting after in the sun

Faults:

I bought this car with 190,000 miles on it, so it's hard to determine if the condition of the car was due to how it's manufactured or because the way the previous owner drove it. Nonetheless, when I got it, the original paint job was faded. I think this was because he left it out in the snow. However, when you wax it, it looks somewhat new.

I don't think there was any major mechanical problems with the car. other than it had to be smogged, which cost $900. I think it could have cost less, probably at most $300. This was to replace the modified intake. Other than that, I think the only other major problem is that it doesn't start well when it's left in the sun. I've heard this a few times with this type of model. I believe it's due to a fuel injection sensor. I took it to a mechanic and he agrees. This makes me wonder a little whether I would want to buy future cars with fuel injection. However, it could just be the prelude. At 190K, there is a slight transmission problem. The transmission "kicks" when it goes from 1st to 2nd and is a bit rough.

However, once it gets going, it performs excellently. And I think that's the thing with this car. The only real problem is getting it started after leaving it in the sun. But once it's on, it'll stay on. It's very smooth on the highways and roads. Everything else works mechanically and I would not hesitate to drive this car across the country. I would only hesitate to turn the car off not knowing, if it'll be harder to turn back on.

This car has 210,000 miles on it and has been through 2 accidents, both not my fault. It's not worth it to get it fixed because it has so many miles, but I'm quite surprised it still runs so powerfully given it's been badly bruised. This is what gives me the confidence that it is truly a good solid car. (Although, I think there could be a better job done at the fuel injection thing and restarting time).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2005

3rd Aug 2005, 21:12

We had the same problem on a 1992 Honda Prelude SI with 160K miles. It would start and run fine on cool days. On hot days, would not restart after sitting in sun. Problem was main fuel relay that is located under the steering column. It is easy to change and sells for around $75 dollars. You can also tap it and it will likely engage until you get the new part.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 28 reviews