1992 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1992 Honda Prelude V TI-R 2.2 VTec (H22) from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 VTec (H22) Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 kilometres
Most recent distance121000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Pleasure to drive

Faults:

Leaking oil from sump gasket. Cost to replace was high.

Front disks warped.

Had modification done to balance shaft seal to stop it popping out as per service bulletin.

General Comments:

Handling is like on rails.

Economical with 28mpg (imperial) town running and 36mpg open road being regularly achieved. Fitted K&N filter.

Very rare car with V-Tec and auto as most are manual. Also has Twin Airbags, 4WS, ABS, Traction control.

Front seats comfortable. Rear seats are a joke.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2002

1992 Honda Prelude Si 2.3 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance166532 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

One of Honda's most extreme power machines and the horse power for your money

Faults:

Brakes squeak when the rotors are cold but then fade away, even though rotors and pads were just replaced.

Air condition makes a whistling noise when vents are put on max.

Dash and console like to squeak also from time to time.

General Comments:

My car is getting roughly 20mph could be better.

But it is probably because I added a cold air intake system, along with new NGK platinum plugs, accel wires, and a APEX-i N1 cat-back exhaust.

This car has the potential to be an extreme street machine with some minor modification. I can already smoke '99-'01 civic Si and even a new GT celica.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2002

1992 Honda Prelude 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A very fast sports car

Faults:

I have had to get my radiator replaced because it cracked.

I had to get a new gas hose.

General Comments:

I really like this car it turns extremely smooth around sharp curves.

I love the way it looks on the outside.

The back seats are very uncomfortable and need to have more room in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

1992 Honda Prelude Si VTEC JDM Version 2.2Litre VTEC DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2Litre VTEC DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 kilometres
Most recent distance104000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Barina

Summary:

Quickest 4cyl Non turbo FWD Car for the price

Faults:

Clutch was slipping badly at 98,000kms, replaced with a no name brand one from a local company.

Plastic bit in front of the gearstick has cracked and also a bit of plastic has cracked above the door handle inside the car.

Bad shudder through steering when braking from high speed driving.

Factory Rear speakers died within 2 weeks after installing a CD head unit.

General Comments:

Fast Car, I have added a new air intake pipe with a k&n filter, 2.5inch Exhaust. My best 1/4 mile time is 14.73 @95.3mph.

This is one of the quickest non turbo cars I could find here in New Zealand. I went for non turbo due to insurance rates etc.

The seats are uncomfortable on a long trip, the back seats are a joke and aint worth using.

The fuel economy is bad, I get 155kms per 20litres around town. and that's driving it gently.

I would prefer an SIR Civic as it would almost perform as well, but use less fuel and have room in the back for passengers and still handle quite well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2002

1992 Honda Prelude VTEC 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 45

Summary:

High (Peformance) luxury bargain

Faults:

Sports mode on gearbox is a bit dodgy, but I never use this anyway because it chews the fuel.

General Comments:

This car has about the best handling you can get for a front wheel drive car, whilst (mantaining) good comfort levels. I drive it hard and have never got out of shape - its very safe. Traction control is brilliant.

The 197bhp engine screams to 7500rpm and wants to keep going, brilliant acceleration whatever gear. Will hit the 112mph speed limiter in 3rd (import). First gear is a bit long though (50mph), and acceleration struggles in lower RPMs, but above 30mph and this thing shifts. Shifting from 1st to 2nd misses the VTEC slightly and therefore impairs acceleration for a moment (also 3rd to 4th), but you can always keep it in gear for a little bit longer.

The dash looks a bit like kit, but I love it, also everything is digital/electric (even the heating system). There is no room in the back at all, but the boot is OK.

I love everything about this car especially the looks, but the automatic does my nut in sometimes, so I'm going to get the same car as a manual, then it will be even faster!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2002

6th May 2005, 19:11

Honda is nothing. the 92 saab 9000 cs sitting in my garage is pushing 220 hp and its stock. performance chip will knock it up to 265 hp.

20th Jun 2005, 16:32

I don't think anyone in a Prelude forum cares about Saab. Anyways, you're lucky, in the states we didn't get the VTEC until a few years later, just after I had purchased an Si. I don't like the 5 speed too much, highway cruising @ 80mph is at like 4000rpm. It needs another gear.

28th Oct 2005, 17:10

Saab? That Saab probably has about a 1000lbs. on the Prelude. Making it much slower, or at best equal with the Honda.

25th Feb 2009, 00:45

The Saab has a turbo, a Prelude does not need a turbo to have as much as power. Find the error.

17th Jun 2009, 01:27

His turbo car is slower then a natural air induction engine. Vtec is like a turbo without a turbo, Saab wishes it has this kind of efficiency. Still today, almost 20 years later, 4 cyl american engine are far from 200 hp. Why is Honda so advanced?

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 28 reviews