1992 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1992 Honda Prelude Si 2.3 L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

It costs a little more but is worth every penny

Faults:

I had to have a synchro replaced in the tranny at 90000.

General Comments:

This car is very quick, handles well, and gets good gas mileage. A lot of people don't care for the dashboard, but I think it gives you a very good view of the road. My favorite thing about the car is the fact that they are pretty rare. I see more Corvettes than Preludes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2001

25th Apr 2005, 12:49

Could it be that there have been a lot more 'Vettes sold than Preludes?

2nd Jun 2005, 21:31

I think that's the point he/she was trying to make.

21st Feb 2006, 03:22

More vets than ludes? maybe in the states, but not here, tons of ludes here, I did hear about how they didn't sell to well in the states maybe that's why there are more vets on the road. I don't like domestic cars, but the vet has to be the best domestic car ever made.

1992 Honda Prelude Si non VTEC 2.2i from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2i Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160724 miles
Most recent distance162926 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Honda is the best and Fords can eat my dust!!!

Faults:

I have had no problems with this car except the fact that after a new set of tires and rims and a perfect alignment, it still drags to the right very slowly when I brake.

General Comments:

I love this car and plan on keeping it for a while or until it breaks down which probably won't happen for another hundred thousand miles. Plus it is very fast and handles good when you're showing off how crazy a driver you are to your friends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2001

23rd Jan 2002, 22:24

I purchased a 92 prelude 5 days ago and it is everything you said it was and more. I love the car! Any tips on adding components to the engine?

Dan.

28th Jan 2002, 00:41

Start with a cold air intake... I recommend an IceMan, they are the best in my mind, then move on to the restrictive stock exhaust; if you don't care about emissions, hollow out your catalytic convertor, or put a straight pipe on in its place. There are also quite a few free mods you can do.

Enjoy, you purchased a great car, and you should get many years of fun out of it.

30th Mar 2006, 05:11

I have just brought a 92 prelude and it is restricted how do you get rid of it.

1992 Honda Prelude Si (Japanese Import) 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56 kilometres
Most recent distance79 kilometres
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

Great car but greedy on petrol

Faults:

The only fault I have had is that the coin tray broke.

The paint quality is poor. I have had to have it buffed twice while I have owned it. I am told red is a bad colour.

General Comments:

A very nice car to drive. Fast and comfortable.

The air conditioning system is particularly impressive.

Only disappointment is dire fuel consumption. Around town I get about 19 to the gallon which isn't funny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2000

25th Feb 2004, 02:37

Dear JDM prelude owner.

Recently I purchased 93 JDM prelude 2.2 non VTEC. I would kindly ask for your advice regarding this car: where I can find specifications or other useful information about it.

Is it twin cam? SOHC or DOHC?..

Also I need distributor for this car (original was stolen). Will TD52U fit? Or I need only TD59U?

I will be grateful for your response.

My e-mail ezekas@yahoo.com.

Regards,

Egis.

1992 Honda Prelude VTEC 2.2 VTEC petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 2.2 VTEC petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Some b*****d ran his key down the length of the car. Otherwise nothing has gone wrong. Rock solid reliability if a FSH is maintained.

General Comments:

Pound for pound one of the best performing and most reliable motors available for realistic money. Prices lower now due to Jap imports, many of which are excellent (great specs too).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

1992 Honda Prelude 2.3 injection petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 2.3 injection petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10

Faults:

Battery, exhaust, windscreen wipers, tyres. All of them normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

Extremely comfortable car with the only extra missing being air conditioning. Suspension slightly hard but holds the road beautifully and becomes a much more comfortable ride in the higher speed areas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

25th Mar 2004, 08:27

I don't know what year you drive, but I own a 1992 Prelude 4WS SI, with AC and all the works. Also the suspension is perfect.

1992 Honda Prelude SEi-4WS 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing at all!

General Comments:

This model looks stunning in red with 16" alloys and rear spoiler. Not as quick for a 2.0 litre car. Excellent extras included such as AC, Power steering, Electrics...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

3rd Jul 2002, 17:38

I have driven a Honda Prelude four wheel steering car only, but once. Ever since, I have been hooked on the performance. I loved the Prelude design and the red color so much, I went out and bought a red 1993 Honda Prelude VTEC. A whole heck of a lot of power!

13th Sep 2002, 08:42

The VTec is an astonishing machine, especially considering you can buy a 10 year old one (import) for £2000 in mint condition. Don't understand the various moans about fuel consumption. It is an incredibly efficient engine and if you keep it under 5000 revs it won't be that thirsty. However, if it bothers you that much why buy a 200BHP sports car in the first place?

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 28 reviews