1998 Hyundai Accent Reviews

1998 Hyundai Accent XS (carb) 1.3 from South Africa

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired286000 kilometres
Most recent distance321000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai H-100

Summary:

Fantastic, reliable and affordable!!!

Faults:

Critical running parts had to be replaced i.e. wheel bearings, clutch, cambelt, shocks, brake pads and reverse gear linkage.

General Comments:

For a high mileage 1.3 carburetted engine, the performance on this little beast is completely amazing.

Engine has never been opened, but still sounds as quiet as a boss's fart.

It's been driven to Zimbabwe about 8 times (total of about 16,000kms, flawlessly) and at 321,000k's on the clock, is still going strong.

Cheap maintenance and spares. Replacement parts total cost amounted to R5000/ (+/-US$625) including labour. Downright cheap compared to a 1998 Toyota Corolla cambelt change at the same amount!

Low fuel consumption, although it gets slightly inconsistent due to deposits in the carb.

Hyundai has definitely become my vehicle manufacturer of choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2013

1998 Hyundai Accent Coupe i 1.3i from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

One of the best cars you can own on a budget!

Faults:

Only maintenance parts like brakes (replaced once only).

Timing belt, which was due a change.

Nothing much has actually "gone wrong" with the car at all, it's been running for over 20,000 miles with a crack in the engine casing, so can't fault it at all!

General Comments:

For a 1.3, it is very nippy, and considering it's done 128k, the engine has done very well to still have this power!

It still looks great even now, and looks sporty with its spoiler, the seats are comfortable enough, and the car is very easy to maintain. I have changed lots on the car (for aesthetic purposes only) like new panels, and it is so easy to do!

Probably the best car I will ever own for the cost!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2011

1998 Hyundai Accent Coupe i 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Very reliable, but basic and now looks dated. Bargain of the century

Faults:

The clutch was replaced about 2 years ago.

The winding mechanism on the drivers door failed (common problem).

Sometimes the rear demister doesn't switch on.

General Comments:

The car is pretty basic in equipment; no PAS, ABS or electric windows.

However I paid 750 pounds for this car 5 years ago, and have only had to replace tyres, back box of the exhaust, and the clutch.

I have put 55000 miles on the car in those 5 years, and it has never failed to start. The engine is quite responsive, but can be a bit thirsty sometimes.

Noisy on the motorway, but around town it's great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2009

1998 Hyundai Accent Sport 1.5L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Incredible at any price!

Faults:

Not a thing, except the paint scratched fairly easily, despite 200 000 miles of back roads, hauling utility trailers, a wife, two kids and a dog.

General Comments:

Excellent gas mileage, although I admit I went up a heat range on the plugs and burn Premium gasoline. Loads of power both towing and at highway speed. Great handling especially of bad road.

Changed brake pads and shoes at 150 000 and that is it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2008

1998 Hyundai Accent LS 1.3 from Greece

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.7 / 10
Distance when acquired4 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres

Summary:

Expensive for its bad quality, no after sales service, a bad choice

Faults:

I had non-acceptable serious problems with engine, although I drive my car "gently" and I go regularly only to Authorized Dealer Service.

Problems like burning lots of oil inside the engine, the car once couldn't start (remain "dead") because it had lost some liquids, etc.

General Comments:

It has some quite goof technical specifications, but the construction quality is bad, and that appears at the noises of the plastic parts, the noise from the engine, the problems of the mechanical parts, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2008

1998 Hyundai Accent Alaska Coupe 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Most recent distance69789 miles

Summary:

Very good car, quick, cheap to run and user friendly

Faults:

Oil Filter came loose and was dripping Oil - Fixed simply by tightening.

Drivers side window seal loosened resulting in water getting into window electrics. Had to be replaced.

General Comments:

The car is very quick for the small engine. (84bhp with a 1.3 engine) although it can struggle with some weight. I've had it top out about 118mph on flat road, not sure what downhill would be.

The pace however is wasted by the fact the car has extremely thin wheels and suffers from the extreme ability to wheel spin on almost every quick pull away.

Engine is a tad noisy at higher speeds giving the feeling of "being in a too lower gear".

Car can be very inconsistent on fuel consumption but averages about 41mpg.

Very spacey inside, with ample room for 5.

Very cheap to run and parts aren't that expensive either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2008

6th Nov 2008, 18:51

I completely agree, it could do with better wheels, as the standard ones are too thin. However it has very good acceleration for its engine size and car size. All in all, a good car.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 32 reviews