1998 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1998 Hyundai Accent GL 1.5 I think from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 I think Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance93000 kilometres

Summary:

Good performance/mileage, but lousy dealer service

Faults:

In one word, my main problem is 'Paint'. When I bought the car it was in part based on my once having owned an Excel that lived up to my expectations beautifully. The Accent is not so lucky.

I first noticed last year that the paint was starting to show rust spots. I wasn't too worried at first and questioned the dealer and he said just a little surface rust. The car was out of warranty so I just covered the spots with a little Hyundai touch up paint and didn't think too much about it until this summer. The spots are back with a lot of extra ones thrown in. In fact, rust is breaking out all over the car, but the worst areas are under the front hood and inside the trunk where it touches the rubber. Also along the window seams on the doors.

I asked the dealer about it and again he said surface rust. I thought about it for a few weeks and started checking. Some of the spots are surface rust, but most are the early signs of perforation. My car is outside the surface rust warranty so I approached Hyundai on the perforation warranty which is 5 years with 'no' mileage limit. The service manager said they would not do anything until there were holes in my car from perforation. Needless to say, I am taking this to Hyundai. I am now convinced I am the victim of a poor paint job.

One more thing, overall performance is great, but the service is lousy and the car's front end rattles too much even though it does not need repair. I have bought my very last Hyundai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2001

9th Nov 2002, 20:39

Mi girlfriend also have a Hyundai accent and after only two years some rust appeared on the doors. So for the others parts of the car there's no rust.

I think they use poor material for the body to make the cheapest car possible and for that reason the rust is coming sooner.

29th Sep 2005, 16:39

We have had our Hyundai Sonata '05 since April (not quite six months) and have a serious problem with rust spots in the paint, most of them on the trunk, some scattered elsewhere. I am sick about it. Will call the dealer tomorrow and bring the vehicle in to show. Sure hope the warranty covers this. I love the Sonata, but this is ridiculous. I've never had this happen with a car, no matter how long I had it (well, there was the 13-year-old Datsun with some rust issues, but 13 YEARS).

1998 Hyundai Accent GSi 1.5 SOHC supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Awesome very quick car. Can handle a beating

Faults:

The only thing that has ever gone wrong with it in three years is the first cooling fan went out. There was still the second one so it was no big deal, but that's it. Oh and the dealer fixed it right away for free. Other than that, nothing has gone wrong with it at all.

General Comments:

I run this car sooooo hard and I supercharged the engine and race with it. I run the quarter mile in 13.4 seconds with an automatic that has been converted to an autostick.

The car I have, the GSi, handles so well on factory suspension I didn't even bother to upgrade it. It corners great at high speeds.

The engine puts up with a real beating from me. This is a great great car. I love it. Wouldn't trade it for another car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2001

27th Jun 2001, 03:31

Hey I was wondering where you got the supercharger from? And how much it cost? How much to get it put on? What else did you had to do to the engine so you could have it supercharged?

Thanks, please reply to me at jes34p@yahoo.com

I am thinking of putting one on my car.

9th Sep 2001, 08:09

Yes, I'd definitely like to know where to get a supercharger for it and how much it would cost. The 92 hp is just not enough. I want more power!

1st May 2003, 13:11

Hi, I was wondering if you could tell me where you got the supercharger from? E-mail is joeman205@yahoo.com thanks.

16th Feb 2004, 13:32

If you guys want more power buy a car that has more stock power. This car is built for gas mileage not to take to the track. If you guys want a little hp increase try some performance exhaust and maybe a higher flow air filter. If I was going to spend the money for these types of things I would have just bought a nicer car ie: WRX.

Just a thought.

14th Apr 2010, 14:24

I bought one for 300 dollars a year ago and have not put a penny into fixing it yet. I'm going to stay with Hyundai for a while.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 32 reviews