1998 Hyundai Accent sedan from North America

Summary:

If someone tries to sell you this car, run!

Faults:

- The fan that blows air into the car from the heat/ac died. That would have cost $350 to replace.

- The front passenger door handle snapped off.

- A few months later, the front driver door handle broke off.

- The axles needed replacing.

- The engine block split.

- Transmission was bad.

- Brakes were bad.

- Frequently stalled, even when driving down the road at 60mph.

- Engine needed flushing.

There car needed so many repairs that the decision was made to junk it.

General Comments:

The sole redeeming value about this car was gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2008

3rd May 2011, 20:10

Sounds like you never did routine maintenance on this bullet-proof car. Each and every car requires daily maintenance.

5th May 2011, 14:38

Driver's door handle broke, and later my 2 back door locks broke in a space of 1 week. We do not handle the car roughly at all. The car stalls occasionally. It may be something to do with the timing. I had to replace the engine also after the crankshaft wore out the bearing.

I've owned previous older high mileage cars that don't require these kind of repairs. These cars are definitely not built to last. You have to replace parts often.

1998 Hyundai Accent GL 1.5L Inline4Cylinder from North America

Summary:

Best Car To Buy For The Money! Awesome Value!

Faults:

Check Engine Light Stays On For O2/EGR Related Reasons.

Tires Replaced (One had side-wall leak)

General Needs (Tires, Lube, Wipers, etc.)

Only thing major is clutch is slowly going out - but it has been like that for the past year and still ticking - just have to feather it more than a good one.

General Comments:

Definitely the best value I could ever get in a vehicle. I paid $600, plus new tires and general upkeep and it keeps going fine.

Interior is nice.

Starts and runs great - not perfect - but it also never fails - love it!

Pretty quick for a car like this - I am still amazed by it's speediness when I need it to go!

Gets decent gas mileage (30-40mpg) - would probably do better if I wanted to waste the money on the miscellaneous EGR repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2007

1998 Hyundai Accent LS 1.5 - 12 Valve from North America

Summary:

Tough car and good on gas

Faults:

Brakes and back struts went at 160 000.

Emergency brake snapped at 200 000.

Starter went at 195 000.

Alternator went at 197 000.

Driver seat warn threw.

Sway bars and control arms.

General Comments:

Excellent car.

Rust isn't too bad.

Has no options at all; no air bags and power steering.

Handling is horrible, shakes when travelling more than 120 km/ an hour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

1998 Hyundai Accent Si 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

This is an underestimated / overlooked car which deserves better

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. I have had to replace two tyres since purchasing this car.

General Comments:

It is a cheap car to run, extremely reliable, and the automatic gearbox handles beautifully.

The only downside is that you have to lock your own doors, and wind your own windows, but saying that, it does make it a more secure car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2006

1998 Hyundai Accent MVI 1.5 DOHC 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Unjustly overlooked by European hatches

Faults:

Both front window regulators (electric) have needed replacing (£50 each), apparently very common on these cars!

Front brakes made squeaking sound when turning - replaced front discs and pads (general wear and tear) - £70.

Slight tappety noise when cold, disappears when warm - according to my mechanic this is due to 'lazy tappets' - will try an engine flush to see if I can solve this.

Gear linkage ever so slightly worn, but still fine to drive.

Aside from this no problems whatsoever always started rain or shine.

General Comments:

Off the mark this car is actually pretty nippy, it loves to rev and actually feels rather sporty (suspension is upgraded from normal Accents so is harder, but means handling is good)

This willingness to rev however means that it is tiring on the motorway on long trips - 70mph sees nearly 4,000 rpm! It can get a little bit thirsty when travelling long distances at high speed solely due to this low gearing, however it is not designed to be a motorway cruiser!

You don't buy one of these for the comfort - it rattles and shakes over bumps - despite this it is hugely fun to drive and you always feel like you are going faster than you actually are!

The car looks good in silver with spoiler with brake light, side skirts and alloy wheels as standard. The sunroof glass panel actually comes out completely - ideal for the summer! (watch out though as the metal surround does tend to rust)

Insurance and general running costs are great - Group 7 insurance for a car with 98bhp is superb and fuel economy overall is good also. Ideal for a younger driver like myself. I am 20 and chose this over the obvious choice of a Saxo VTR as I fancied something a bit different and was pleasantly surprised!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2006

12th Jun 2006, 10:02

Another fault that I have found with my Hyundai Accident MVI is the linkage between the windscreen wipers and electric motor. It failed just when I really needed it and I would recommend people replacing the whole assembly (around £50) to be on the safe side. Apart from that I think it's a great little car, a little thirsty, but for the second-hand price it's a good deal.

25th Aug 2008, 15:29

A mate of mine had one of these a while back and used to drive me to work in it.

He and I hated it, the build quality was like something from the 1980s, the interior plastics were of such a poor quality and fit, looked as though each piece was designed separately and never destined to be all put together in the same vehicle.

The paintwork was appalling (his was the lurid yellow), in places it almost looked white! The lacquer was peeling off all over the bodywork.

The ugly body-kit was badly fitted, considering it was a factory fit.

The only redeeming feature of this truly awful car was that it was fairly nippy.