1998 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1998 Hyundai Accent 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Well built car, fun to drive, cheap to maintain

Faults:

So far, this is one of the best cars I've owned.

It does sway a little when it's windy, and does not have much horse-power.

But overall, especially with gas being as expensive as it has become, it's good to know the $18.00 dollars I put in the tank will get me 300 miles.

Yup, got to like that!

General Comments:

Good car for the cost.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2001

29th Mar 2001, 06:35

Lucky you pay only $18 to fill it up. In Britain we pay £35, around $50!! Now we DO need to worry!

28th May 2001, 05:03

In Singapore, it's S$1.40 to a litre, and I am almost to the end of my life paying for petrol bills!

David Kam

9 799 1818.

1998 Hyundai Accent GS 1.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired51 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

A good car for the money... even better value if bought used

Faults:

The heater/AC fan squeaks intermittently in the 1st position.

At 37,000 miles, a fuel injector became clogged. The car wanted to stall on the road. I added a fuel injector cleaner and that took care of it.

The "check engine" light was on for a couple days and then went off. This is probably more of a reflection on the fuel quality rather than the car itself.

General Comments:

Overall this has been a good car. The fuel economy should be better for such a small engine and light car. My girlfriend's car is a 1998 Ford Escort ZX2. That car is bigger and has a lot more power, yet gets as good - if not better gas mileage.

The car has been very reliable, and is good in cold weather climates. It always starts - even at -25F!

The handling/suspension is very good and solid.. as is the steering. However, the car is easily manipulated by a strong cross wind.

The car is great for transporting relatively large items, because the hatch opens and you can fold down the back seats.

The stereo system is surprisingly good for an inexpensive car.

Seems to be solid, in that there are few rattles and squeaks.

Acceleration is not great. However, if you get to 4,000 rpm when running through the gears, it will get up and go.

Even though the cost of acquiring this car is not too high, the cost of ownership is. The main reason is because of the rapid depreciation and disproportionately high cost of insurance for such an inexpensive car.

The rear bumper seems to be durable. I was hit from behind at 15mph and there was no damage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

1998 Hyundai Accent GL 1.3 from Singapore

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

A good first car and recommended for young couples/families

Faults:

Hissing sound from engine even when idle.

General Comments:

The experience is based on a 100km trip in a rental car:

A quantum leap from predecessor, Excel! Good handling, easy steering and gear shift. Performance average but if you want to use it for work and play, it'll suffice. Pick up is good when pushed.

Recommended for young families (5 persons comfortably) or mature families (4 adults comfortably).

Only drawback is fuel consumption, very high for a 1.3l car

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2000

1998 Hyundai Accent 1.5 liter 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter 4
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing in particular.

General Comments:

Although the car I had driven was a rental, it was the best small car I've experienced from a rental. The ride is comfortable, handling is OK, and responsive. The engine is a little bit noisy, but the cabin remains relatively quiet.

The only down side is that the steering jiggles nervously when push over 80mph. And you can tell the interior is made from cheap materials. Other wise it's a capable car and a heck of a lot better than a Geo Metro.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 1999

1998 Hyundai Accent Coupe I 1.3 12v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.3 12v petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10

Faults:

Serious rattling at high speed, inconsistent petrol consumption - sometimes 30mpg, sometimes 15mpg doing the same journey.

General Comments:

Good car - let down by poor image, horrible interior and use of low quality oil and parts when servicing. Oh yes... massive depreciation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 1999

25th Mar 2001, 15:49

I agree! Hyundai servicing is expensive but they use crappy multigrade oil. I went to Halfords. £250 for a 30,000 service, 2 expensive tyres, front brakes and an MOT including £40 oil.

As for the car, the interior and fuel economy are pretty bad. But performance is surprising for a 1.3, especially an auto and the handling is fun too!

22nd Jun 2001, 11:03

Hyundai cars tend to have problems with high speeds as the acceleration goes faulty on a lot of them.

14th Dec 2008, 19:55

Good points. (1998 MVi) very quick first time car, looks well when lowered and the right things are done to them. Full SS exhaust sounds so good on these cars and full induction kit.

Bad points. Very bad with petrol, very!!.. Leaks a lot, dampness etc in the winter!...

Have had 3 MVis in last year. And I love these cars!! :p.

Tabb.

1998 Hyundai Accent MVI 1.5 16v injection petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.5 16v injection petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Serious shudder between 60 - 80mph not solved yet; poorly fitted body kit.

General Comments:

Average car, poor build quality, poor handling, quirky throttle response and low mpg. Interior horrible, cramped and rattles a lot.

OK for price... just NOT a sports car and no SRi/GTi beater, not at ALL!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 32 reviews