2002 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 2 of 16

2002 Hyundai Accent from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carFord Aspire

Summary:

A cheap piece of tin

Faults:

I have probably spent about $1000 in maintenance per year on this car, on little things.

Then at about 60,000 miles, the air conditioning went out ($1,000 to replace).

At 98,000 miles, the car failed a smog test. Turns out that the carburetor is out, and it will cost $930 to fix it and pass the smog test.

I went online to Kelly's Blue Book and saw that the car in fair condition is worth $500. The repair shop offered me $250, saying that to get everything in really good working order, their cost to fix it would be $2000.

Also, the body is terrible - I always joke that if I poked my car with a toothpick, it would leave a serious dent.

General Comments:

I like the size - you can park this car almost anywhere.

It's an OK, basic, 1st car with absolutely no frills.

However, I don't believe I will ever buy a Hyundai again. I spent $10,000 on the car 8 years ago, and as of today it is worth $250 trade in. When things do go wrong, they are expensive to fix. I had a 5-year warranty with the dealership that never covered anything that went wrong with it, and as soon as the warranty was over, the air conditioning went out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2010

10th Aug 2013, 14:22

Carburator? I'd find a new garage!

12th Aug 2013, 00:14

A lot of my friends have had this car over the years; all have now moved onto something better (not a Hyundai).

This car does not have a carburetor; definitely has fuel injection.

These are not great cars, the positive points are that they are cheap to buy new, very cheap to buy used as they depreciate very quickly, and the engine/transmission are not too bad for the first 50-100k in most models.

Weak points are, infamously bad Hyundai dealer service and warranty, RUST, all steering and suspension components engineered extra cheaply and wear quickly, costly to replace, and replacements wear out quick too.

Also after 50k to 100k, guaranteed to have check engine light problems, transmission leaks, and good luck ever trying to get one to pass an emissions test, as the engines seem to have serious problems with that.

Usually when it comes time to repair it, the cost of repair outweighs the car.

Classic example of a disposable car...

2002 Hyundai Accent 1.6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

The car has been very reliable

Faults:

My 2002 Accent has been a wonderfully reliable car up until the last month. It has been revving at stops and while driving, with high rpms (3000), loss of acceleration, especially uphill, the car has been driving itself on the highway (I don't have cruise control). I have been very nervous driving the car lately, especially when it revs so much at stops, even in neutral. The car is not having any engine lights on, and problems don't happen for my mechanic, so he is at a loss. From what I've read, it seems that some owners have had the problem corrected after replacing the throttle sensor and speed sensor. I will be bringing it back to the mechanic tomorrow (3rd time this month).

*UPDATE*

The engine started revving for my mechanic when he was about to drive it into the shop. He replaced the THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR. I've had no problems since it was replaced. I hope this helps others. My nightmare is over =)

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable until the above problem occurred.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st September, 2010

2002 Hyundai Accent L 1.5 SOHC 12v from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC 12v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Giant pile of scrap that a charity refused to take

Faults:

Radio went out at 1,000 miles; dealer replaced.

Again at 2,000 miles, replaced with aftermarket unit.

Brakes replaced at 15,000, 28,000, 30,000, and are now going out again at 68,000. DO NOT ALLOW A DEALER TO CHANGE YOUR BRAKES!!!

Clutch replaced at 55,000 out of pocket (dealer said I had voided my warranty).

Spark plugs intermittently fail 1 at a time.

Doors do not seat/seal properly.

Replaced windshield at 3,000, 10,000, 15,000, 26,000 (many many times).

Oil pan gasket replaced at 20,000, and again this morning at 68,000.

Exhaust manifold AND gasket at 51,000.

Interior cheap plastic, scratches/scuffs/nicks/tears.

Front driver and passenger window seals replaced (under warranty thank GOD) at 8,000.

General Comments:

This car has been nothing more than a money pit for me... I paid for the car in cash in 2002 when it was brand new, and I feel like I've done nothing but service it.

Apparently the wonderful people at Hyundai thought this car was worth marketing in the U.S., even though it has achieved poor safety ratings (my car was totaled by the insurance company for hitting road debris that tore a hole in the quarter panel and set off my airbags??)

I was very good about keeping up with maintenance on the car, never missed an oil change, and even had my maintenance scheduled out for when I hit milestones for the preventative maintenance plan. After my third visit to the dealer within weeks of purchasing and getting the run around, I have found you're better off going to a family run mechanic shop that will treat you better, and will actually fix your car for fair market value. (According to Hyundai, a sensor should cost you $450 my A$$).

The car has been sitting for the last year as no one will buy it (paint has all but faded off, and the car will still start, but it will no longer shift in or out of anything other than neutral). I called to have it donated, and when the guys got there to haul it away, even THEY wouldn't take it.

My advice, DON'T buy a Hyundai, and don't be fooled by their warranty, they voided mine for something that their dealership did itself. Great service right?? Had I known about the lemon laws when I purchased this car, I would have sent it back.

My Saturn may have run hot on occasion and gone through starters, but I have never dealt with such poor customer service, or inept mechanics. If you check engine light is blinking, just park it and leave it, they tell you to just push in the clutch while your driving, shut your car off and turn it back on. Cuz "that ought to clear out the code"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2010

5th May 2010, 22:43

Can't expect much for a car that retailed at 8 grand or less brand new. You get what you pay for.. For that amount you coulda bought a used Tiburon and at least had some fun! I wouldn't swear off Hyundai forever, just the cheaper models.

22nd Sep 2010, 20:34

Sorry to hear this, I've had nothing but good luck with my 2002 Accent L. My original battery lasted 96,000 miles, and the car still has the original brakes at 100,000.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 55 reviews