28th Feb 2009, 12:38

Well, I guess if you want yet ANOTHER cheap, noisy, poorly built economy compact the Versa is definitely in the same league as the Yaris. A review in yesterday's (Friday, Feb. 27) issue of USA today was titled "The Nissan Versa sings like a bird: "CHEAP, CHEAP, CHEAP", and discussed how it was full of rattles, squeaks and clunks and had a rock hard, cheap rear seat. Nissan service was just rated among the FIVE WORST in customer satisfaction ratings (all of the 5 worst were either Japanese or Korean) so, yes, the Versa would certainly be in the Toyota class, since Yaris has made "10 WORST" lists since it was introduced.

The Hyundai, on the other hand, is a very well-built car, and is certainly far ahead of both Toyota and Nissan, as its ratings and customer satisfaction show (the Korean dealerships rated in the "5 Worst" were Kia, not Hyundai). None of these come remotely close to GM's compacts in terms of quality, and only Hyundai offers a warranty to equal GM's. I don't buy foreign, but if I did I'd certainly consider a Hyundai.

1st Mar 2009, 21:12

12:38 The imports you mentioned are behind GM's compacts (I'm assuming you're referring to the piece of trash Aveo).

The Aveo has been at the very bottom of every review I've read, and anyone who's even seen one from 35 feet away or closer can see why. It's a joke. A chintzy, pathetic car with terrible fit and finish, poor design, poor gas mileage for its size, nothing good.

Consumer Reports' latest '09 automotive release scored it FAR below every other compact car on the market. The only good thing they could even come up with was that GM at least made an attempt, even if it failed, to make something to enter into this market.

The Versa is worlds ahead of the Aveo. In fact, the Aveo is on their list of lowest scorers with a pathetic 36 (of 100). Oh, and you might want to read up on the main article, "Who makes the best cars?"

Honda, Toyota, and Subaru are 1, 2, and 3, Nissan is 5th behind Mercedes at 4th. GM is next to dead last out of 15 brands, beaten out for last place only by Dodge. Ford is 4th from the bottom, or a pathetic 12th place of 15.

But, I suppose, since YOU like the Aveo, it must be a good car... not so. Not good, not average, the fact is it's well below average, near the bottom of the heap.

2nd Mar 2009, 18:42

Once more... the AVEO is NOT a "GM" compact. It is a KOREAN IMPORT. And YES, the imports I mentioned would be a LONG WAY "behind" GM's compacts (the Cobalt and G5) because the G5 and Cobalt are much faster, have nearly twice the horsepower, ride better, handle better and get the same fuel mileage. They also come with 3 times the warranty and cost about the same.

The Korean Aveo is a pretty bland little car. It is basically an exact copy of the Hyundai Accent in terms of drive train and mechanicals. They could be twins under the sheet metal. That's not to say either the Aveo or Accent are bad cars, but they are Korean imports, NOT GM vehicles.

13th Mar 2009, 21:09

My Accent generally gets around 35-40 miles per gallon. The Cobalt gets around 10 or 15 mpg less than that, not to mention it's just another poorly designed, poorly built GM disposable car. To say that its ride, quality, and especially fuel economy are any match for this Hyundai is nothing more than wishful thinking.

The Aveo IS a GM car. Period. GM sells it and is responsible for it. And in the subcompact market, it's the very worst of the worst, as all of the reviews state that I've read. You couldn't give me a GM or a Ford. Dodge isn't even worth mentioning anymore.

If there weren't several much better options from Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Hyundai, Subaru... etc, even I would buy a Ford Focus before a Cobalt or an Aveo. Those are both just garbage. The Ford is slightly better, but will LONG since have been in the junkyard when a Honda, Toyota, and even a Hyundai will still be running.

14th Apr 2009, 22:42

2008 Accent with 36K miles on it, runs great so far.

As for the rest of the troll-bait rants going on here, I'll skip comment.

17th Apr 2009, 09:04

I've driven the new GM compacts, also the Aveo (an import) and the Hyundai Accent. The Accent is a good car, but the interior quality is slightly lower than the Korean Aveo, and much worse than the GM compacts. The GM compacts get only slightly (2 to 4mpg) less fuel mileage than the Hyundai and about the same as the Aveo.

The Aveo was the smoothest and quietest, while the GM compacts were way more powerful and more solidly built than either of the Korean cars (which are basically identical). I'd choose the GM compacts over either the Aveo or the Hyundai. They are under a 100,000 mile warranty, just like Hyundai, and I now can afford to "dispose" of any car before then anyway.

19th Apr 2009, 15:28


I agree entirely, I too would go for the Aveo any day over the cheapo Hyundai Accent. (I drive a 2007 BMW 3 series myself)

Who wants to be seen in a Hyundai or Kia anyway?

20th Apr 2009, 14:05

15:28, I do. At least Hyundai/Kia isn't grabbing up my tax dollars like GM, and they are far better than any GM crap I've owned in the past.

27th Apr 2009, 12:19

"Who wants to be seen in a Hyundai or Kia anyway?"

Well, I have no problem being seen in a Hyundai. Some of my millionaire clients drive Santa Fes and aren't remotely embarrassed to be seen in them. If people judge you by what you drive, I don't want anything to do with them anyway. Such shallowness isn't what I seek in friends.

26th Jul 2009, 02:40

I just tried out a 2008 Accent with only 2,000 miles on it, and I must say I was impressed with its handling. Even though this car is a basic, no A/C, and roll-up windows, I can't find a comparable Toyota or Honda that can compete with this Accent's price of $8500.

I think in this economy, more people might be thinking about a slightly used Hyundai. The resale value of Hyundai is still low, where you can get a good price, but the quality has improved enough to ease many folk's fears. I know, you sacrifice the 10yr./100,000 mile powertrain warranty when buying used, but the 60,000 mile bumper to bumper still applies.

5th Aug 2009, 21:36

Grab that Hyundai while you can!! These cars are far better built than Toyota and on a par with the problem-plagued Honda. They also have a FAR better warranty. The gas mileage is better than Honda or Toyota, they are more reliable, and at the price you're looking at resale doesn't matter. If you pay $5000 more for the over-rated Honda you'll STILL be worse off due to mechanical issues. Our Civic was a total lemon. My best friend's Corolla fell apart before 100,000 miles (Hyundai is under warranty that long!) and my best friend's 5-year-old Accent has over 80,000 miles on it yet and has never had one repair. Go for it!!