2000 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 13 of 15

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance43021 miles

Summary:

Bad car, Bad service, Waste of money!

Faults:

The Transmission started to slip at 20k.

Air Bag blew out while driving.

Paint on car began to fall off at 30k.

Horn stopped working at 15k.

Head gasket is starting to go (41k.)

Automatic locks stopped working at 10k.

General Comments:

Never again would I buy an Elantra or any Hyundai at that. The dealer would not touch my car until I went to the police and insisted my car was a lemon.

If you are reading this because you are thinking about buying a Hyundia...Don't! It is a poor car from a poor company. Do yourself a favor and buy a different car...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

8th Jun 2003, 10:00

I own a 1997 Hyundai Elantra with 128,000 miles. To this point, I am very pleased with the car. The clutch slave cylinder was replaced under warranty and the drivers side power window needed repair, but that is all I have had to repair on this car. I am considering buying another.

R Grefe.

30th May 2004, 09:59

I have purchased an Elantra from someone who had it for three years. I have since had the car for five years and its has given me excellent service. The mileage is now over 12k and I have had only to replace minor parts like the starter, which I got rebuilt and the radiator which was damaged by my own negligence. The damaged radiator led to a cracked head that I chose to replace. I was so pleased with the performance of my car, my second vehicle, which I recently purchased in March 2004 was a Hyundai Santa Fe. It provided everything I needed and was cost effective.

6th Feb 2008, 14:53

I seriously doubt the dealer would not touch a car under warranty. Even if that is the case, what do the police have to do with something that you would go to Hyundai of America or the attorney generals office for? Sorry, but you sound very unbalanced and I think this is a made up post.

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Laser

Summary:

Medium performance bargain

Faults:

My paint is chipping. My back doors squeak when you try to open it. My brakes make a horrible noise and they are starting smell when I turn corners.

General Comments:

I am pleased with the car so far, but I am not with dealer service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

A waste of my money

Faults:

I have owned my elantra for two years and I have had to replace the brakes twice. This is not city driving, I live in the country.

My paint scratches easily and is starting to come off in spots.

My back doors are rusting and hard to open and need WD-40 ever other week.

The body of the elantra dents very easy.

General Comments:

I have had this car for two years and purchased it for 15,000 and I am going to trade it in and it's value is only 5000. This is a heavy cost for two years of driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

Inexpensive quality car

Faults:

I haven't had any major problems with the car besides the occasional flat tire. I did have to have the fuel regulation repaired as there was a leak, but it was still under warranty.

General Comments:

This is a great car! This is my second Hyundai and I love them. It's roomy, comfortable and quick. It has great power and I love to drive it. When the US can make a car like the Hyundai and provide that kind of warranty, then I will consider buying an American car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

A waste of hard earned money

Faults:

Both the Drivers side window motor as well as the left passenger window motor has failed.

The car was taken in for faulty breaks.

The car was taken in for several electrical issues that have proven faulty.

Alternator has failed.

The fabric in the interior of the car has had to be replaced twice.

It takes 5 minutes for the car to reach 60mph, making it very dangerous to enter onto the highway.

General Comments:

They are seriously lacking customer service at the location from where I purchased my car.

I would not recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2002

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 58 reviews