2000 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 8 of 15

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles

Summary:

Window Regulator Sucks

Faults:

Window Regulator has broken 6 times so far.

General Comments:

I am getting sick and tired of Hyundai's Window Regulator problems. It has broken 6 times, with 2 times under Warranty. I had to pay from my pocket for last 4 times each costing around $300 bucks. Unless, Hyundai fixes this issue I am never buying or recommending a Hyundai ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2007

1st Jun 2007, 07:22

Have you had it repaired at a Hyundai Motor America authorized dealership with Hyundai-trained technicians (always ask for a gold or platimun certified tech)? If so, the next time it breaks you should ask to speak with the DPSM (district parts and service manager) and have him comp the repair. If that doesn't work, call 1-800-633-5151 (Hyundai's consumer affairs line) as it sounds like you might have a lemon law case on your hands. Please also realize that a window motor problem doesn't necessarily mean a poor auto manufacturer as all makes have random vehicles with issues.

3rd Aug 2009, 14:17

I have had 4 window regulators fail on my 1999 Elantra.

The first one was covered under warranty.

The second one was repaired by my mechanic and I was given a goodwill credit by Hyundai America.

The third one was repaired at the Hyundai dealership, and I also took the defective parts with me and sent it directly to Hyundai headquarters. This was the second rear driver regulator that was defective. Hyundai headquarters said they only received my letter, but not the parts. Interesting since the letter was inside the original packaging I sent to them. They refused to respond to my request in writing and will not reimburse me for this continuous and obvious defect. My driver side window regulator is broken and I refuse to pay more money to get this repaired. Each repair ran between $300 - $400. What a waste of money. The customer's rights and the poor workmanship seem to be ignored.

21st Dec 2009, 06:30

Fix the window yourself. It only cost me about $60 for a front regulator. Not that difficult to replace. There is video tutorials on utube.

23rd Jun 2011, 13:04

The regulators for the front aren't that much, but the backs are a lot more because the motors are connected to the regulators all in one. My girl hates it. She's down to one window. The rest are held up by vice grips.

2000 Hyundai Elantra EX 1.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

The 2000 Hyundai Elantra is a great first car!

Faults:

The front brakes wear horribly.

I have had many problems with the windows and the window module itself.

General Comments:

Great on gas!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2005

2000 Hyundai Elantra from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

The car has serious electrical problems.

Faults:

The electrical system in the rear has been replaced and now the window motor will be too be replaced.

Even with proper maintenance the car struggles to drive and is starting to have problems biweekly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2005

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.2 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Faults:

Another bad passenger window problem, I love this car, but I can't wait for a recall on the windows. The passenger window on my Elantra GLS seems to have gone off the track or the plastic clip broke. This is the second time this has happened. I think Hyundai Motors of America should have a recall on this problem.

General Comments:

This car is a great gas saver on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2005

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

The car is one of the most horrible cars I had ever owned in my life

Faults:

My transmission went twice.

General Comments:

My car was serviced more than consistently, however, it did not prevent the dealership from searching for a loophole in my maintenance records, so they could get out of paying for another transmission for the car.

I got my transmission flushed, according to them, too late. It was supposed to be done at 36,000, I did it at approximately 40,000 miles. I cannot remember the exact mileage, but it was 5,000 miles over the required time in the service manual.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 16v from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

It's generally a good car with some cheapness issues

Faults:

Since purchase there is a noticeable crack under the driver's left armrest. The dome light works (or doesn't work) randomly. The 3rd brake light in the rear window doesn't work.

General Comments:

I wish that the gas cap was attached to the car by a plastic band or something. I'm not usually the one to forget my gas cap, but some people might. The car seems to hesitate slightly when you initially step on the gas. The system to lock the doors by turning the key in the door when you're outside is a little annoying, but you get used to it. The transmission sometimes seems a little hesitant to shift from "park" when you first start it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2004

16th Aug 2005, 13:20

I had similar problems with my car's transmission, only mine would seem to get stuck in either 2nd or 3rd gear. It turned out that it was the PULSATING SENSOR that needed replaced. Without it, my car was unable to determine what speed I was going and wouldn't shift b/c it believed I was still doing the previous speed. It cost me about $200 to get this fixed at the dealership, but it's better than buying a $2000 transmission down the road.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 58 reviews