2000 Hyundai Elantra VE 2.0L from North America


Move over Toyota


Left front wheel bearing replaced at 150000KM.

General Comments:

An outstanding car which was nearly 100% trouble free in 192000KM (119000Mi).

My only complaint was that the noise level was a bit higher than a friends Corolla... but that's carping!

The interior decor is not inspiring.

MY previous 94 Excel went almost 200,000KM as well with very few problems. I have just purchased a 2004

VE with a manual trans.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America


A good car that is quick and built good from Hyundai as car company that had a bad name years ago


Floor carpet mats could use better hooks instead of plastic ones cause they tend to start to rip out of the floor.

Few CEL'S here and there nothing major and they could anything as small as bad gas or the gas cap not on tight enough.

General Comments:

Good low end grunt with the 5 speed and passing power.

Good handling for stock car.

HVAC Controls are all within good reach.

Car has great visibility all around it when driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

2000 Hyundai Elantra VE 2.0 from North America


A great driving, smart looking, but expensive to keep on the road car


My oxygen sensor failed two months after I got the car.

The engine light is constantly on.

The oil pan bolt stripped after the first oil change.

The clutch went out at about 20,000 kilometers.

The air bag light came on at 65,000 kilometers.

There was a recall on the brake lines at 100,000 kilometers.

The heater and air conditioner stopped working after the first 5 weeks, but worked fine until the kilometers reached 105,000.

The CD player has stopped working completely.

General Comments:

This car is quick to go and handling is great.

However the CD player doesn't work.

Hyundai customer service is excellent.

However their prices are insane.

I love hovering over this car to work on it.

However, I really hate it when Hyundai gives you the wrong part and you find out later that the part you need is more than you can afford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th November, 2003

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.5 from North America


It is very peppy on the highway and handles mountains and dirt roads with ease


Around 30,000 miles the material on the door panels began to separate. The dealership replaced the door panels as a warranty item.

General Comments:

This is a great car. It is a definite value. It is very peppy on the highway and handles mountain and dirt roads with ease. I would recommend this car to anyone who is looking for a low maintenance vehicle that gets good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2003

28th Jan 2004, 09:56

I too enjoy my Hyundai, and other than small things breaker, air flow control knob, driver side window console sticking, I've been happy.

Have to disagree with you on the dirt road comments though. My parents own a cabin and we go backpacking often. Both are accessible by gravel, well maintained roads. The second time I drove in this environment, started to notice a difference in shock absorption on pavement, and the front end vibrates at high speeds regardless of new tires and repeated alignments and balancing. Dealer and mechanic say nothing is wrong. Other than that, great car!

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America


Big vroom vroom for little hassle


Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I bought the car, because my '92 Honda died and I needed something comparable. When I first started looking around, all the other Hondas were too expensive for what they offered (15 grand for basically the same car that I previously had).

I came across my Hyundai in an auction, and ended up buying it. I fell in love with it on the drive home. Great power and handling. What more could be said about a 5 speed stick with a moon roof?

After having it about a year, I'm starting to put some performance parts on it, easy to find by the way at sharkracing.com, just to give it a little more pep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

2000 Hyundai Elantra Sedan 4 cylinder from North America


This car should be called "a disposable car", after 10,000 miles, you need a new vehicle!


Where do I start?

1. At about 9,000 miles, the Hyundai Elantra paint started to bubble and chip off. It took two weeks to get an appointment to have this problem fixed only for the dealership to have the car for three weeks to "fix" the paint.

2. At about 9,500 miles, the car started to stall when I was at red lights or stopped at a signal. Again it took about two weeks to get an appointment to have this problem fixed.

3. 12,200 miles, the car starts shaking and makes loud noises. I took the car into the shop and was told "There is nothing wrong. Your car is fine!"

4. 12,900 miles the paint started bubbling again! Once again I had to wait about two weeks to get an appointment only for them to keep the car for another two weeks to fix the paint.

5. 16,500 miles, the car lighter stopped working and I was told that this is not a "warrant-able repair".

6. 30,000 miles the car starts shaking and cannot be driven. I had to have a tow truck pick it up and bring it into the shop. They eventually fixed the miss firing of the engine and the car was returned to me.

7. 35,000 miles the paint starts bubbling and chipping again and was told this time that "It is no longer under warranty for the paint!"

8. 45,000 miles the rotors are warped and need to be replaced. The rotors that were put on the vehicle from the manufacturer are too thin! (Again, not a warrant-able repair)

General Comments:

I bought this car simply because of the "great" warranty it had. I would never buy another Hyundai. I have spent so much time in the shop and I have spent so much money on repairs, I could have bought a BMW!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 2003

19th May 2004, 13:04

This car was fairly inexpensive to purchase originally, but the cost of the extensive and frequent repairs make this car less than desireable. The rotors and sparkplug wires needed to be replaced three times within the first 100,000 miles. Once the 100,000 miles was passed, immediately, all heck broke loose and everything else started to fail. I would NEVER purchase another Hyundai.