2000 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 14 of 15

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0L 16v, 140hp from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L 16v, 140hp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

A better, and cheaper alternative to the Civic and Corolla

Faults:

Squeaks started to make themselves heard at 12,000mi.

Power loss under full throttle at 4,000RMP.

All problems were fixed, and the car is running perfectly.

General Comments:

A very quick car! Those 140 horses get you moving quickly.

The quickness means that the 195 series tires are easy to break loose. I purchased slightly wider 205 series tires to aide this.

The car has average body roll, but it was too much for my taste. An after-market rear anti-way bar helped, and now it handles like a dream, very flat, very precise!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2002

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Hyundai is a horrible car, never buy one

Faults:

The heater on the car did not function in the middle of winter, it just died.

The CD player would not give back the CD's after playing it. I would have to keep pressing the eject button until the CD came out.

My transmission failed on me after 22,000 miles. The dealer says my car is fine. They kept my car for a week and it still stalls.

General Comments:

It is a whole lot better to invest more money for a better reliable car, or you end up with a lemon and problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2001

3rd Mar 2002, 07:07

Sounds like your dealership is at fault.. they didn't stand by their warranty... have you considered the "Lemon Law?"

5th Mar 2008, 17:40

Mine has 140,000 miles on it, and still runs great. I don't know why everyone else has so many problems. Maybe my car has just been better taken care of.

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Faults:

The horn does not work.

Cannot find anyone who knows color matching. I have had the front bumper painted about five times now.

Hard to find anyone who is certified to work on them, and still cannot fix it.

General Comments:

I love the way it drives! It's a fun car - just bad luck once per month.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS Wagon from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carToyota Paseo

Summary:

A well handling, affordable, practical, fun car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong. So far the car has been very reliable and handling very well.

General Comments:

The Compact disc player is not very good at all. The car handles very well and the turning radius is great for a wagon. Good power for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2001

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

A horrible waste of money

Faults:

For starters, I have had to get the car re-painted twice, which was covered by the warranty. They said a bad primer was used.

Both of my back windows have broken to where they will not roll up or down but just keep falling down.

The car accelerates very slowly unless you put the pedal down hard, which causes this car to have very poor gas mileage for something in its class. My truck got better gas mileage.

It has had multiple problems that only happen once but never again. Some of these problems have been a failure to start, hesitating, and stalling.

Everything in the car rattles. If you add that to the raspy engine, this car is very annoying to drive.

The cup holders stab my knee.

For the first couple months I owned it, a loud squeal would come from the front right part of the car while driving.

For about two days, my brakes squealed horribly.

Of course, the dealer can never find anything wrong. They always take forever to fix things also. Not including the time they had my car for two days yet, they didn't do anything to it. So, I missed work for no reason...

General Comments:

You get what you pay for. Don't buy something cheap and expect it to not be cheap.

You are better off buying a used Honda or Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th July, 2001

23rd Jul 2001, 15:17

It sounds as if the customer is overly critical and probably is not happy with anything. This is the type of customer I would willingly pass on to a Hyundai Specialist Salesman.

2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance6018 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra GLS

Summary:

A poorly made product

Faults:

At first I thought my Hyundai Elantra was great! Then things started to turn ugly...

At about 2000 miles my car started to die while I was trying to merge onto a major highway. I pushed the gas in and the car would not accelerate. I pulled over and had a tow truck tow my car to the dealer I bought it from. They were unable to detect anything and later that day I was driving my car again.

About a week later same thing happened while I was going around a ramp, also merging onto a major highway. Luckily I had the Highway administration right behind me to give me a hand. Once again I had to have my car towed. This time the dealer had thought they had found the problem and fixed it.

My car drove great, for about a month. then it happened again. I was in tears this time, for I thought for sure I was going to be in an accident. I had the car towed to the dealership where I bought it went to the manager and told him I did not want anything to do with the car or the manufacturer again!

It turned out that they still never knew what the problem was. I am now driving a new car (not a hyundai) and I couldn't be happier to get out of that Hyundai!

General Comments:

I lost so much money on what was supposed to be a great deal!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2001

20th Aug 2001, 21:54

I bought a 2000 Elantra in March of that year and now have 20,000 city/highway miles on it. The only problem I've had was the horn, and I went to the nearest dealer and was in at 7:30 and out by 8:30 that morning.

There was a recall on Elantras for a stalling problem and apparently you were one of the first to find it. I'm sorry you didn't give them a chance to correct it as I find the fit, finish and comfort of the car, as well as the high level of standard features and the great warranty incredible in a car of this cost.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 58 reviews