2001 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 16 of 16

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired34 miles
Most recent distance524 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Great, cheap, economical car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car has only 500 miles on it, but I have nothing but good comments about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2001

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carMazda B2000

Summary:

Hyundai - No customer service

Faults:

Car has been reliable.

General Comments:

Worst Dealer in the U.S. - Valley Hyundai, Henderson Nevada. Rude owner, confused salesman.

E-mail to National Sales Office was never answered. I am worried about the customer service, or lack thereof, at Hyundai America.

Nice little car, but due to poor customer service I will never buy from Hyundai again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

2nd May 2003, 15:06

Hyundai's are excellent vehicles. It is unfortunate that this person feels this way. He is probably just an uptight jerk who was rude and insolent toward the salesman. I've seen this type of guy before. Usually has some insecure short, anal retentive, underdeveloped, closet pervert.

26th Jun 2003, 16:56

Obviously the person who responded 5/2/03 hasn't read the thousands and thousands of comments on this website and other websites from other Hyundai owners. There's clearly a trend of poor service from Hyundai dealers, and it's quite likely that the originator's message has validity. Based on what I've read, I'll bet most Hyundai dealers wish they hadn't decided to open a dealership selling a car that is clearly plagued with problems.

My fiance and I are shopping trading in our Hyundai this weekend, and we will never buy a Hyundai again. More so because of the poor service from the dealer than because of the problems we've had with the car (stalling at full stops, the dealer has never been able to fix it and we've taken it in 5 times in the last 12 months). The Hyundai service folks are arrogant and rude. It seems they all have bad days, every day. Today they told me that our warranty is voided for any electrical problems because we purchased an aftermarket stereo. See the thing is, we bought the stereo at the Hyundai dealership with the new car. The Hyundai dealer contracted out the installation of the aftermarket stereo and delivered the new car to us with the aftermarket stereo in it. Hmmmm... seems I'll be filing a lawsuit very soon.

23rd Jul 2003, 04:59

I bought a Hyundai in 2002, and I too have experienced very bad customer service. It started with the service department and went on up to the general manager. As a female I was very offended by comments made to me and written on an information sheet that my husband happened top glance at the dealership. I will never buy another Hyundai again because of all the mechanical problems that the service department cannot seem to fix. It has been the worst decision of my life.

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance7900 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata GLS V6

Summary:

Prepare to want one!

Faults:

Right rear door handle jammed.

Cruise control not functioning properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2001

21st Jun 2001, 13:41

The Elantra is the best car I have ever owned. You can`t tell me the they all are no good because you can`t judge all by one. Everyone I know loves their Elantra.

23rd Aug 2009, 15:37

I have an Elantra with 178,000 miles on it and it runs just like a new car. As a matter of fact our last car was a Toyota Corolla and this is a lot nicer and quieter.

24th Aug 2009, 14:50

I have an '07 Elantra, and I can tell you it's definitely improved. I love my Elantra! So far, 54,000 miles and not a single issue. The manual transmission is smooth and direct. I'm hoping for many more miles to come.

2001 Hyundai Elantra from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired260 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Achieva

Summary:

A lemon straight off the production line

Faults:

1) Smelled coolant within the first week, car had a warped head.

2) Broken door handle within the first month.

General Comments:

Car was in shop to have head replaced before I had 1000 miles on it. Was in for repair for 30 days because they couldn't get parts for it & pushed out before it was properly finished to avoid lemon law by 2 days!! I will NEVER buy another Hyundai product... they are coming off the assembly line defective & the manufacturer is getting away with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2001

2nd May 2001, 16:52

I agree with you. I bought the Elantra weeks ago. Was in the shop at 500 miles something wrong with the throttle system. Reset the computer, one week later the car is doing the same taking off all by itself. Didn't even make one payment yet. I think the car is possessed. Hyundai horrible to deal with very ignorant people.

2001 Hyundai Elantra VE 2.0 Litre DOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Litre DOHC 16v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80 kilometres
Most recent distance2000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

If this Elantra is as trouble free as my '98 Accent, I will be very happy indeed

Faults:

Rear right door handle - jammed cable.

Daytime running light module - replaced.

General Comments:

Very solid, handles well, and is very quiet.

For a brand new model, there are very few, very minor, design defects.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 59 reviews