2001 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 13 of 16

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance13100 miles

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

The engine purge valve has jammed twice in one year.

The car developed an electrical problem, so that the tail lights and dashboard lights would not turn on.

One headlight blew out after only 1 year and 3 months.

The paint scratches very easily.

General Comments:

The car is inexpensive compared to its Honda or Toyota competitors, but the low price appears to come at the expense of quality control. A new car in this day and age should not have as many problems as mine has over the 1.5 years I have owned it. This seems to be a general feature of Hyundai vehicles, since my parents bought a brand-new Hyundai Sonata and it had an electrical problem within the first month of ownership.

To be fair, the engine and electrical problems were repaired under warranty and cost me nothing but wasted time. Moreover, the car does drive well, and it does have good standard features such as Michelin tires, air bags, and an air conditioning system that is very quick to reach the right temperature.

However, I would say that Hyundai's engineers still have some way to go before they can match the reliability and quality of a Honda Civic or Toyota Camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2002

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

Excellent car

Faults:

Minor flaws, like paint on the rear bumper easily scratched. In the beginning there was a plastic smell in the car (for a couple of months).

General Comments:

Very nice car and really inexpensive. Handles great, very strong engine (140hp), very stable, brakes are twice as efficient as in my previous car. Seats are comfortable, controls easy to use, lights quite efficient. The look of the car is great, roomy inside for its class, so far I had no problems with it, after 1,5 years and 20000km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

29th Jul 2002, 23:57

You have noted numerous upsides to owning your car with only minor flaws in the workmanship. Why wouldn't you buy another car from hyundai?

11th Apr 2003, 15:07

Elantra 2001: Quite a good bargain. Good handling, pick up, gas consumption (I get about 30-33 miles/gallon on the highway), nice looking. The only flaw is a windshield that appears to attract rocks galore, and gets cracked everytime around. Is it the design?

25th Jul 2003, 21:58

Don't most new cars have a plastic smell in them for awhile considering all the plastics inside the passenger compartment? I would consider this normal, not a defect.

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6200 miles

Summary:

This car give the owner more bang for the buck than any other vehicle, I mean any!

Faults:

I purchased a 2002 Hyundai Elantra in December of 2001. The first time I test drove this fine automoblie, I knew that it was a car that I would find a pleasure to own. I came back the next day and paid cash in full for this vehicle. Not one day since then have I felt regret for spending $8,990 on this car who had a sticker price of about $13,000.

This car is considered to be 'the best car driven daily by a student' at my school. This is for styling as well as the comfort of the ride that many do not anticipate. My piers find it superor to Hondas, Acuras, Toyotas, and even domestic economy cars.

General Comments:

This car is incredibly simple to drive even if it is the first car you have driven with a manual transmission.

It is incredibly comfortable for the driver as well as the passengers.

However, one disadvantage is that for the driver of average height (5'9"), visibility when checking a lane left of the lane of travel is extremely resticted. But the excellent mirrors more than compensate for this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2002

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired58 miles
Most recent distance11245 miles

Summary:

A death trap

Faults:

Within two weeks of buying my Elantra I had it broken into, this is no one, but the thieves fault, but what ensued jaded me to Hyundai forever. When the car was broken into it was parked and locked the thieves broke the front passenger window and somehow this caused my drivers side seat airbag to discharge. When I called Hyundai about how this possibly could happen seeing as only the window was broken nothing had been done to the body let alone the left side of the vehicle. they had a representative take some pictures and info and I was told that they would look into it. A month passed and I finally received a letter saying that they were not responsible because the air bags would only deploy if the key was in the ignition. Well fair warning to all hyundai proved to me that they obviously do not stand behind their vehicles.

General Comments:

Your car will look nice as long as you leave it in your garage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

18th Feb 2011, 08:14

Actually it's not Hyundai's fault. Anything about the car itself?

25th Feb 2011, 00:06

I disagree with the previous comment. No, it's not Hyundai's fault the car was broken into. But Hyundai states that the air bags won't deploy without a key in the ignition, yet the poster had no key in the ignition and the side airbag still deployed when thieves broke the window.

I'm a mechanic at a Hyundai dealership, and that in my opinion is a bypass electrical failure, which Hyundai should have covered, and in my experience Hyundai's are notorious for motor, electrical and airbag failures. I.e. timing belt breaking, ruining the engine, airbag light always on, airbags deploying when going over bumps. I know Hyundai recalled 04 models for airbag module failures. I don't think they recalled for any previous models. I'll check into which had most airbag failures. I personally see it in 01 models all the time, and my personal experience with Hyundai is they don't stand behind their products at all! In my opinion, Hyundai has a lot of flaws, and a lot of work to do with their electrical systems to fix the problem.

Other than that, Hyundai make pretty good cars. I would NEVER own one, that's just me though, and I'm a certified Hyundai mechanic.

26th Feb 2011, 14:12

Just curious as to why you would never own one. They're coming out with fantastic looking cars. The new Elantra looks far better than a Corolla, and just as a good as a Civic. I'd be happy to own one.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 59 reviews