2001 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 9 of 16

2001 Hyundai Elantra GT 2 liter from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Great car for the money

Faults:

The clock doesn't always display the time; keeps time accurately when time does not appear, though.

Getting loud humming sound when driving above 40 MPH; assuming tire related.

Air bag malfunction light was coming on for a few months; has been off now for a couple months.

General Comments:

Overall, very satisfied with the GT. Engine has lots of usable power, especially when mated with the 5-speed manual transmission. I have driven the automatic, and performance was acceptable, but it is much better with the manual transmission.

Fuel economy has averaged about 30 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2005

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

Not good quality car

Faults:

Recently my Hyundai Elantra has a strange problem. One day, I could not start the car. I thought the battery was bad. I called Hyundai Road Service. The Service man came and tried to jump start the car. it did not work. He suggested that the starter might be broken. Next day before I planed to have the car towed to the dealer. I tried to start the car. The car was OK Now. However, My nightmare about the car has started. I can start the car in one day, but cannot start the car the other day. It is dragging on like this for two weeks. Then I asked dealer to find the problem. The dealer checked everything from battery to starter. They cannot find anything wrong. I had to pay the inspection fee and drove the car home. However, I know the problem will not go away. Next day the problem happened again. Now I was really afraid to take the car to the dealer because if they cannot find anything wrong I will still pay the inspection fee and drive the car home. Is there anyone who can give a suggestion about what is wrong and end the vicious cycle.

General Comments:

I really do not know this kind of car is worth buying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th March, 2005

4th Aug 2005, 13:29

My wife drives a 2001 Elantra. It recently began having the problems described above (not starting). The dealer we took it to here in Colorado was familiar with the problem - a faulty fuel pump. This problem is common with the 2001 model.

Any dealer service technician worth his beans should know about this.

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

A nice car for a great price

Faults:

My throwout bearing went at about 40k. Dealer replaced under warranty. They also offered to replace the clutch as long as it was out anyway, for the price of parts (about $125). The old clutch was about 50% worn.

General Comments:

I got hit by a Jeep Cherokee on my drivers side about 4 days after I bought the car. He was going about 40. He hit the front side of the drivers door and the front fender. The car was pretty torn up, but my passenger and I were fine and able to drive it home. He just missed the side airbag sensor, fortunately.

It Is a pretty quick car with the 5-speed.

Gas mileage is OK, not great.

I like the interior quality and exterior styling better than competition.

Good factory sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance22800 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Not a bad car for the price, I just would like the paint to look much better for its age

Faults:

Both front headlights burnt out within a week of each other. Thank god I waited to go to get it fixed when the first one went out.

Door bumper molding came off after 1 week. No big deal though.

Paint chips and scratches easily, looks as if the car is 20 years old, unbelievable. There are so many nicks in the paint I just can't believe it is happening from the road or people bumping it, just too many for its age.

Terrible mildew smell when air conditioner is first turned on.

Mildew smell when my windshield washers are used just developed recently.

City Mileage, I average about 20 miles per gallon. Not near what the sticker promised. I got better mileage with my Buick LeSabre.

General Comments:

Car has a decent ride for a car in its class.

Very comfortable, had a little bit of a time getting use to the firm seats, but in the long run, I think it provides much more support.

I do love the style of the car. Mine is black and reminds me of a miniature Mercedes Benz.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th July, 2004

7th Jun 2005, 04:39

I don't thick the bumps and nicks have anything to do with the color being black. I have the same car in a cranberry color and the paint also looks terrible.

24th Sep 2005, 15:22

I have the car in silver and it looked beautiful for about 3 years. Now, all of a sudden it looks awful! There seems to be a new knick every week and it just looks dull and rundown. I find this very disappointing as I have taken great care of this car. I also notice the weird mildew smell from the AC. Other than that the car has always been reliable and with over 74,000 I have only spent maybe $800 in repairs. Not bad- maybe with all the money I save on fuel and repairs I should get a new paint job!

16th Feb 2006, 23:44

2001 Elantra GT, silver, looks like garbage!!! At least on the outside. Inside is spotless and very pretty, but the paint is terrible!! It's falling off, dull, scratched and who knows what else. A good paint job, $1100 or more, fixes this (obviously) but it doesn't make any difference on how the car runs. If you have it painted by amateurs or at a bargain place, it'll look the same. Also, I'm having that terrible problem with the gas gauge. Only, it reads Empty no matter how much gas I put in it. Very annoying.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 59 reviews