2001 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 7 of 16

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 Liter from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired31 miles
Most recent distance128500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Top notch compact sedan

Faults:

Headlights replaced a few times. Engine was idling very fast (3000 rpm) at around 105,000 but was a simple fix.

General Comments:

Very good car and has never failed to start on first try. There are still virtually no rattles or squeaks in the car. Everything works like the day I bought it. Had to unload a 1999 Volkswagen Jetta which was a major lemon and took a gamble on the Hyundai. I am very pleased and doubt I'll ever consider another manufacturer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2006

2001 Hyundai Elantra gls from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6970000 miles

Summary:

It is a great car for the price

Faults:

Speed sensor went out 2006, seems to be a good car. Have had no major problems yet. seats are still like new, car still like new. doesn't drive too smooth, so I think price should have been no more than 12,000.

General Comments:

The lights are not bright enough and the bulbs blow out quickly. The bulbs are somewhat high priced.

I love the car, it just drives a little hard, but overall is a great car for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

3rd Apr 2007, 16:47

Almost 7 million miles on the car!!. wow! you sure got your moneys worth!!!

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance116000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

Poor build quality ruins an otherwise good car.

Faults:

CD player jammed at purchase.

CD player jammed again at 60,000 (CD player consequently replaced with aftermarket unit)

Split in fuel pump seal at 70,000.

Split in fuel pump seal at 90,000.

Blown headlight at 90,000.

Clock stopped working at 90,000.

Cracked dash at 90,000.

Power window motor died at 115,000.

Overall paint quality poor.

General Comments:

The original attraction was the size and the number of features compared to similar priced vehicles.

To me it seems clear that Hyundai have reached this level of affordability by using very poor quality components.

The car drives well and is quite comfortable, but the number of minor faults that require trips to the dealer is ridiculous.

I would seriously caution anyone considering purchasing one of these without a warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2005

2001 Hyundai Elantra Base 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Car was 10200 out the door with tax. Money well spent!

Faults:

Sheet metal on doors and rest of car is very thin and dents easily.

Brake pads are really cheap. The car has ceramic pads on it now improved stopping power 1000%.

Rt side wheel bearing went at 32000 fixed uder warranty no problems.

General Comments:

The car is excellent. My only complaints were the truly thin whecwls which came with the car and the stopping power.

Both are easily fixed and the car has another personality now. The 2.0 beta motor is bulletproof as is the manual transmission. Great car at an excellent price!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2005

22nd Nov 2005, 10:25

Hyundai Elantra is obviously the best! I don't understand why some people think it has some problems. I think it's just perfecta!

9th Jul 2007, 14:13

These are my type of people, with sensible comments. It is always easy to complain about something if it goes wrong, but look at all the statistics.

I bought my 2001 Elantra new. It is now just over 6 years old and I love it. Just doing normal oil changes etc will keep a car running for years. Of course it depends on your driving as well.

I bought the base model with no gadgets and a 5 speed box. Can't beat it.

Goes well and is not bad at all on gas, approx 37+ MPG. (Imperial of course).

Just turn the key and enjoy!!!

1st Jun 2008, 19:12

I'm the original author of this posting. The car just hit the 100000 mile mark, and the fuel economy has increased to about 35+.

It's still an amazing car, and has no major servicing aside from oil changes, plugs and tires! Everything still works 100%. I'm still pleased with my purchase.

I'm thinking when and if I ever have a problem, I'm just going to buy a new Kia Rondo, with all the money I have saved in not doing any maintenance or repairs on the Elantra!

3rd Jul 2009, 11:35

137000 miles and still going strong! Brakes and tires, that's it! No hoses or belts everything is still great. I did change both oxygen sensors as a preventative measure. What a great car.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 59 reviews