2001 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 14 of 16

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Best car for the money hands down

Faults:

17000 miles and I have not been back to the dealer yet!

General Comments:

This is the best car you can buy for the money. The car gives you a lot of little extras included in the base price.

I am impressed at the workmanship and quality for such a low priced vehicle. Honda and Toyota would soak you with the extras.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2002

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25007 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Looks good, runs fair, is a pain in the butt

Faults:

The vehicle was delivered with defective paint. It was repainted.

Every lamp on the car has burned out in the first six months of ownership. The lamps are dealer only. Lamp replacements are not all covered under warranty.

Marker lights require removal of the wheel well cover to replace. High cost.

General Comments:

I cannot wait to get rid of this vehicle to get a car that is easily serviced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2002

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance9300 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

I love the car and wouldn't trade it for anything!

Faults:

The Check Engine light would come on. The service department said it was due to the "gas cap tether touching the car". So they cut the tether, and it continued to come on. The ran test and found a small exhaust leak on the car. They fixed it and I have not had a problem since.

General Comments:

The car has a lot of power for a 4 Cylinder.

It handles great in the snow!!

I have driven it on several trips over 8 hours long and felt like I was flying. It is very quick and handles very well!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance17653 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Runs great but cannot always see in the dark!

Faults:

The paint was flawed and had to go in for re-painting.

The clutch master cylinder squeaked and dragged. Had to be replaced at 3400 miles.

The speedometer and odometer stopped working for a day, then came back on. No explanation was available from the dealer.

The lights have started burning out. In only one week, the headlights then the side marker lights blew. Not all the lights are covered by the factory warranty.

General Comments:

I like my Elantra, but quality issues would keep me away from Hyundai in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

10th Jan 2002, 20:24

I have a 1994 Excel. It has been a great car but, as in your Elantra, the headlights are brutal. It is very difficult to see at night and, for some strange reason, the bulbs keep burning out. Is this an inherent problem with the Hyundai?

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance13025 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Fair quality with a don't care attitude from the dealer

Faults:

Paint began peeling after one month. I was told that I hadn't bought a Mercedes.

Clutch pedal squeaks when depressed and the dealer cannot seem to find it and fix it.

Speedometer/odometer keeps stopping. It simply goes to zero from any speed.

General Comments:

I was initially impressed with the vehicle. It looks good and has everything I could normally want.

Dealer service is lacking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 2001

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

More pleased than I've ever been at this early point of ownership

Faults:

No problems as of yet!

Was surprised that insurance costs are higher than my previous Cavalier. Probably being blamed on previous generations of the car which were not as well screwed together as this one.

Some buyers report a stubborn vibration (probably Michelin tires), so test drive before you buy.

General Comments:

This car represents wonderful value for the money. I test drove a Corolla S before purchase and it wasn't even close. Hyundai has surpassed a number of Japanese brands in packaging efficiency, creativity and quality feel.

Seating comfort is first rate.

Michelin tires provide good handling.

5-speed transmission provides good feedback although the throws are a bit long.

Unlike others, my dealer reacted to a request to touch up 2 pin sized flaws in the paint (slight hail damage repaired by a paintless dent remover) by completely repainting the roof and hood. Gave me a free loaner car for while it was in the shop, a last generation Nissan Sentra. It wasn't even close to the Elantra in quality or driving fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2001

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance8492 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Nice style, nice price, falling apart

Faults:

The paint finish was flawed. It took three visits to the body shop to get it almost correct.

Master clutch cylinder was replaced at 8,200 miles.

The paint on the front bumper began to peel two weeks after purchase.

General Comments:

The dealer takes an 'I don't care' position. When I showed the service manager the flawed paint on the front bumper, he said "You didn't buy a Mercedes, you know".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th August, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 59 reviews