2001 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 2 of 16

2001 Hyundai Elantra VE 2.0 petrol from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Best $3000 ever

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought the car used for $3000 at a local used car dealer, and it has been utterly reliable.

The Elantra commutes daily along the heavily congested 401 corridor in eastern Toronto, and never misses a beat, regardless of weather conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2011

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 litre DOHC from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carNissan Quest

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned

Faults:

The transmission speed sensor failed at about 110000 miles.

General Comments:

This was the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned.

I got great gas mileage, 24 city/34 highway, all through the ten years I owned the car.

The car rode very well for its size, and was fairly quiet.

For the price, the car was well equipped. Automatic, air, cruise control, power windows and door locks with remote keyless entry, CD player and comfortable cloth seats. All this for $16,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2011

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 petrol from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Unsafe S**t Box

Faults:

I have replaced the power steering pump, and front struts, both around 90000.

The car handles like a 67 Buick; when you go over a bump, the rear struts bounce about 3 or 4 times.

The safety rating is atrocious. Look it up on the IIHS's website. If I can stop someone from buying this car, I feel like I'm doing a community service. It's a death trap.

General Comments:

Handles poorly.

Seats get very uncomfortable on long drives.

Poorly built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2010

10th Jan 2011, 05:21

I agree with you the built quality just isn't there and Hyundai customer service sucks.

Mine has been in the shop so many times I quit keeping track about a year ago. This car was a waste of money. Everything breaks from the radiator to the transmission, and Hyundai always tries to get out of honoring their warranties.

I never will buy a Hyundai ever again and this car lacks in any kind of speed at all. It runs around 3,400 RPM at only 65 MPH.

Don't buy Hyundai EVER, buy a GM vehicle or a Toyota.

2001 Hyundai Elantra GT 2.0L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Can't beat it with a stick!

Faults:

Exhaust flexible ribbed portion rusted through, & driver's side auto power window switch "half-cocked" but works.

General Comments:

Currently in auto sales since 1991, and never imagined owning a Hyundai. But after selling my old Camry and driving a 2001 Elantra GT trade-in for lunch runs, I was impressed with its no nonsense power and handling. One more note, when cruising down the freeway passing traffic, I would often get chased down by surprised motorist who thought my Elantra GT was a Saab, and couldn't take the pass by the slanted H emblem. I was as guilty before owning one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2010

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Great value, reliable, and stylish!

Faults:

Headlight bulb just went out... was VERY difficult to replace. This is the only issue I've had so far in the 8 months or so I've owned the car.

General Comments:

Compared to other "economy" cars I've driven, the Elantra seems to have more power and handles better overall.

The inside is much more stylish than other similar vehicles in my opinion. Although there's a good amount of plastic, it doesn't seem cheap at all... certainly nicer than the price would suggest.

The seats aren't the most comfortable, but I got used to them pretty quickly.

The interior is very roomy and is comfortable for a full carload.

The overall look of the car is quite unique and classier than other similar vehicles.

The paint is chipping on the front and rear bumpers (seems to be a common issue), but looks good elsewhere.

Considering everything, I am very proud of my car and would certainly drive it over any cookie-cutter Civic or Corolla. Always though Hyundai was a bad company, but now my opinion is completely changed!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2010

2001 Hyundai Elantra from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission  

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

My wife owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra and suffered from the "start one day, not the next" dilemma. We went through several car technicians and many months of wondering if the car would start or fail on us.

We also had the check engine light go on and off at completely random intervals.

We finally decided that only a Hyundai dealership could find the problem, so we brought the car there. They first said that the PCM was bad, and that we would have to purchase a new one at over $800 and pay for installation. After putting the new one in, they realized that the one they took out wasn't bad at all. Turns out that a bad circuit in the ignition system was pulling the power from the PCM and causing it to fail. The technicians at the dealership just guessed at the diagnosis instead of tracing the electrical problem.

I would never buy one again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2009

16th Dec 2009, 17:25

You are NOT liable for expenses incurred due to mis-diagnosis of problems by service technicians. You should contact your local Better Business Bureau and demand a refund for the work done in error. That is your legal right.

Also, Hyundais are generally very well-built and reliable cars. I HAVE heard nightmare stories (such as yours) about their dealer service, but the cars themselves are not bad cars. Don't write it off because of bad dealer service. You might want to see if there is another Hyundai dealership you could take it to for repairs. I own a Ford, and drive an hour to a Ford dealership that has a GOOD service department, rather than take it to the Ford dealer that is 5 minutes from my home that has a HORRIBLE service department.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 59 reviews