2002 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 13 of 18

2002 Hyundai Elantra from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carNone None

Summary:

Just say no

Faults:

The clear-coat and paint are coming off down to the primer.

General Comments:

After one (1) year of driving, the paint on my 2002 Hyundai Elantra is coming off, leaving unsightly matted spots all over the hood, roof, and trunk. The car is still well under warranty, but our (friendly) dealership tells us that Hyundai does not honor this agreement, as has happened in many instances before.

Don't buy Hyinday,

Their warranty is a lie,

Ask me why.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

20th Jan 2004, 07:00

Thinking of buying a used Hyundai Elantra wagon with 23,000. The car looks brand new, rides well and seems like a great bang for the buck. Torn, because most folks think you get what you pay for. Thoughts?

Nico.

3rd Aug 2007, 00:48

We have a 2002 Elantra GT with black paint bought second hand a year ago. Indeed the paint was chipped a bit and there were quite a few scratches. However, we bought a 4 year old, 73k car for 7500 CAD. With leather, traction control and a sunroof! And if you read the reviews the paint chipping seems to be the only major problem...seriously, what is the big deal. You have a car that has proven to be above average in reliability with a lot of options on it for not that much money. We will just repaint it in a year or two depending on the speed the paint job continues to deteriorate at, so far the paint is still decent given its been 5 years... I knew very well when I bought the car that it would probably need to be repainted soon, but that is a small price to pay for the solid package I get otherwise. Otherwise the car has given us no trouble. I would suggest including the cost of a repaint when calculating the purchase price and if you still feel you are making a good deal go for it. I am very satisfied with the feel and performance otherwise and I do not feel at all that it is tinny, unsafe, unstable or lacking sufficient performance for day to day usage as some people said. Maybe they just switched from large sedans and this is their first compact? Once you get a new paint-job (if needed) done properly over the crappy original one the paint problem should be solved for good.

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 DOHC from Venezuela

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired115 kilometres
Most recent distance4300 kilometres
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Nice surprise and a great buy

Faults:

Nothing, only minor faults, a fusible blew and the black tape used in the front doors is peeling off a little.

General Comments:

In general this car surprised me, I didn't expect such a great performance for a car of this manufacturer and price, it has good power, nice driving feeling and plenty of space.

The model I brought didn't came with ABS and rear discs and I think the car needed.

Perhaps Hyundai needs to put more details in the interior to erase the sensation of too much plastic.

Only time will tell the last word, but until now I think is an excellent buy and better price/value relation.

Corollas and Civic's watch your back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2003

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0L Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles

Summary:

Tin-Can on Leaky Wheels

Faults:

A sprinkler put water on the silver paint, and for the life of me I can't get the spots out. I left it "dirty" for two days. Engine makes funny noises after starting it up, I am very concerned about the long-term prospects. All four tires have slow leaks, though it was nice to see they put expensive and green Michelin Energy tires on it stock, must be the steel wheels not forming a proper seal.

General Comments:

This thing is a tin-can on wheels. It handles poorly, gets blown all over the road in moderate to high winds, and sucks a lot of gas for a 4-banger with no pickup. I especially worry about my wife, who drives it most of the time, amid all of those phone-yapping drivers in SUVs on the freeway along her commute, this car wouldn't fair well in a crash. Also the resale value is next to nothing, especially since the 10 year warranty cannot transfer to another owner. This puts us in a bind: Should we bite the bullet and write it off as a loss to get something better, or should we have gone with a Honda Civic in the first place. I don't like the brand, I don't like the dealer, and I don't like this tinny car, period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2003

19th Jan 2005, 19:47

Is your car a 2002 Hyundai elantra? Would you like to sell it to me at a reasonable price? Contact me at.

Fjover@charter.net.

I'm Fred.

5th Oct 2007, 00:15

Less power. Are you serious. Honda makes good cars,i agree. BUT GUESS WHAT HYUNDAI NOW DOES TOO. For less money. The 2 liter is no dog.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews