2002 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 10 of 18

2002 Hyundai Elantra GT Gas from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Gas Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance975622 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great Buy! Great Value!

Faults:

The car has had almost no problems.

The car has eaten up some tires. The car is on the third set and may be a result of the curvy roads and high speeds.

Car also tends to burn out fog lamps every 10,000 miles if you leave them on all the time.

Otherwise it has been great! Only changed the oil every 3,000 with Mobile 1 10W-30. Never had any of the required scheduled maintenance. Still getting about 36 mpg.

General Comments:

Will be buying another Hyundai as soon as this one dies. May be another 100,000 miles at this rate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2005

4th Jul 2012, 19:53

Why the heck would you leave your fog lights on all the time?

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS 1.8 from Korea

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A very good car

Faults:

The steering wheel tends to tilt to one side after driving the car for a few years.

General Comments:

The brake works perfectly well and stops very nicely.

The steering wheel is easy to turn, making the car more easy to control.

The controls are located to a very comfortable reach and easy to control.

Oil efficiency and maintenance cost is very cheap. A very economical car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2004

2002 Hyundai Elantra GT 2.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great looking, good power for its class, reliable

Faults:

Driver's electric door lock stopped working... Fixed itself on its own somehow.

Timing belt makes some irritating noise when cold... -10 to -20. Revving it a bit fixes that.

General Comments:

Some hilarious cheap things.

The dash color has a really nice blue, however it seems colorfully cheap to have all other small details yellow.

They skip 180 and 200. It has been replaced by 160 190 220 with extra bars.

Somehow I do not have ABS working.

A/C works great. However, when you start your car in winter with the defrost option, the A/C always switches on, and you must always manually turn it off.

It costs less than a Civic, Sentra, Corolla and Protege.

More power 2.0 16v.

Fantastic look 5 door hatchback.

Better handling.

Cheap decent mags - 195/60/r15.

CD player and speakers are very good for stock.

Fuel efficiency is good.

I love the car. It looks great, it's reliable, and it has some class with the Saab 900 style.

I do not plan to bring it to a Hyundai dealership. I have read about 10 negative reviews about their service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2004

2nd Jan 2007, 11:51

The A/C is supposed to come on with the defrost. The compressor helps to dehumidify the air, speeding up the defogging of the windows.

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 liter from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Automatic
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance61668 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

I liked it well enough to buy 2005 just like it yesterday

Faults:

The AC seemed very weak, but after taking it to the dealer it worked much better. It is still not the greatest AC. I just bought a new 2005 Hyundai and they assured me the AC has been improved.

General Comments:

I've owned Honda and Toyota and my Hyundai has been equally reliable and a fun vehicle to own.

I took this car on a trip from home in Southwest Florida to Oregon and it didn't miss a heartbeat. It didn't use a drop of oil in the nearly 9k drive. Mountains didn't slow it down, nor did deserts, heat or snow... and I had them all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2004

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Korean Turd

Faults:

The clutch cracked up at 4,000 miles. It was making a really weird clacking noise. The dealer couldn't figure it out so they "greased the linkage" and gave it back. Didn't even make it home. I had it towed back, after which they replaced the flywheel. Didn't fix it. Then the pilot bearing. Then the entire clutch assembly. Finally they replaced the transmission and then the engine. Can you say incompetent?

Now the car is tearing through tires like crazy. At this rate I'll be putting tires on it every 10,000 miles. I've repeatedly had it aligned. The dealer straight up refused to even look at it. Tried to tell me it needed aligned.

The brakes are pathetic. Try a panic stop from 70 and see how scary that is.

The clutch is really quirky (hard to shift smoothly), not to mention weak.

The dealer is worthless (Hyundai dealers are independent. Hyundai has very little leverage). They can refuse to do warranty work and Hyundai can't/won't (cop out) do anything about it.

Fuel mileage is very mediocre.

I feel stupid for buying it. Everybody laughs at me.

General Comments:

The interior is pretty well made. It has held up well. This includes upholstery and controls (AC controls, Signals etc.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2004

16th Jun 2004, 19:42

Your dealership has replaced your entire transmission assembly and engine yet you blast them for not honoring the warranty? You're very lucky just to have gotten that, considering how many rotten dealerships there are out there. And why would they replace the entire engine due to a bad clutch? This makes no sense, and if they did replace the tranny and the same problem is coming back, then the cause is most likely driver error. Also, I seriously doubt that this car's stopping power is as bad as you make it sound. Although I'm not a Hyundai fan personally, all cars of the econo class are very similar in terms of performance.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews