2002 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 7 of 18

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired82 miles
Most recent distance65326 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Hindsight being 20/20 - I'd buy this car over again

Faults:

Minor cosmetics.

Paint chips easily.

Power locks stop working intermittently.

Replaced front rotors at 40k miles.

General Comments:

Our Elantra has been a very economical and comfortable car for us. Gas mileage is good- we get 33-36 mpg highway. We bought this vehicle after having a horrible time with our previous Volkswagen. Depreciation is steep and I do think the brand is underrated, but since we aren't planning on trading this little econobox that's all irrelevant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2007

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, affordable, but some concerns about safety

Faults:

At 40,000 miles a sound emerged whenever I backed up and turned- no mechanic/dealership could figure out how to stop it.

Aside for this, I have not really had any problems and have been mostly delighted with it.

I just had a big car accident and totaled this car (at 68,000 miles). I was turning on a wet road and completely lost control of the car and crashed into a tree. I don't know if it was the tire or what, but I totally lost control It was very scary. The car just lost control and I could not break in time.

Over the last week, I had started to notice that the car would not speed up/slow down/respond like it used to... I was going to get it checked, but then I crashed. Now that I have discovered this site, and read other reviews, I wonder whether the steering of the car was at fault in this accident.

General Comments:

Now I have to buy a new car. As I research different cars in the same range, I see that Honda civics have a lot more wear and tear and customer dissatisfaction. I am scared that another Hyundai Elantra will have similar problems, but it seems that the problem s of the 2001-2003 collection have been corrected.

Plus- I walked out of that accident, with a totaled car, and absolutely no injuries other than whiplash. The air bags deployed perfectly, and the car kept me safe and alive.

As I read reviews, the Elantra still seems like the best and safest and most reliable car for its money... And if there was a problem, then hopefully the 06 model has corrected it. So, I am thinking I may very well invest in another one.

I welcome other people's feedback or thoughts- both about the safety of the 02 and about whether it is worth risking a new one or trying another safer car of a similar price range...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st September, 2006

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS 1.6 petrol from Germany

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 kilometres
Most recent distance73000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Best car ever had!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Bought this car from 1st hands. Am very satisfied with it. It's an Import from Denmark, so some scandinavian specials like the lights always-on appear... :-)

At all it's a very stylish and reliable car, which not much people (here in Berlin/ Germany) own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2006

2002 Hyundai Elantra GT from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance21500 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Not a good value for the money

Faults:

At 21,500 miles and despite driving the car moderately, all brake pads were worn down and had to be replaced. Since the car had actually lost one brake pad before it started to make noise and alert me of the issue, the rear brake discs needed to be replaced since metal had cut into them beyond resurfacing. The dealer told me that it was my driving style and refused to take anything under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2006

2002 Hyundai Elantra 4 door 2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

Super reliable, and did I say reliable, yes it is

Faults:

Brakes, (rotors, pads, shoes, 1 brake cylinder), battery, light bulbs).

Had a problem for a while with the check engine light. Took a few tries, but it finally went away. (false warnings)

General Comments:

The car has very smooth ride. The engine runs smooth and has lots of power, especially on the highway. Transmission is smooth most of time. A jerk here or there. Not bad considering the odometer reading.

Very reliable car. It's a work vehicle for my job. It racks up a lot of mileage and some abuse. It still runs strong. Only negative is the paint scratches easier than other cars I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2005

14th Mar 2006, 10:29

My son purchased an Elantra new in 2002. He lives north of Toronto and commutes 200k to and from work each day. To date, the Elantra has performed admirably and has accumulated over 230,000k on the odometer. Apart from regular maintenance and the replacement of wear items such as tires and brakes etc, nothing major has failed.

This car came well equipped for a vehicle costing $17,000 CDN. It is comfortable and a pleasure to drive in all types of weather. In his own words, he intents to drive the car until the wheels fall off and then buy another one. Obviously, he is satified with his Elantra.

His only beef concerning his Elantra is the price of parts at the dealership. He decided to have a tune up performed at a local garage rather than the dealer simply because the dealer wanted over $18 a piece for spark plugs. The local garage only charged him $6 a piece for the same item. The same can be said about the cost of replacing the timing belt, which seems rather costly regardless.

One of his friends owns a 4 cyl 2001 Chevy Cavalier with over 300,000k on it and, is also quite satisfied with her vehicle. Both cars are similarly equipped and regularly maintained. She has also owned hers since new. She has had her Cavalier routinely maintained at her local garage and has not encountered the same maintenance costs as my son has with his Elantra.

I would never have thought that ether an Elantra or a Cavalier would prove so reliable. Perhaps it's the fact that both cars are routinely maintained or that both manufacturers have better quality offerings than I thought.

Needless to say, I would buy ether make. I like the Elantra and think Hyundai has come a long way since the Pony.

3rd Aug 2006, 15:15

Hi,

I own a 2002 Hyundai Elantra, which just rolled through 100000Kms.

Very reliable. Just towed a Uhaul 4x8 from Ottawa to Medicine Hat Alberta. Never had a problem until I got to Swift Current Saskatchewan, and was sideswiped by a 16 year old driver in a Dodge Pickup. Extensive damage done to the left front fender. Now repaired and as good as new. I would recommend this car to my mother. Good value for the money.

Comfortable ride and lots of power in a 2 liter engine, and also very economical, even when towing a trailer at 80Kms.

Remember this is not a $30,000 Toyota, but it certainely rates right up there with the best of the mid-sized cars.

If I had to change anything about this car, it would be give it four wheel disk brakes with ABS.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews