2002 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 11 of 18

2002 Hyundai Elantra GT 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

It was good when I bought it, but now bad after service

Faults:

The car had been running fine up until it had its 45,000 mile maintenance. My car was always taken back to the original dealership for maintanence whenever it was required and I had them perform anything that was necessary. After the 45,00 mile checkup the car kept stalling and the transmission was slipping. I had two people look at it to see if there was oil in it and they said the oil looked red and the transmission fluid looked light amber like motor oil. We had the car returned to the dealership and they said the fluids were correct,just very dirty. I asked why this was the case when the oil was just changed by tham 5 weeks ago. They had no good answer and I got my car back the next day and it is still stalling and the transmission slipping still. I called dealer and they said bring in again next week. I will update with details of progression.

General Comments:

Transmission slipping. Engine sluggish with little power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2004

9th Jun 2004, 12:00

Sounds like they put the tranny fluid in as engine oil and the engine oil in as tranny fluid, except they won't admit the mistake... take it to another Hyundai dealer... it is worth the trip. GOOD LUCK!!

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles

Summary:

Afraid for my life when driving this car

Faults:

At 12000 miles after having the car in for routine service the car died on the highway on the way home from the dealer. They could not find the problem. Car was given back to me. On the way home the car died again, the clutch made loud popping noises and began to shake, along with the steering wheel.

Air in the gas tank was the only thing they could say the problem was. Yet the problem still occured.

30,000 miles car began to stall out and shut off again.

Now more often and while driving 40 to 50 miles per hour.

Loose air hose was determined the cause of the problem, yet the car stalled on the way home from the dealer after the air hose was tightened.

Brakes were replaced at 30,000 miles.

Throw out bearing and pressure plate went bad and were replaced at 30,000 miles.

Problems with the dealer installed alarm system. Still unable to determine the cause of the stalling and loud noises from the front and underneath the car.

Car has been in the shop 5 times for the same problem, yet no answer has been given. Nothing stops the car from shutting off randomly.

Car currently in the shop again because it stalled on the way home from the dealer. Severe noises started again.

General Comments:

Car has been in the shop 3 different times for the same problem in the past month. Totaling 15 days without my car the past month.

Alarm has problems.

The only thing that worked right on this car was the sunroof, and that it starting to stick...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2004

15th May 2004, 14:40

Get rid of this piece of garbage before it kills you!!

4th Jul 2007, 10:13

Sorry for double post.

If a car shop, SPECIALLY a hyundai dealership cannot find the problem, go to a local garage that a friend can recommend.

Might not be under warranty... but some dealerships are just horrible and damage your car.

My hyundai has never seen hyundai ever since I own it...

I serviced it for a baring, oil changes, brakes... small normal things for a car with 120000km.

2002 Hyundai Elantra VE 2.0L gas from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance51000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

Perhaps its the best bang for the buck

Faults:

Paint peeling on front bumper grille.

General Comments:

This car is worth more than it costs.

It may not be the most comfortable ride.

From day one to today there hasn't been a need for warranty servicing. That's almost unheard of.

Hyundai is underrated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

2002 Hyundai Elantra LS 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance25600 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

A cheap car

Faults:

The driver door tends to stick during cold weather. The transmission shifts very hard when putting it into drive. I have already had to have the transmission sensor replaced. The brakes have been worked on twice already due to problems. Paint on the hood, trunk, and driver side are starting to chip.

General Comments:

I would not recommend anybody to buy a Hyundai. Before I bought it I had always heard that they were cheaply made; now I believe it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2004

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews