2002 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 16 of 18

2002 Hyundai Elantra GT 2.0 Liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

A great buy!

Faults:

When turning hard to one side or the other, the car has begun to shudder slightly. However, this is extreme nit-picking as it may be normal considering the tight turn required to make this happen.

General Comments:

The Elantra GT has been a joy to drive since I bought mine in August 2002. I can't speak for the automatic version, but the manual is very peppy and zips through the smooth-shifting gears.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

2002 Hyundai Elantra GT 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22 kilometres
Most recent distance18670 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

An unbelievable car

Faults:

Except for 1 (one) of the fog light bulbs burning out, I have had no problems with my Elantra to date.

General Comments:

Super fuel economy in city and on highway.

Very roomy for front and back passengers.

Seriously the best handling car for the money, my friends are amazed when I take them for a drive down some country back roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2002

2002 Hyundai Elantra GT 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance21000 kilometres
Previous carDoge Shadow

Summary:

I love it!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I have never been so happy with a vehicle before.

It handles very nicely on icy and bumpy roads.

It is a joy to be able to drive a car like the Elantra.

It is not the most comfortable car in the world, but it is okay. It has a good interior, color wise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2002

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance2700 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A big mistake

Faults:

The first week I had this car the alternator went bad. Since this happened at night I had it towed to my home and then towed again in the morning to the dealership.

About two or three weeks after that, the CD player stopped working. A week after that the new CD player that was installed broke again, this time making a clicking noise even when there where no keys in the ignition. I had it repaired again and a day later the CD player started having the same problem. As soon as that was fixed all the dash lights went out.

When it rained, the car stalled. My car apparently sucked up so much water that it needs a new engine. Though it was manufactured poorly to begin with, the service department is now saying they won't cover the costs and will leave the $4,000 in repairs up to me.

General Comments:

I have a good looking car, but it is not worth all the hassle that I have gone through in the last three months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2002

28th Dec 2002, 13:46

Are you crazy? You have a brand new car with a damage engine and a price tag of $4000 that the dealer don't want to fix. Fight for your rights because Your driving a lemon. It is against the law for a car like that to be sold to someone. Get a lawyer, go to the better business bureau, consumer affairs, or call the Hyundai Corporation and complain. Don't let them push you around.

2nd Jan 2003, 12:53

I agree. Especially in your situation. Put it in under the lemon law. If I were you, I'd do everything the person above said you need to do. You have a legitimate case on your hands. The dealer's reluctance to help makes your case against them & Hyundai stronger. I would definitely fight this if I were you, especially with what new cars cost today.

14th Jan 2003, 09:13

How is it the manufacturers fault if you got water in the engine? The only way that could happen is if you went through water deep enough for the air intake to suck the water in. That is your fault! It is not possible for water to just get into the engine. Don't blame the car if it was driver error.

2002 Hyundai Elantra GT 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

If you can find a better car for this money buy it!

Faults:

There is a slight crackle when I go over bumps.

It needs better lighting in the trunk.

General Comments:

I absolutely love it.

The handeling is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

2002 Hyundai Elantra GT 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance1900 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Best Bang for the Buck!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The Elantra Gt has the best value for its price. I enjoy the rich feeling I get when I drive it. It truly has quality written all over the place. The handling is exceptional. I often feel like I am in a much more expensive car like an Acura or Lexus when I drive.

The motor is very powerful. I was very surprised how much pep it has. I recommend this car 100%.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2002

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews