Hyundai Entourage Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2007 Hyundai Entourage Limited 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance27140 miles
Previous carMercury Mountaineer

Summary:

A mistake to buy, poor value in the long run

Faults:

At 3k miles, the front struts failed, and were replaced under warranty; had no loaner for 1 day.

Also at 3k miles, a faulty gas vent control valve needed replacing and check engine light came on.

At 4k miles, the left axle boot started leaking due tear from hitting a small animal and needed to be replaced (not covered under warranty). Cost $472.00 plus $180.00 for 3500 mile oil change and inspection at dealer.

Between 4k and 11k miles, no problems. At 7k miles, dealer changed oil and filters and regular trans fluid change for $400.00.

About 11k miles, the transmission started slipping from 3rd to 4th gear and no overdrive function on highway speeds. Trans was replaced under warranty; no loaner car for 3 days.

At 11k-12k noise from rear hatch appeared. Replaced loose door seals under warranty; no loaner car for 1/2 day.

At 15k miles, the rear springs had to be replaced due to squeaking noises/vibrations along with rear sway bar (under warranty), but no loaner for 1 day.

About 18k miles, both headlights blew out two times and needed to be replaced (under warranty), but dealer charged $700 for oil change and a tuneup that was due at 15k miles.

At just 22k new brakes, pads, and rotors were needed. Not covered under warranty. Cost $910.00.

General Comments:

In all, this car costs more to maintain than it is worth. Long term durability is questionable (especially with 3 kids). The seat rests are worn, the steering wheel is peeling, the shine on the paint is not that great, there is orange peel paint all over, and the build quality is poor (wel below our Mercury Mountaineer).

The dealer also is a ripoff! He charges me for everything he can to make up for the warranty coverage.

Its not very reliable. I don't mind paying for a few items out of pocket, but when I am out of a car for days at a time, it costs me monet to rent a car.

We have already traded this in for a Chrysler Town and Country which is SUPERIOR in materials and quality. The kids love the dual TV's and wife loves the style. We will never get a Hyundai again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2008

23rd Jan 2008, 20:28

Boy...that service department saw you coming. $700 for an oil change and "tune up". I didn't know cars needed tune ups at 15k miles? You might want to try a different dealership or a private repair shop. The one you're going to is downright unethical.

24th Jan 2008, 11:13

This is the author here - I went to another dealer to ask how much, and the service manager said round about the same prices. I was blown away. Never in my life have I been sucked out of money which amounts to fraud. On the Internet are hundreds of people with similar stories as mine, so I know it's just Hyundai making money for their so called great warranty. Never again!

2006 Hyundai Entourage Limited from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance7600 miles
Previous carToyota Sienna

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

None

General Comments:

I love my Hyundai! It looks great, drives great, and is great.

Roadside service and warranty are exceptional.

Can drive a long distance without tiring. Quiet.

Every option I required and a lot less expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2008

2007 Hyundai Entourage Limited V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

What a wonderful van!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Hyundai has hit a home-run with their new for 2007 Entourage seven passenger van.

The fit and finish, ride, interior comfort, performance, and "bells and whistles" on my Limited with Luxury package in my opinion makes this the best buy out there among vehicles of this category.

The V-6 engine with it's 250 HP delivers zero to sixty performance in the 8 second range for plenty of passing power when needed, but still gets about 20 mpg in blended mileage despite propelling a 4400 pound vehicle.

The surround sound AM/FM/CD/Cassette with tons of speakers gives the impression of being in a concert hall instead of a car. This just begins to describe it's quality features that are too long to list, just go drive one!

I'd been a Honda owner for years and thought I'd be forever until I found this van to equal Odyssey's top-of-the-line model for $10 grand less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2007

3rd Aug 2007, 19:04

Just wait 2 years for the thing to fall apart!

Good Luck!

19th Nov 2007, 19:32

Hey People, the Entourage is nothing more than a re-badged Kia Sedona. Not a very good buy for the money, read the reviews!

Hyundai is taking a huge gamble marketing this van in north america, a gamble I'm sure they wish they had never made. Just so that you know, Hyundai owns Kia, and considers Kia the low price alternative to Hyundai vehicles even though most are identical except for the badge.

There's a reason the Entourage (Sedona) is the cheapest van out there, think about it. You get what you pay for. Comparing these to a Honda or Toyota is pure nonsense.

2007 Hyundai Entourage GLC 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance350 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Hyundai has come a long way

Faults:

Too new - Nothing yet.

General Comments:

It's only a minivan, so what can one expect? Well, Hyundai has come a long way here in Canada. I was completely set on an Odyssey or Sienna. I decided to take the Hyundai out for a spin.

I was surprised that I could get all the features that I need in a minivan for 10,000 less than I was about to pay. Definately a contender in the minivan market. Comes off the same line as the Kia Sedona, although I hear they use different quality materials.

Dealership experience was excellent. Great power (242HP, 251lbs. Torque), lots of space, and they were really thoughtful about feature positioning. Very easy to drive (big change from my Civic, but the transition seems to be going well).

Hopefully I will be able to add more info for potential buyers as I add more mileage. But overall I'm happy with the purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd June, 2006

8th Jul 2006, 17:21

Just bought a Honda Odyssey after driving the Entourage. I am shocked that Hyundai was allowed to launch this vehicle as it is a copy (not as good) of the Odyssey. If you want long-term quality and reliability, stick with the Honda. Although Hyundai has a good warranty, I don't plan to sit in the service department waiting room.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews