2007 Hyundai Entourage GLC from North America - Comments

10th Jul 2006, 10:27

I have had this car for a month and I have noticed the following issues:

Very thirsty - 13 miles per gallon - city driving (compare to 18, as advertised)

Still cannot get used to the driver's seat. I feel like I am sitting on a bench.

The second row seats squeak when empty.

Poor quality plastic covers inside, that get scratched very easily.

Otherwise the car runs great. It is very comfortable and has a lot of features. Hope that reliability will be OK.

29th Jul 2006, 16:55

We bought a 2007 Entourage SE with 23 miles. This is an awesome vehicle drove it on vacation with three kids for a total of 4,000 miles. We have put 6,000 miles since we bought it in May of 2006.

NOT ONE PROBLEM, will do it again. I also have a 05 Elantra with 53,000 miles I drive 120 miles daily. NOT ONE PROBLEM.

I would put these cars against any other car in reliability, and feel that they would meet or exceed any other. Never had a problem with the dealership. The only time I have spent in the service dept with these cars is for oil changes. By the way ONE big selling point of the Entourage... Its got a REAL CHAIN for the timing chain, no hit for $1000 in maintenance at 60,000 miles other than oil changes and filters this thing does not require anything until 100,000 miles, at which point I will be buying my second one. Thanks.

6th Sep 2006, 20:30

I'll be getting rid of my 2001 Montana with all of the electrical problems.

The airbag light is sometimes on sometimes off.

Low water coolant light.

Water is not low.

Clock doesn't light.

Windshield wipers stop anywhere they please and it goes on and on.

I'll be buying that Entourage. A lot of vehicle for that kind of money!!!

25th Sep 2006, 11:27

Original Poster here... at just over 6000kms I am still extremely pleased with the vehicle. Now that the motor has broken in I have noticed a slight increase in fuel economy, not that it is too bad if you drive nicely.

One "Nice to have" option for a potential buyer that I wish I purchased was traction control - standard on the top model. When jutting out into traffic I have spun the tires, (only when turning though) although I am sure it can happen off the line if you are particularly heavy-footed - I try not to be as it hits you in the fuel consumption. Not a big thing, but it does make you second-guess some potential slots in traffic.

One "problem" I noticed this summer was when the A/C is on for a while, especially in humid environments, there was significant sweating from the rear floor vents' plastic cover that tended to wet the seat storage compartment carpet.

The only other problem I noticed was when the rear seats were stowed away, the ink from the seat release tether bled onto the rear seat. Possibly due to A/C issue noted above. Regular spot remover quickly sorted that issue, although potential buyers may choose to soak the the tether to remove excess ink, or cover with tape (ugly).

Aside from those very minor issues - excellent van, the family loves it.

23rd Dec 2006, 17:40

I also bought a 2007 Entourage. Have had it for 7 months and have 10,000 miles on it. Gas mileage is about 18 mpg in town and 25 mpg on highway, but took a little to break engine in. All in all I have been very impressed with this van. Got the DVD entertainment system with the wireless head phones and love it. Test drove Honda's and Toyota's before buying the Entourage, and I must say that I am truly impressed. This is a great van at a great price. I love this van!!

12th Feb 2007, 12:40

We have had a 2007 Entourage for about 4 Months now.

Mileage is at about 5000km.

No problems. Van seems to have good bang for your buck.

Only issue is during really cold weather (< -10C) the TPMS (tire pressure monitors) seem to trigger. This may be caused by the natural pressure change in the tires, but adding air doesn't seem to stop it. It could be that the sensors are frozen. But this is a minor complaint.

6th Mar 2007, 14:01

Hi there, just as an update to my 25th Sep 2006, 11:27 comment, I took the van in for its third oil change and there was a "service campaign" about the seat release tether I mentioned. They ended up replacing it.

Other than that, no problems or gripes!

7th Mar 2007, 18:51

We bought a new Entourage two weeks ago. It has a vibration problem at high speeds (above 70 mph). The dealer balanced the wheels, but isn't willing to do any more. They say they can't test drive it legally at those speeds so there's nothing they can do. We also had intermittent problems with opening the power side doors using the remotes.

9th Mar 2007, 06:34

Honda Odyssey is overrated. This van has serious fit and finsihed issues.

My 2005 model has rattles, wind noises, sqeaks all over the van. dealer managed to fix some not all.

I also have 2002 Hyundai Sonata that gave me 0 problem during 6 years at 65k. Next time, I will be looking at Hyundai Van.

23rd May 2007, 11:32

Just this week, we bought a 2007 Entourage Limited with the entertainment package (DVD with Surround Sound and Infinity stereo).

I got an extremely good deal on this vehicle. At a bit under invoice, and with all the toys, it is hard to beat. We looked for months, and drove all the domestics, and the Toyota Sienna and the Honda Odyssey. We really saw no comparative differences with the Toyota and Honda, other than their long term reputations, which the Entourage, being new, has to earn. Plus, they were a lot of money for what they were giving you in return.

Value wise, the Entourage beats Toyota and Honda by thousands of dollars. There is about a $5000 difference in a comparably equipped Sienna or Odyssey. My wife took one look at a Limited, and was actually excited about a minivan.

The only outstanding issue we have is that there is a small vibration when braking from highway speeds. I believe it is a brake rotor warp, and the van is going to the shop to have this addressed. My glowing opinion may be subject to change, based on how the issue is resolved. I realize a new vehicle should not have any issues, but I will see how the dealer is capable of handling this.

Concerning issues with the van that I have read about, we have experienced no sustained high speed driving vibration (other than described above), no engine braking effect, and no wind noise. This may be because it is not an early production unit.

As for gas mileage complaints, I cannot comment. The most accurate way to do this is to fill the tank, drive it, then at the next fill up, determine the miles traveled, and the gallons used. The mpg computers that are installed in cars today are inaccurate, and take a long time to average the fuel consumption, plus there is engine break in. It took about a year, but my 2005 Taurus started at 15mpg, and now reads 22mpg around town, routinely. Calculated mileage on the Taurus is about 20mpg. So I am not going to worry about fuel consumption for quite a while.

Anyway, at the end of the day, my wife loves this van (so do I). She gets all the toys, great styling, and I get a great warranty. How can you beat it??

I have never bought a foreign vehicle before, and it took a lot for me to move from the big three US manufacturers (a loyalty thing, I suppose). So from that aspect, the Entourage spoke volumes to me. The nearest domestic competitor, the Chrysler Town and Country, while a few bucks cheaper, could not compare, at least in perceived quality of construction, material, or content.