2007 Hyundai Entourage GLC from North America - Comments

25th May 2007, 11:20

Original poster here - Still no complaints with 21,100kms. I have noticed an increase in fuel efficiency over this time. I get about 480-500kms to the tank - which is respectable.

To the last poster, yes, I too tested the Chrysler/Dodge van, and there was no comparison. Albeit the Stow-and-go seats are neat, they are uncomfortable for an adult on a longer drive. So I like the fact that the Entourage rear seats only fold down. the others come out (and I have taken them out) if you need to move a larger load.

13th Aug 2007, 18:03

We purchased a new 2007 Entourage on June 12, 2007. My wife fell in love with this vehicle. However,it may be a lemon.

To date this vehicle has been in the dealers service department 7 times for 22 days and counting.

There is a vibration between 65-70 MPH and it pulls to the left, the sunroof is leaking and stained the headliner which is now being replaced, the chrome was peeling on the door handles and they had to be replaced, and many other cosmetic items that should have been detected by the dealership.

This vehicle runs well, but we can't put up with all the trips to the service department.

We are requesting the Dealer to replace this vehicle. If not, we will use the Connecticut Lemon Law for relief.

We purchased a New Vehicle and are not about to accept a refurbished vehicle in its place.

17th Oct 2007, 16:14

"There are speed limits of 70mph all over".

Not in Ohio. 65 is highest. From Columbus they would have to head about 150 miles for one.

5th Nov 2007, 11:48

I think we must have gotten a lemon as well. It's been in the shop at least 5 times in the 10 months we've owned it - all for the same issues:

1 - Loud 'thunking' noise at start up (service dept says they cannot replicate, despite us leaving it there overnight for 'cold start')

2 - Power doors not operating consistently - sometimes not opening, other times, on close, it sounds like the motor is going after the door is closed, and then it beeps 3 times - happens on both doors. And the scariest is that the doors have tried to open on at least 3 occasions while the car was in motion (and we have 2 little kids in carseats - freaked me out completely). The service dept kept the car for over a week to try and recreate that one - eventually said they recreated it, and fixed it with some shims of some sort. We're still having problems with the doors - but they haven't opened (yet?) while the car was in drive since the last 'fix'.

3 - The climate control is anything but reliable. It can be 90 degrees outside, and you can have the temp set on the A/C to 63 degrees, and you get no cool air from the vents. The only way to get reliable cool air is to turn it to low. Again, service dept says they can't recreate - but they said they replaced some O rings or something - but nothing has been fixed. Of course, now it's cooler out - so I'm not sure what we'll do.

4 - The car has now started a major shake/ shudder/ vibration between 15-30 mph. It was so violent, that we stopped driving the car until we could get it in for service. But the service dept claims they cannot replicate the problem.

I think if I hear the phrase 'cannot replicate' one more time, my head might explode.

We've been EXTREMELY frustrated with the service dept. We've tried 3 different service depts at 3 area dealers - none have been any different than the other; and they act like they are pretty frustrated with us, too. None of these issues are our fault. We spent way too much money on this car - especially with these problems. We will be investigating the Lemon Laws in our state - since they just don't seem to be able to fix the problems.

12th Mar 2008, 23:45

Wow... I am glad to hear I am not the only one having problems with my Entourage. I bought mine in Jul, 07 with 17 miles on it. First 2 months no problems, after that it has been in the shop a lot.

The airbag sensors went (which meant no airbags if in accident, or they could just deploy at anytime without warning). This took 4 weeks to have fixed while having to drive it.

The windshield wiper motor has gone up 4 times. The last time it had just been fixed 2 days prior. The dealer told me to poor hot water over the cow (?) when we have snow...

The tire pressure lights go on and off whenever they feel.

The power adapter next to the cigarette lighter stopped working. When they finally fixed that the cigarette lighter stopped working... HAHAHA...

What did I pay 28,000 for? I honestly feel I am going to have major problems within a few more months, if I am already having issues with only 10000 miles on it.

28th Mar 2008, 16:13

Your Entourages are all still new, talk to us in a couple of years. Remember, the Entourage is nothing more than a re-badged Kia Sedona. Read some the reviews for the Sedona so you can see what's in store a little further down the road.

Good Luck! You're going to need lots of it.

24th Apr 2008, 01:41

My Entourage has a problem with a squeak in the back end. The dealer can't seem to fix the problem and now Hyundai USA says they no longer have to try since the van now has over 12,000 miles on it.

Hyundai USA says they don't care if the dealer attempted to repair it when first purchased, now that we have over 12,000 miles on it they no longer have to make adjustments to the van.

They also said since it is a van, it is expected to have squeaks.

The van is great except for that and other minor problems that have been listed, but I could never drive it on a trip with that stupid squeak, it would drive everyone crazy.

26th May 2008, 23:50

We bought our 2007 Entourage at the end March 2008 with 27585 miles on it. One month down the line, we are having problems with putting gas in it.

While putting gas, one has to hold the gas nozzle at a particular angle or else the gas tank senses that it is full and cuts the fueling, yet the tank is empty.

We have had it in the dealership for about a week now, and are using a loaner from the dealership. When we took it in, the service adviser said it is problem of air having entered the gas tank. Any advice?

17th Sep 2008, 14:23

Hi there, original poster here. Van is still great. One little issue I had was a whining noise. Turned out to be the idler pulley, which was replaced, along with the serpentine belt, free of charge.

Just passed 40,000kms, and still no regrets/problems. Dealer experience has been, great.

To the poster above, I must say that no fluid in the transmission will have most likely caused permanent damage to the transmission, though I'm not a mechanic. I was actually a little surprised that you would have had the trans. fluid replaced so soon. Perhaps Texas summers require different maintenance schedules compared to Canada? One other thing I would ask is: Did you get the trailer towing package, and did the dealer install it? - Reason I ask is that when I asked to get the towing package (just for hauling a pop-up tent trailer) the dealer said that they just purchase and install it from places like "Hitch City". With that I opted out of having them perform the install. I had preferred to just take it to the Hitch place and have them do it - assuming they would have more experience. I understand that the van doesn't really have provisions for the electrical for the trailer, and that they would be tapping into the tail lights.

All in all, still nothing to complain about. Regular service has been quite cheap compared to friends with other vans, and again, the dealership exp. has been great.

Here's hoping the next 40k+ kms are as worry free.