2001 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe GL 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired44500 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A 13,000 dollar disapointment

Faults:

Air Bag Light has broken 2 times and each time they fix it, it breaks on a hard right turn again.

Timing Belt broke at 50,000 miles and destroyed the coil pack and the valves. the Timing Belt, Engine, Coil Pack, and Balance Belt had to be replaced completely. It was under manufacturer warranty. I was without car for a week.

General Comments:

Overall, this SUV was affordable, but I spent a fortune on gas to fill it because of the small gas tank. The gas mileage dropped significantly with A/C turned on. It had a constant whizzing from the back window even when it was closed. The CD Player skipped even on smooth surfaces. I would highly recommend against purchasing a Santa-FE from this year's model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st May, 2005

12th Sep 2005, 12:54

I also have the 2.4L 2001 Santa Fe. I had the timing belt/counter balance belt/crankshaft sensor/timing belt tensioner replaced at 50k, and again at 86k minus the crankshaft. Also the clutch had to be replaced at 60k not under warranty for $2000. now I am having an "low idle" issue again at 95k, but thank god my warranty is extended to 110k due to a horsepower rating issue that resulted in a class action lawsuit... good luck.

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe 4WD 2.4 petrol from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 kilometres
Most recent distance49000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 307

Summary:

Great value for money

Faults:

Nothing.

Rear tires were cupped (Good Year HP), resulting in some additional tire noise.

General Comments:

One of the best cars I have ever owned. No problems at all, real value for money.

This was the basic 4WD model, so no fancy options, but everything worked as designed.

No problem to get it through the MOT.

Because of short travel distances (in city) the mileage was bad, 6-7 kilometers to the liter. That was the reason we traded it in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2004

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe GL 2.4 4 cylinder petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Needs a better clutch. And I would keep it forever

Faults:

My clutch failed at 35 000km.

I was on the beach. Was told I was not covered. Repair was $3500. Dealer was going to charge me $4500.

About 6 months later, I was not happy with the clutch. Took it to the dealer. A test was done. Clutch failed.

So a whole new clutch was replaced under warranty. I was told a new updated and better clutch was installed. The first was a dual mass system. New system was an old, solid flywheel.

12 months later, on the beach again, the clutch failed again on hard sand and normal dirt track work.

This time the dealer will not pay for repair.

I am off to court to get my money back.

General Comments:

If there are any other people in Australia that have had the clutch failing, please contact me at

caddenpd@msn.com

As a result, the 4 cylinder model is no longer imported into Australia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2004

7th Sep 2004, 08:40

I recently bought a Hyundai Santa Fe. My Clutch is out as well, only after 58,000 miles. I am not satisfied with my truck and I am waiting for the dealer to let me know my options.

11th Nov 2004, 18:49

Hi I am back with anther failed clutch.

The third clutch in 18 moths. All so the drive belt failed as well.

I am all most bank reputed. I am in the process of selling.

So any one like to by a 4 cy Santa Fe with a new clutch.

Call me I am In Brisbane /0412344770.

9th Dec 2004, 05:49

I have a 2002 Santa Fe which I have in for repair after the clutch failed at 31,000 km. I have been told by the dealer that there is a recognized fault with the clutch and it will be covered by the warranty.

27th Jan 2005, 03:34

We had a Santa Fe and our clutch went around the 35,000kms area. We took the vehicle to Hyundai dealer and was argued through Hyundai Head Office in Homebush that the clutch was faulty. The clutch was replaced, and also the seals for the transfer case and other various items whilst on the hoist.

We were told something to do with dual mass flywheel, and a new flywheel was installed with a lot of other parts. It was 4cyl manual Santa Fe.

Good luck with the court case...

9th Aug 2005, 12:51

It appears as if the clutch problem has hit the US now. 28,000 miles on our Santa Fe, which we love, and the whole clutch system fails. Not good and I expect to take the information from our friends down under into court to get my money toward repairs.

If you're in the US and experiencing similar problems, please email me: christianolac@aol.com.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 23 reviews