2007 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 6 of 7

2007 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.4 4 CYLINDER from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 CYLINDER Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carFord Escape

Summary:

So far I am very happy with it

Faults:

So far, so good.

General Comments:

Was interested in a Honda Accord, Toyota Camry and the Sonata. Test drove the Accord and then the Sonata and was very impressed. And it was almost 3,000 grand cheaper when all was said and done. I wanted the premium package because of the sunroof and 17 inch tires.Hadn't had any of the problems that others have mentioned and hadn't figured the gas mileage yet. The trunk is huge. I got it in medium silver, just wish they offered it in a larger selection of colors. The colors they offer are all kind of subdued.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st April, 2007

3rd Aug 2007, 18:16

I now have 7000 miles on the car and it has been flawless. Other than a nail in the tire. Gas mileage has been in the mid to upper 20s.

2007 Hyundai Sonata GLS V6 3.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Best car I've ever owned

Faults:

When gas tank is full it makes a knocking noise.

General Comments:

The Sonata is probably the best car I've owned in my life. I've owned Maximas and Camrys, but the Sonata beats them out. I was looking to buy another Camry, but I decided to go to the Hyundai dealership to testdrive it, I was very impressed.

It's solid on the highway, it has comfortable seats, good for long trips. The gas consumption is exactly what Hyundai stated. One of my previous cars was a 2000 Pathfinder, which had the exact same engine as the Sonata; a 3.3L V6. It's a very powerful car. I have no complaints about the car, I love it, and for people who are in the market for a sedan, I recommend the Sonata over all else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2007

17th Feb 2007, 18:59

I love the new Sonata, and I agree (as does Car and Driver) that the Sonata beats the heck out of Camry. My only gripe when I looked at the Sonata was the absolutely AWFUL selection of colors available. I like sporty colors, and all the colors available on the Sonata were ugly and muted, and more suitable to a very elderly person (and one with no taste at that). I ran into the same problem with the supposedly sporty Scion Tc. I opted for a Ford. At least they come in RED.

23rd Feb 2007, 10:39

For the styling of the car, I think it looks good in pearl white or black. Simple, but elegant. I got mine in Pearl white.

23rd Jun 2008, 21:36

I agree with the review. I own a 2007 Chrysler Sebring, Which I do love, But I really like the Sonata as well. Shortly after I purchased my Sebring, my wifes 2003 Chevy Malibu bit the dust (Thank god, it was a nightmare from day one) She had wanted a Camry, which in my opinion, is the most boring car on the road. However, after we drove the Camry, we were hardly impressed. There was a Hyundai dealer across the street and we stopped to look. Both her and myself fell in love with our Sonata. We picked out the GLS model in pearl white, which I agree as the above commentor, looks very elegant. We LOVE this car, could not be happier. Thanks for the good review!

2007 Hyundai Sonata GLS 3.3L V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Car of the year

Faults:

Nothing wrong with the car as of yet.

General Comments:

I chose the Sonata mainly because of its looks and the price. It's a very stylish aggressive car. I was looking to buy another Camry, but when I went into Hyundai to test drive it, I loved it. It has so much power, 235 HP, and a big 3.3L engine. I am 6'4 and I have no problem getting comfortable in it. Gas mileage is good, its exactly what Hyundai claims. This is the perfect car for a person who wants a sports car, but has a family. I would pick the Sonata over an Accord or Camry any day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2007

13th May 2008, 09:18

I agree with you, I bought a Sonata 06 used with 50,000 miles one it, but still with a 60,000 mile warranty and I love my baby. It drives so smooth and when I press the gas its excels greatly. This is coming from a person that grew up with the Toyota family. But honestly, this car gas mileage might not be as good as a Camry, but it sure is a lot smoother and quieter in the long run and very comfortable for a short person like me.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 24 reviews